We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fast, convenient. Views, comfort better in local trains!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapsan Bullet Train

Sapsan Bullet Train
Komsomolskaya Square | Leningradskiy Rail Terminal, Moscow, Russia
+7 495 781-27-02
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 1,379 Attractions in Moscow
Type: Transportation, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sapsan is the name of a high speed train connecting two Russian capitals. Sapsan train derived its name from the fastest bird in the falcon family. Designed by Siemens AG it is a high speed train, that can reach the speed up to 250 km/h and is perfectly adapted to the harsh Russian climate.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
277 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“fast, convenient. Views, comfort better in local trains!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

since we had limited time at our disposal, we used the sapsan to and fro from Moscow to petersburg... bought our own tickets 40 days ago using the link:
RZD:http://bit.ly/
RZDStepByStepGuide
offered by trip advisor forum expert...We got email confirmation it cut out commisions and we had to just show our passport to ,board... we had earlier receed the station and found out where to board, so finding the platform was no problem... the train had several empty seats in supposedly peak season at end of July
regarding the journey, we had good view from the window on the way to petersburg but on the way back our seats in the middle of the coach did not have windows... but the rows just in frnt of us had hardly any leg space as they were in the spot where the rows turn... half the rows turn one way and the rest the other way... we saw people sitting slantwise to avoid banging on the opposite person's knee... must have been real uncomfortable

the journey was in 4 hours flat, we took our own breakfast packed by our hotel and did not buy the overprized limited stuff available
regarding the view, it was fine seeing the speeding country side but in our opinion we had similar views from a btter seating on the local trains we took to Peterhof on a day trip to see the fountains and to Pushkin the next day to see the palace and royal gardens... the price needless to say was a teeny fraction... just 42 rubles and 72 rubles for those return journeys as opposed to the steep sapsan fares

bottomline... sapsan is for reaching petersburg fast... not for the views

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    372
    93
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
holanda
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice on time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We traveled from St. Petersburg to Moscow with the Sapsan. My first impression was that it was very clean. It also departed on time and arrived in Moscow right on time. I just want to mentioned that the high speed is not constant, there were some parts where the train slowed down and some others where it went very fast. Wifi did not work during our trip.
We found a map of Moscow's metro in the back side of the chair, and it saves our life, because it has the names of the stations in Russian and in Latin alphabet. So, if you are going to use the metro in Moscow or St. Petersburg, remember to take the map with you!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The good alternative to flying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We trained from Moscow to St Petersburg and then from St Petersburg to Helsinki. Both trips were around 4 hours duration and provided a very viable alternative to flying. The main drawback to using the train is the difficulty of accessing the stations - parking nearby is hard and getting bags to the train can be an ordeal. Station staff are not helpful (a leftover from Soviet times) though train crew are helpful. English is rarely spoken by any staff. The trains are reasonably quick (200kph versus the 330+ kph of the French and Spanish systems). Seats do not recline so getting a snooze is difficult due to the very upright seat backs. Wi-fi was not available when we travelled.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Smooth and on time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Sapsan train was very impressive fast clean smooth and on time. The services they offer including booking a taxi to meet you at St Petersburg station were very efficient.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“St Petersburg on Sapsan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you consider the headache of taking a flight or a night train to St Petersburg from Moscow then I recommend considering Sapsan as an option, with no tedious security controls this is the way to travel to St Petersburg.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapsan Bullet Train also viewed

 

Been to Sapsan Bullet Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapsan Bullet Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.