We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic week at HM Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HM Hostel Moscow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added HM Hostel Moscow to your Saves list
HM Hostel Moscow
Gogolevsky Bulevar, 33/1, 4th floor | Apt. 14, Moscow 119019, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 668 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“A fantastic week at HM Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

When booking HM Hostel because of the reasonable price per night, we didn't have many expectations. But what met us was amazing newly renovated rooms, with Russian style chandeliers and wide window sills to sit an enjoy the view from. The rooms were clean and bed linen and towels were included. We could enjoy a large living room and kitchen, and hot water in the shower. The hostel is also situated very central, only one block from the popular Arbat street and New Arbat street and a walking distance from the Red Square. With a very nice and helpful staff I would definetly recommend this hostel for people travelling on a budget!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Nina! Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you liked staying at HM. We are working on becoming better and better. Hope to see you again in Moscow. Hugs from HM`s team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed four guys in the hostel and it was a flawless experience. The hostel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel itself provides a full staying-at-a-friends-place experience. Besides, the location could not be better. The staff was so amazing they allowed us to sleep for a few additional hours past the check-out time free of charge !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Ginger! Thank you so much. We are happy you liked us. We enjoyed your stay. We will be happy to see you again in our hostel. Hugs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We found this hostel recommended by a friendly russian guy who helped us out after our first hostel let us down. They accommodated us late at night and the staff were very friendly and helpful to our need for directions and advice on continuing onto st Petersburg. The hostel is warm, inviting and very clean. Although hard to find (which seems to be the case for most hostels) it is in a very good location (Arbat Street) which has many things close for daily needs. One shower and two toilets but not a problem at all if your willing to wait or shower before bed. All in all a great stay and have already recommended others we have bumped into who are on their way to Moscow.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Janet! Thank you for your warm words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we will be glad to see you again in Moscow any time. Big hugs! HM team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hostel is very small, clean, and tidy. It's not your typical hostel, it's a very nice flat with three rooms: girls dorm, mens dorm, and mixed. The staff is very friendly and everyone speaks English. Excellent location, too! I really recommend it, I wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Martin! Thank you for your warm review. We are happy you liked the place and we will be glad to see you again nest time you are in Moscow. Big hugs! HM team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had to make a last minute change to my vacation plans and stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The facilities were actually quite good, good amount of space, nice lounge, full kitchen, and good bathrooms. Being a hostel, you have to expect your quality of sleep to suffer, but I have to say I was still quite satisfied with the experience. As for the location, it doesn't get much better than this. If I had one complaint it would be to add an additional shower. Although I didn't have a problem with waiting to use it while I was there, I can definitely see that as being a potential issue if you stay here. The dreary entrance-way and dubious elevator are extremely typical in Russia, I'm not sure than this hostel can do much to fix that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at HM's. We hope to see you next time when you come to our city. Hugs from Moscow! HM team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saviese, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very nice stay in HM Hostel. The staff was helpful and friendly. They speak english or german.
The room was amazing! It was big with a small couch and a table. The beds (I tested 2 of them) were very comfortable. The locker seems new. Everything is close and for those who don't like to walk, the metro station is right across the street.
I'd only see 2 negative points: it's the price of water bottle and the code to come in the building that changes unexpectedly.
I'd go back to HM Hostel every time I go to Moscow,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Marie! Thank you for your warm words. We hope to see you again. And we are thinking of changing the water price and codes policy. It was a pleasure to have your company as guests. Hugs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, NewZealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Friendly atmosphere without being over the top. Natural in all ways. Really comfortable bed or bunk. Marble bathroom has full size bath and great pressure in the shower. One toilet in bathroom and second next door. Lovely kitchen with marble topped benches and fully equipped. Free internet in lounge without pressure. As an older female traveling alone I felt very secure in this small hostel which was around the corner from Arbut Street which is a famous shopping area which has McDonalds etc......
May I thank the young man from Eygpt who escorted me to the railway station to connect with my flight. The Metro is great but I had not had the chance to experience it sufficently to confidently make my way in time.
This hostel I would recommend to any traveler for a clean, quiet, friendly hostel close to the Metro at a very reasonable cost.
Thanks again
Lorraine

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Lorraine!
Thank you for your review. We are always waiting for you to come again. Hugs from Moscow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HM Hostel Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Hostel Moscow

Address: Gogolevsky Bulevar, 33/1, 4th floor | Apt. 14, Moscow 119019, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 668 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HM Hostel is located in the heart of Moscow, next to the famous Arbat Street and only a few minutes walk from the Kremlin, Red Square and the Cathedral of Christ the Savior. We are located in a very close proximity to two metro stations, making all of Moscow easily accessible to hostel guests.The Arbat area has a lively night life with many bars and restaurants, yet more often than not, guests like to stay in and enjoy a night together at the hostel, because of its warm and friendly atmosphere. Our friendly English and of course Russian speaking staff are at the hostel 24/7 to make your stay enjoyable, to provide assistance as needed and to ensure that the hostel is clean and friendly at all times.Our hostel has several dorm rooms, including one which is men only and a women only room as well. We do not simply push guests into every available corner we have, but made our rooms a very spacious and non-claustrophobic place to rest your head. We have a beautiful bathroom and our well-equipped kitchen is a great alternative to visiting Moscow’s (not so cheap) restaurants. We also offer free Wi-Fi and have a computer in our cozy common room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your HM Hostel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HM Hostel Moscow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.