We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for budget traveller.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolate Hostel Moscow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chocolate Hostel Moscow to your Saves list
Chocolate Hostel Moscow
Degtyarny Lane, 15/1-4, Moscow 125009, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 820 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for budget traveller.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Difficult to find from website directions. The road you need is the one at the intercontinental hotel, under a sort of bridge.
Good welcome, facilities fine. Free basic breakfast. Room quite crowded. Not too noisy. Only 2 bathrooms. Staff helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
9
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

we arrived late in the evening, we had made reservation with booking site, but wanted to have a look in the room first, as always. This was looked at with big surprised eyes and I believe litterally saying something like how could one not like this place. We had to put off our shoes and use the house-slippers used by I guess everybody. We did not like what we saw, we wanted to pay for 1 night but were put before the choice: either you leave and we charge 2 nights anyway, or you stay and pay 2 nights by creditcard immediatly.

Well, what choice do you have in a dark cold and strange city, close to midnight, after having tried to find the hostel with no signs being a hostel anywhere outside, for 2 hours. At the "reception" desk, 30 cm above the ground, I had to kneel for giving my passport and creditcard. After a night of horror with loud noisy guests, polyester bed linnen on cheap IKEA matrasses, in a communistic prisonlike light green sleeping room, just kept empty for 2 people charging us 65 euro a night, light shining through the green glass door of our room, same at the toilet, shower, waiting in line in the morning, 2nd toilet next to the crowded kitchen, no help whatsoever from the internetgaming staff, no breakfast as promised, well we saw something that looked like having been bread before and some marmelade leftover, nothing was clear to us what was public and what was private, no coffee ready, no milk, sugar, no help...

So we decided not to eat anything at all, to leave immediatly, asking for a refund which they refused. After telling them we would then write a review about the place the only thing she could say was: "are you threathening me?" Well, if writing a review is threathening, here you go, Chocolate Hostel! I would not be suprised if some of their very very positive reviews were fake in one way or the other. This place had no fengshui! We felt terrible with everything, finding it, the reception, the room, the sleeping, the room, the breakfast. We went to Katrina Park hotel for the same price as this hostel and this was heaven on earth!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

It was difficult to find the entrance, there was a big black door with several door bells. We pushed one in the hope it was the right one. Someone opened on remote. We had to pass 3 other doors in this old dark, depressing building.

There was a girl, she was not very friendly... she only acted friendly and you can tell the difference.

We had to take off our shoes and use some plastic room shoes. I don't like that because who knows who had worn those things before me.

We asked if we could see the room, she reacted like we were crazy and said something like: "I cannot image how you can not like the room, but ok". We looked and passed a toilet and a bathroom with semitransparent windows in it opposite the kitchen and up a small stairs. There was another toilet and bathroom opposite our room.

We looked at it briefly, it was late, we were tired so we had to stay. she forced us to pay for 2 nights, because you have to cancel 24 hours in advance. We were not happy with it, but it was pay or leave... so we payed.

The room was awfull, badly lit, very bad mattresses and synthetic thin duvets... the poorest quality. The door also had semi transparent glass, so every time someone used the toilet at night the light shined in our room. And they forgot to put it out, the "staff" didn't turn it off.

In the morning we could get breakfast in the kitchen, there where some other guest but no staff to show us where to get what. There was some old bread and jucky butter. We didn't eat, we did not even know where to get it and what we could get. It was all sticky, and old and ahh... total crap we wanted to leave immediately.

We asked if we could get the money back from the second night because it did not meet our expectations, but the girl was very unwilling, so we demanded. She said that we were threatening her and mean to her. We left because we did not want to waste anymore time in this awfull depressing place.

The "staff" (it's a girl sitting behind low desk at a computer playing on facebook not helping guest at all) is terrible. Beds and room are terrible, breakfast... just horrific.

I can't understand how you can like this place, a hostel is different than a hotel, but people are people and need some comfort.

Room Tip: stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

A really cosy and affordable place to spend your days in Moscow. Small, with few showers and toilets but worked well. Small common area but easier to socialise. I made friends, hung out with them, drank at night together. Satisfactory free breakfast. Clean. Comfortable beds. Close to the city centre, I enjoyed the walk there. Free wi-fi and a hostel computer. Friendly staff, sat talking with us in common area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Great location for exploring Moscow. But the beds are uncomfortable, there is a tiny common area that makes it hard to unwind, hang out and/or be social.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This hostel has a great staff, that is very friendly and very helpfull. If you need anything, they will help you find it. Free internet. The rooms are basic, just like the breakfast, but that is fine if you only need a bed to sleep. You can walk to the red square (25 min walk) and metro station are close by (3 min walk), so that is also very handy.
If the neighbourhood there are plenty of restaurants and bars and shops, so great location for a very low price, considering you are in Moscow.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in the twin room, and found it overall good value. Location of hostel is only 20 min walk to Kremlin, near a supermarket, had hot showers and good breakfast. Staff a little unfriendly at times, no common room area, only one locker in room worked and no lock on bedroom door for short time but fixed eventually. Otherwise nice place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chocolate Hostel Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolate Hostel Moscow

Address: Degtyarny Lane, 15/1-4, Moscow 125009, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 820 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chocolate hostel (hostelship "3 Penguins") is located in the heart of Moscow, by the side of Pushkinskaya square, Lenkom Theatre, Tverskaya street. The Red Square is situated within 15-minutes walking from our Chocolate Hostel. Along walking distance from our Hostel there are The Museum of Revolution, The Patriarchal Ponds, Hermitage Garden, great number of night clubs, cafes and restaurants, cinemas.We invite you to visit our city to see all the amenity of Russian capital and we, Chocolate Hostel, will do all our best to make your rest in Moscow. Inexpensive residing with all conveniences in our minihotel, home atmosphere, tasty hot cocoa, chocolate and pancakes is just the small part of services which Chocolate Hostel provides you.To have a drink chocolate, to take a backpack and ride a bicycle to the most beautiful places of Moscow or to take a walk, or take a boat trip isn't it what you need?You will be met by the hospitable personnel of our hostel, English speaking and knowing places of interest and beauties of our city well. We will help you organise your visit to trifles.We will help you to organize your visit: booking of tickets, river boat tours, museums, excursions, exhibitions, clubs, cinemas and many other things.In our Hostel there is no curfew and we are working 24 hours in a day.Welcome to the Chocolate Hostel Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Chocolate Hostel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolate Hostel Moscow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.