We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently close to VDNK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel to your Saves list
Design Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yaroslavskaya St., 8/8 | Metro Vdnh, Moscow, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 260 Hotels in Moscow
Solothurn, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Conveniently close to VDNK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Once you find the correct route to VDNK Metro station and the Exhibition Center, you will find it very conveniently and closely located to it. However, don't rely on the hotel staff or the map they give you to be of much help...
The staff seems generally kind of friendly and helpful, not too motivated, but also not completely disinterested. Some speak English, some don't.
I got given a smokers room on a smokers floor and for me as a non-smoker it was terrible. They could not find me a non-smokers room, as they seemed quite booked out during exhibition week (or they just could not care??). Even after airing the room as often as possible at minus degrees outside, the smoke from other rooms on the floor still came in through the ventilation.
The walls are VERY thin, so that you can even hear your neighbour snore.
Positives: location, value for money in Moscow, nice bathroom, clean, decent food at the restaurant, good size room and a pleasant view (from the 7th floor).
The quality of the breakfast was ok too, although not much variety is offered.
I would return to the hotel for the same purpose (Business in the area and value).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    59
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
17
8
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dinklage, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Clean rooms there, close to metro (10 minutes to walk) and close to the VDNK (15 minutes to walk). Friendly staff. I don't have had breakfast, so no rating there. We only had a dinner in the hotel-restaurant. Next time I'll book it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It's like going back to 1983 when you walk into your room at this hotel. The bed was uncomfortable. It wasn't clean, the bathroom stank and the staff were unfriendly and rude. Also, my after shave mysteriously disappeared - had it day one, searched high and low day 2 - nowhere to be found. Avoid this hotel and try any other one in the area. Next trip (next month) have chosen another hotel down the road for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Close to the metro (you can find more centrally located hotels, but not for this price), close to VDNK, friendly staff, good breakfast and clean rooms.
On arrival there was a problem with the AC, but I asked and got immediately another room where all was okay.
It's true that taxi drivers and tourist can have difficulties finding the hotel, but if you come by metro and first take a good look at google.maps, it's not so difficult to find at all. In Russia it is common to have hotels with the entrance in the courtyard.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top floor and facing VDNK have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked our stay in Russia and were told we had a four star centrally located hotel. This is not central, if you want central don't stay here. For a little bit more money you can stay at the Park Inn and walk to the Kremlim, which we did once we immediately checked out of this hotel. We walked in the room in the D Hotel, the rooms were from the 70's, the beds had no springs and the quilt covers on the beds were smelly. I can't think why anyone on holiday in Moscow would stay here, unless you wanted to walk to the metro, take two different lines and over 45 minutes later you will be near the Kremlin.
The staff were friendly, but this place is living in the 70's.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The service was very good as well the rooms the location of the hotel is far from the center. we liked the inside not much the our side. we never walked around the hotel. Any how I think it is recommended to stay here.

Room Tip: this hotel is far from the business area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nothing wrong but most things could be better. Clean but basic rooms. Helpful but not very effective staff. Nice meal in the restaurant and easy Metro connections into town. Strictly for business only!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel

Address: Yaroslavskaya St., 8/8 | Metro Vdnh, Moscow, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 260 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and very cozy, hotel <> is a fine choice for travelling on businesses and just for pleasure. The ten-storied building of hotel constructed in 2009, is located in the heart of business life, close to one of the biggest Moscow lines - the Prospect Mira and it is 5 minute walk from "VDNH" metro station. The nearest exhibition centers - are "VDNH" (VVC) and "Sokolniki". It takes only 10 minutes to reach by underground "Olympiyskiy" complex, and 20 minutes to get to the centre of Moscow. The hotel is located in the silent and green area. Our guests will not be disturbed by glaring lights and noise of the city. Hospitable, well-trained staff, high standards of service and unique design of interiors will create fine conditions for work and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.