We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel to your Saves list
Design Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yaroslavskaya St., 8/8 | Metro Vdnh, Moscow, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 261 Hotels in Moscow
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend business trip. The hotel is very close to the metro station, but can be a bit tricky to find since the entrance is not right on the street but on a courtyard. Look for a green and white sign on top of the building. The staff at reception desk spoke decent English and were generally helpful.

My room was clean and quite comfortable, aside from the fact that it was a smoking room which I wouldn't want if given a choice (I wasn't) but it wasn't such a big problem for me that I'd ask for a new room. The bathroom was quite large and didn't have an actual door you can close (which can be awkward if sharing the room with someone...). I'm unsure if all rooms in the hotel are like this.

The breakfast buffet was okay - they offer a variety of hot food including Russian pancakes, cold cuts and cheese, bread, yoghurt, porridge and fresh fruit. I didn't try their dinner service.

A good experience overall. I'll probably stay here again if I return to Moscow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    59
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
17
8
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My little daughter and I stayed at D'Hotel for two nights end of August 2012. I was very, very pleasantly surprized at every single aspect of our stay at this hotel. For the very affordable price, in my opinion, we got more than we bargained for: The location is great - 5 min walk to a Metro Station. There little shops around the area, a pharmacy. The street is quite. And we stayed on the 9th floor, so got an amazing view of the Cosmos hotel and VDNH Park.
Service of every member of the staff was OUTSTANDING. We only heard - a Yes to every of our requests, and not a single No. We only had breakfast - and it tasted like home made food. Waiting staff were ALL pleasant, attentive.
There is an ATM and a "Bill Payments Machine" (to recharge sim cards of local cell providers) - very thoughtful and convenient.
It is a business hotel, more for a short stay. Definitely, not a vacation place, but I am coming back to it for my future short visits to Moscow.
Congratulations to all staff members and to the owner - great job done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed with a friend in this hotel last March, but I was not able to write my review earlier, because it was not listed on tripadvisor.

The hotel is very nicely located, five minute walk to the metro station.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. I was trying with my friend to attend a classical music concert, the reception staff researched and found us what we wanted, but alas, the tickets were sold out.

The breakfast buffet is good and varied, so you can have your choice of either continental dishes or Russian local dishes.

We also tried the restaurant for dinner couple of times and we were very pleased with the meals. I attach some photos of the meals they served. If you are lucky, you can have your dinner while a beautiful Russian singer recite very nice songs.

Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel, and considering how expensive hotels are in Moscow, D'Hotel is very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Frindly, international, small hotel with a restaurant. Save place with good rates. Breakfast is OK (not more), food in the restaurant varied and really good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

It's really worth the money. Everything clean and new. Friendly staff. Restaurant is very good!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights, and I am not very happy with that stay.
The business rooms or studio how they call it are much smaller than shown on the picture.
The room is right beside the elivator, so it is very noisy.
In the morning at breakfast the buffet is very empty and all places in the Desing restaurant are occupied.
The only good thing in that hotel is, that it is clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boblingen, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Quite location
Friendly staff
In walking distance to the expo area

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel

Address: Yaroslavskaya St., 8/8 | Metro Vdnh, Moscow, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 261 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and very cozy, hotel <> is a fine choice for travelling on businesses and just for pleasure. The ten-storied building of hotel constructed in 2009, is located in the heart of business life, close to one of the biggest Moscow lines - the Prospect Mira and it is 5 minute walk from "VDNH" metro station. The nearest exhibition centers - are "VDNH" (VVC) and "Sokolniki". It takes only 10 minutes to reach by underground "Olympiyskiy" complex, and 20 minutes to get to the centre of Moscow. The hotel is located in the silent and green area. Our guests will not be disturbed by glaring lights and noise of the city. Hospitable, well-trained staff, high standards of service and unique design of interiors will create fine conditions for work and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.