We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Day'n'Night Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Day'n'Night Hostel to your Saves list
Day'n'Night Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Luchnikov Lane, 7/4-6 | 2d Floor Apt.50, Moscow 101000 , Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 671 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
4.0 of 5 stars 68 Reviews
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Little Gem in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

12 of us stayed in this small hostel, which is centrally located and easy to find if you watch the video (otherwise could be difficult as our taxi driver couldn't find it). Friendly staff (different staff most days), who all spoke english. As we filled the hostel if was easier sharing one bathroom and one toilet - may feel a bit crowded otherwise. Most importantly we all felt safe and with only a 15 minute walk to Red Sqaure the location couldn't be better.

Would thoroughly recommend this hostel if you're looking for cheap accomodation in the centre of Moscow. The only down side was that there was no hot water whilst we there there (not the hostels fault as apparently they do this in Moscow every year!). However they did not have their own back up system so it was cold showers only!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
10
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

Staying as alarge group we had the hostel to ourselves most of the time which was great. There is always a member of staff there who is helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and beds comfy! Kitchen was well equipped and can be cooked in. The proximity to red square and the metro was brilliant. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a very well located hostel about 10 mins walk to Red Square and in a bustling neighbourhood with good restaurants and bars. The rooms and beds were bright and spacious just like the pictures and very quiet ensuring we all got a good nights sleep. As advertised there is only 1 toilet and shower (in a bath) so there was often times we had to wait.

The one thing I found to be strange was I did not find the staff to be really friendly as posted by previous trip advisors. We rarely used the common room as there was always a member of staff sitting in there watching TV. Often the living room door was closed shut and we really felt like we were stepping into their space so we tended to sit as a group in the kitchen. I am not saying they were hostile but nothing like soul kitchen in St Petersburg who really enjoyed interacting with you.

This hostel is a great find for travellers in Moscow a city were very little English is spoken.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

Great central location, close to metro and area to go out (bars and clubs). Once you find it (it's in a back-alley), it's a great place to stay! Very friendly staff and owner, keen to give tips on what to see in town. Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

We had 3 nights in day n night hostel few days ago and what we can tell is that the atmosphere is very relax ( exactly what we needed after a walk in moscow!), the rooms are pretty nice, the staff very friendly and the most important thing us that the hostel is in the center ! Just don't be affraid about the building which can look scary because it's not. Anyway, it's a good spot in Moscow ! Sylvain and florian from France

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011 via mobile

Booked 4 dorm bed and hostel is a converted apartment. One toilet/shower for upto 16 people with reasonable kitchen facilities. Both dorm rooms had an extra fold out bed in each increasing capacity. Staff although friendly battle against the lack of facilities. In comparison with other hostels I stayed in while in Russia this one does not rate too highly. Not all bad the staff kept in clean but you can do better.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The location is just really perfect, not far from the center of Moscow, all the hostel was really clean and cozy! Staff were really helpfull - Ann is very very nice and always worried about the guests, so as Valeria. :)

I've shared a 6 bed room and it was fine, 'cause we have lockers for free.

The only ''problem'' is about the bathroom (sometimes we have a little queue to take shower, but nothing that'll really disturb you).

If you want to have a really experience in the russian capital, nothing better than russian nice people and such a great location :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Day'n'Night Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day'n'Night Hostel

Address: Luchnikov Lane, 7/4-6 | 2d Floor Apt.50, Moscow 101000 , Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 671 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Day'n'Night Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Day'n'Night Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Day'n'Night Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.