We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but amazing soup!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filial

Filial
Krivokolenny Lane, 3/1 | Metro Lubyanka, Moscow 101000, Russia
7-495-6212143
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #428 of 9,928 restaurants in Moscow
Price range: $15 - $44
Cuisines: European, South American, Fusion, Asian fusion
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic but amazing soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having some Red lentil soup at Filial in Moscow, Russia with my friend Phillip. Very basic but taste amazing! It taste so fresh it's as though it didn't come from a big pot of soup. It taste as though they make each order one at a time. Rest of menu is great. Yesterday I had the grilled salmon in miso. Fantastic! Not sure what main course I'm getting tonight I'm in for a treat because its all good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    13
    8
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my favourite restaurant in Moscow having spent months there trying out all the cuisine! It is very understated cool, with lovely design and very friendly, young staff (which is not always to be expected in Moscow!) The food is a refreshing fusion of many cuisines and the portions are generous. It is fantastic value, especially considering the high prices of good food in Moscow. It is perfect for a meeting with friends, business, a date etc. Both anonymous and personal, intimate. Cannot recommend it enough!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“My favorite plase for today”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The first visit to Filial was in April and from that time I usually go there: to meet with my friends, on business lunch, for a cup of tea and for any other reason. Very friendly atmosphere, good service, interesting kitchen and some special public: the people, which specially come to Filial.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent spot, help, music and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wandered in no idea where we were nor if they had English menu. Enough to see good spot populated by a local crowd. Sea bass was great, environment was energetic, but not overwhelming. Prices were not über Moscow. We were even given demo cd by DJ. Solid serendipity for us

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cozy place for nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

It's one of the few places in Moscow, where you try to find something negative, but don't really succeed.

Convenient location, delicious food, nice staff, cozy interior, prices are quite OK.

Well, conditioning could be better. But in this case its the smokers' fault. There were too many of them.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filial also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Filial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.