We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ARTEL MOSCOW - NO CHANCE TO GET SOME REST” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Artel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Artel Hotel to your Saves list
Artel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Teatralny Dr., 3/3, Moscow 101000, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 322 Moscow B&B and Inns
2.5 of 5 stars 92 Reviews
tHESSALONIKI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ARTEL MOSCOW - NO CHANCE TO GET SOME REST”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Acrually it is not a hotel, It is rather a hostel with private bathrooms. There is no sign outside the building an d the taxi driver had difficulty in finding it. The rooms are located on the 3rd floor of a building with bars and karaoke and there is os much noise and loud musc until 4 o clock in the morning that it is impossible to get some sleep. In the romms there is no wardrobes and I am not sure about the cleanliness. Fricky paintings on the walls - art they call it. No reception, no other rooms. The breakfast was served in the rooms and it wa a cup of tea with a slice of toast bread and a piece of cheece.
The other residents were families and decent people.
Very close to Red Square and metro and in safe neighborhood.

Room Tip: Don;t expect to find good and alos cheap hotels in Moscow. Everything is too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    27
    16
    30
See reviews for
4
29
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

One of worst hotel I've never been. First day they put us in a very small room, with a terrible bathroon and shower on top on toilet like in the boats. Room was dirty and moreover it was positioned exactly on the floor above a disco open till 6am !!! It's seemed to sleep in front of DJ station ! Second and third day we succeded in moving in another room with extra price on the other aisle. This room was larger and with a decent bathroom. On second night, music ended at 10am !!! but luckily on that side was less loud. Room Breakfast is poor.

Room Tip: don't choose for room 12, room on left side of reception are less loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Do not trust this hotel, they just did not keep their promise. We booked an economic room with windows in the Artel Hotel for 3 nights from 20.05.13 to 24.05.13. When checked in they only gave us a room without a window. When asked why, their explanation was that there was no room with windows available despite the fact that our booking is a room with window and they still charged us the rate with windows. After prolonged negotiation, they finally agreed to give us a room with window on 21.05.13 and the other 2 nights, we had to stay in a room without windows.
The included breakfast is only better than no. It is very basic with 1 piece of toast, a cup of coffee/tea and a small portion of cornflakes/porridge. There is even no facilities to boil water not to say no coffee or tea provided in the room. The attitude of the staff is rather rude and never offer any help even when asked, but the staff delivering the breakfast to our room quite helpful. It was very noisy during the night because the floor is of wooden material. Whenever there was somebody walking around in the corridor, you would be woke up by the noise of the steps.

Room Tip: If you want to have a room close to the Red Square, this is the perfect choice, provided you can tol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompsonville, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a small hotel near Red Square. Very conveniently located. Rooms are microscopic but comfortable. Rooms over the downstairs bar may be a little noisy until 3 or 4 in the morning. Poor ventilation but the rooms are interesting. Each has its own art work. Go prepared to have some language difficulties, have your reservation paperwork with you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Really strange place. Very hard to find. No windows in the room, very dull lighting and wooden floors throughout so all you can hear day and night is foot steps. Night club and bar underneath so very noisy. Very thin duvet. Good water pressure and shower but tiny bathroom with not even a shelf to put your items on. Portable heater available. Reception staff functional but not friendly. Only plus is the location very close to red square.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Artel's location is, as has been mentioned, insanely fabulous. Right by the Kremlin - if that sort of thing appeals to you. It is extremely "cool", or at least it's trying very hard to be cool, with a deliberate faux-grunginess that all too often just lapses into actual grunginess.

What it is not, is a very good hotel. If you arrive late at night, they turn off the elevators. It's only a 3 story climb with your heavy suitcase, no worries. The various rooms (at least the two that I saw) have one thing in common: the beds are just mattresses placed on the floor. I arrived extremely late, or early by some standards, and was exhausted after a grueling travel ordeal (are there any other ways to get to Russia?). The young woman at the front desk took her sweet time checking me in, and then took me to my room - pretty standard cheap european hotel room, except for the bed being just a floor mattress. However, it was freezing - completely unheated. I could see my breath. I asked for a heater. None left. Asked for an extra blanket. She said I could have a different room - for an extra 1200 Rubles. How can you charge someone extra to move them to a room if the one you offered them is uninhabitable? She seemed completely indifferent to the idea that the hotel might not be living up to some pretty basic standards.
AT 5 AM - when I arrived after being awake for about 24 hours - the club (Masterskaya) downstairs was in full swing, blaring with insanely bad music seemingly imported from 1995, when neon colors and cargo pants were still a thing. I only could stay until checkout time - noon - so I was only ever going to get about 6 hours of sleep. Even that proved elusive as the clubbing continued well until after I "woke up", or, really just "stopped lying down trying to sleep despite the insanely loud music from three floors down. They were still going when I left at 12.
In essence, this isn't a hotel. It's a flophouse for people who want to come to Moscow for the good times and need a cheap central place to stay and plan on being so drunk and so late that they won't be light sleepers in any event. I have been a person like that in the past, and will be in the future. If, however, you want to actually accomplish things during the day, or enjoy a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere waiting for you at night, do not stay here.

Room Tip: Try for something not directly over the club? I dunno. All rooms seem to have decent wifi (which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hidden away in a side street beside the Bolshoi and Kremlin this arty hotel is well placed and very atmospheric. The hotel is above a cocktail bar and a nightclub (which pumps out techo music 24 hours a day!), there is a bar/restaurant open all hours on the first floor and the hotel is above. The whole place has a bohemian art-school vibe. Great for clubbing and drinking if you don't mind the noise!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artel Hotel

Address: Teatralny Dr., 3/3, Moscow 101000, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Artel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artel Hotel is located at Moscow, Russia. Each room at Artel Hotel has been handed over to a local artist in Moscow, some already well-known and some up-and-coming. No two rooms are alike. Some of its amenities include free Wi-Fi access, airport transfer, and laundry service. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Red Square and the Kremlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Artel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.