We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your usual Mercure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Arbat Moscow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Arbat Moscow to your Saves list
Mercure Arbat Moscow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Smolenskaya Sq., 6, Moscow 121099, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Moscow
4.5 of 5 stars 793 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Not your usual Mercure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We've never paid so much to stay in a Mercure hotel, but this is one of the world's most expensive cities and this isn't your run of the mill Mercure. The hotel is in an ideal location lose to Arbat Street, two steps from Smolensaya metro station and a 20- minute walk to the Kremlin. We loved our room and especially the bathroom. Beautiful design throughout- in fact on the metro we met an Englishman who had designed it and was on his way to another Mercure opening early next year so complimented him on his skill. Staff is incredibly helpful. There's free wifi and a PC with a printer in the reception area. Breakfast was extra and was nothing special. We discovered a Paul close by and decided to have breakfast there instead.
Moscow is an incredible city- lots to see and do. Absolutely amazing and this is a good comfortable central place from which to discover it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel.

I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff incredibly helpful and that your room and location were convenient regarding your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    238
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
255
83
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The reception, Alexandra, is very helpful and cheerful. Most of them can speak English which is a plus for us. The waiters and waitresses are also attentive at the coffee house. Rooms are also big and beds are comfortable. Location is good, just a short five mins walk from Metro, and Arbat old street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Arbat Moscow hotel for your stay while you come to Moscow and share your feedback about staying at Mercure Arbat Moscow hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed experience and our services. Thank you very much for your kind comments about Alexandra!

We are doing our best to deliver great service at all times and we will continue to work hard to make it better.

Once again thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you again at Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel!

Warmest regards,
Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Moscow is an expensive city generally so we thought the hotel was actually reasonable value. We stayed in one of the standard rooms and it was spacious, clean, the breakfast ample, tasty and fresh. Service was very good, reception and bar staff speak English and are helpful.

Its very easy to make your own way from the airport to the hotel (it is a stone's throw away from Smolenskaya metro station and the airport train to the city is well marked) and would recommend you do so instead of taking a taxi (which are very expensive, not to mention the traffic) unless you have lots of heavy luggage.

We weren't too taken with Arbat street in general (food offerings were a bit hit and miss we thought) but the Kremlin and other sightseeing venues are all within walking distance of about 20 minutes or so.

Good value overall we thought and suited us well for a city break. Free wifi in the rooms and computer available for use in the lobby. Recommend you do some research into places to eat or those that take your fancy before getting to Moscow, finding establishments once there was a bit tricky.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Mercure Arbat Moscow and that you enjoyed our spacious and clean room as well as the pleasant breakfast in our “La Promenade” restaurant.

I am also very pleased to hear your positive comments about our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Ada Egorova
General manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is very clean and has a modern touch to it. Our room was quite small, but not too small. The bathroom was really nice and I especially liked the shower. We were also happy to find a safe in the room where we could store our passports and other valuables during our stay. We did not have any meals at the hotel.

The location of the hotel is very good. Just a hundred meters or so from Smolenskaya metro station, which is on the Arbatsko-Pokrovskaya line, and maybe a hundred more to Arbat street, via which you easily can find your way into the central parts of Moscow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Arbat Moscow for your stay in the city.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our hotel location and facilities as well as hotel safety.

We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Ada Egorova
General manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We made a taxi reservation at the hotel reception and they charged us RUB 1200 to go Belorussky railway station whereas we paid RUB 720 upon our arrival from Leningradsky railway station after having made the reservation in the Sapsan high speed train from the Russian Railways. It is a scandal that a hotel from a well-known international chain charges exorbitant taxi fares which are 67% higher than the normal rates.

The hotel is more expensive than comparable Mercure hotels in cities like Paris and Nice. Restaurant has to be avoided because it is expensive and the quality of the food is average, i.e., not better of what can be obtained in cheaper restaurants located in nearby Arbat St or Novy Arbat St.

That said the location is perfect, close to Smolenskaya underground station, which allows visiting the city without using taxis. The rooms are comfortable and well maintained and have sufficient space for stowing clothes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to complete our questionnaire and share your feedback about staying at Mercure Arbat Moscow hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the comfort of the room as well as hotel location and facilities.

At the same time you are disappointed about our rates and I have to note that accommodation price all around the world is always depends on the period of booking. Sometimes our rates are higher indeed, but another time you can see that even 3-star Mercure hotels in France are more expensive than our 4-star boutique hotel in Moscow.

In regards to the taxi prices, I would like to mention that all taxi companies in Moscow have almost the same prices. We are working with official city taxi company which is very famous in Moscow and guarantee quality and safety of the ride. Please, let me know which hotel in Moscow you consider offering a fair taxi prices and we will definitely contact them to check if we can offer better deals to our clients. Meanwhile, we always advise our guests about other cheaper taxi companies which do not cooperate with legal entities, but only to individual clients. This taxi can be ordered without our assistance and at the same time without guarantees from our side. The hotel do not has its own cars and do not earn money on the taxi services, that’s why it is a pity that you evaluate our service at ‘2’ on www.tripadvisor.com being upset with the prices of the taxi company.

Once again thank you for your feedback!

Best regards,
Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights this August Bank Holiday weekend and had a really good time. We chose a Privilege room with a King bed, which included breakfast and we also organised airport transfers through the hotel.
The location of the hotel is just across the road from the Metro Smolenskaya (dark blue line) which makes it very easy to get to Pl Revolution near to the Bolshoi and Red Square area in just 2 stops. It is also located a miniutes walk from Old Arbat Street a pedestrian street, which is lined with tourist shops and restaurants. 20 years ago it was the place to be seen if you were young, hip and trendy, but now it is a bit down at heel and a bit run down. It fills up with buskers and artists at night and weekends which lifts the mood a little but ingeneral it's not that exciting.
The room was very comfy and quite large with a very nice rain shower and good range of toiletries. The breakfasts were good and plentiful, lots of choice from hot buffet items, to cold cuts and cheese and fruits and yogurts. We were given a voucher on arrival for a complementary drink in the bar, that was the only time we had a drink here, the bottles of wine started at about £40! The food in the restaurant did not look very exciting but seemed quite expensive too.
All in all this was a really good place to stay, not too far from the centre and very comfy.

Room Tip: Chose the Privilege room if you want a bit more space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Arbat Moscow.

I am happy that you enjoyed the service and facilities of the hotel.

We look forward to you returning to the hotel.

Cordially,
Ada Egorova
General manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg Ak
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Mecure early after an overnight train journey from St Petersburg. I was exhausted and unfortunately the hotel was not able to accommodate an early check in. We were allowed to store our bags and told to come back at 2 pm. Spent a dismal five hours wandering around old arbat street which was at first glance seedy and rough. When we finally checked into the room, I slept like a baby. Awesome firm beds and fluffy duvets. Nice hot shower as well. We were able to walk to the kremlin and Gorky park easily from this location. The women receptionists were reserved but the one male working at the reception desk was a gem. Very friendly and charming. We weren't given a free drink as mentioned in the reviews but noticed other guests were offered this. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you are pleased with our accommodation, convenient location and hospitality.

I would like to mention that welcome drinks are provided to the guests who made their booking according to special offers which you can find on our website. Please, do not hesitate to contact us in case of any questions with your future bookings. We will be happy to explain you all the rates terms and advise about our special offers.

Once again, we are very grateful for your feedback, and sincerely hope that you will stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Arbat Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Arbat Moscow

Address: Smolenskaya Sq., 6, Moscow 121099, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 248 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Arbat Moscow 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Arbat Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Arbat Moscow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.