We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hotel just ok, better deals in Moscow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Assambleya Nikitskaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Assambleya Nikitskaya to your Saves list
Assambleya Nikitskaya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bolshaya Nikitskaya St., 12/2, Moscow 125009, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 260 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Great location, hotel just ok, better deals in Moscow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The location is the hotel's main asset - It is very close to the Kremlin. The hotel is otherwise just ok - nothing really stands out. Breakfast is average, staff/ service decent, rooms not too small but clean. Found much a better hotel in Moscow for $160 when we came back a few days later after our stay in St Petersburg

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    80
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
62
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect for a short stay in Moscow. You are a 10 minute walk at most from Red Square and the Kremlin! Turn left out of the door and walk parallel to the Kremlin and you will come to Macdonalds, if that's what you want, and across the main road to a pedestrianised area of lively bars (good live music when we were there) and reasonably priced restaurants of all varieties. The hotel is as you'd expect, the rooms standard - but superb shower facilities - hot and powerful! Breakfast is serviceable - sure, you aren't going to write home to all your friends about it, but it gets the job done AND they will bring it to your room for free - probably because the dining area is tiny, but that's still very convenient. Order lots! One portion of toast, for example, turned out to be one small piece. Staff speak good English and lent us an umbrella when it was absolutely tipping down. When you come in there is good quality cheap coffee in the bar/coffee shop that was open whenever we were up! I would be amazed if there is a better reasonably priced hotel of this quality this close to the Kremlin etc. There seemed to be security/police right on the corner at all times which made you feel safe.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Located just a few minutes walk from Red Squere, fairly modern, staff speaking English and very helpful. Rooms and bathroom are small but well equipped and clean, bed was comfortable, wifi and a/c working and they bring you breakfast to the room - not the greatest breakfast ever but enough for starting the day. Overall, good value for money in Moscow for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

As others have noted, you will have a hard time finding a better hotel in this price range this close to the Kremlin and Red Square. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, up to date and well-equipped. Desk staff was not outwardly warm, but it was competent, it understood English well, and it was helpful in matters like currency exchange (the Central Post Office 7 minutes away -- no commission and open until 10:00 pm). Even with the warnings, I was nonetheless still disappointed with the breakfast. We tried ordering in the room one morning, but what arrived was far too limited. We reserved a time in the lobby the next morning, but the "buffet" was limited at best, the quality marginal at best. I know this is Moscow, but it was not worth the $16 US. The CoffeeMania just up the street is not inexpensive either, but the food they serve makes you feel good about what you ordered and ate. Having said that, I am very happy we stayed here, I would do so again in a heartbeat, and I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a no smoking room if that is your wish: when we reserved, at least, much of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This small hotel is clean, well located and a good value in expensive Moscow. Breakfasts are limited, but that is a small sacrifice for the good rate. One strange thing happened to me at this hotel that may or may not be the hotel's fault. Someone intercepted my Skype password, went into my Skype account, changed the settings and started to make phone calls to Singapore, draining 75 Euro from my bank account before Skype detected the scam. I can only say this happened while staying at the hotel. It may not be the fault of the hotel. However, it would be in the best interests of their guests if they would invest in a level of security higher than WEP for their wireless Internet connection.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a window. Some rooms only have skylights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Assambleya Nikitskaya has a very good location. Try to reserve a room with a proper window instead of one with a window at the ceiling, which may feel somewhat awkward. Furniture and decoration don't have a lot of quality, but are still in good condition. The staff is wonderful: very professional and willing to help you out with all sorts of questions. Skip the breakfast. Even with the room service the relation between quality and value is not what one would expect in a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Assambleya Nikitskaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assambleya Nikitskaya

Address: Bolshaya Nikitskaya St., 12/2, Moscow 125009, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Assambleya Nikitskaya 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Assambleya Nikitskaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assambleya Nikitskaya Hotel Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assambleya Nikitskaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.