We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly, run-down and not very helpful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Moscow Home Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moscow Home Hostel to your Saves list
Moscow Home Hostel
Vtoroi Neopalimovskiy Lane, 1/12, Moscow 119121, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 822 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Smelly, run-down and not very helpful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Moscow is an expensive city, which is probably the excuse that the management would give for the poor state of repair of this hostel. However, so is St Petersburg and their hostels are leagues apart.

Moscow home is hard to find on arrival in the city. I had to call about 7 times to get directions because the receptionist kept hanging up on me and giving vague directions. Confusingly, #12 is not located between 10 and 14. It was like looking for platform 9 3/4!

The cleaning staff are diligent and clean the kitchens and dorms to the best of their ability each day but the hostel desperately needs some money spent on refurbishment. The furniture clearly sees a high volume of traffic and some of the mattresses are way beyond the end of their lives. the bathrooms are tired and cramped.

The wifi doesn't work in all areas of the hostel and the kitchens are sparsely supplied with equipment. Hostels in moscow seem t be frequented by migrant workers more than travellers, so don't expect a backpacker vibe.

However, it is well enough located and an ok price. I've stayed in worse but I won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    12
    13
    3
See reviews for
4
4
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Moscow home hostel is not easy to find. For the first time experience in Moscow where sign and directions are written in Russian, and only youth speak and understand english you will take time to reach the place.
But it's abotut 10 minutes walk from a metro station. about 20 minutes walking to Kremlin and Red Square. Arbat Area is very close and very nice to eat and spend the night there.
Very close to supermarkets. What do you need more ????? :P :P
It's very safe and the shared bathrooms were clean.
The staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Given the size, cost and general tourist-unfriendliness of Moscow this hostel is not too bad for what it is, though note that it is not what most people might consider walking distance to Red Square - it would take at least half an hour (and crossing the road is an adventure in itself), so you are probably better off walking the 10 min or so to the metro to get to Red Square.

Take a map to help you find the hostel on arrival. The Arbat area is fairly close, which is handy for eating and drinking.

The hostel toilets are very very cramped, and might require some gymnastics to use....

Room Tip: Book a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We've stayed in a lot of hostels,this is one of the worst,unfortunately.At first- it was soo noisy,the walls were too thin,we heard all our neighbours,at second-the bathroom was awful and not quite clean.Location is not bad,but it's certainly not 5 min to metro!The only positive thing is staff,they are really helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

5 minutes walk from a metro station. Walking distance from Kremlin and Red Square. Very close to supermarkets. Shared bathroom and kitchen was nice enough for a budget traveler. I was staying in a supposedly girls dorm but woke up to find a guy was sleeping next to my bed. A couple was sleeping in the same room. but I just didn't care because it was so hard to find a budget accommodation like this in Moscow. You can't camplain, its a budget hostel.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I wish i wasn't forced to give this place 1 star. I wish i could give it minus a million.

To get the visa for Russia you need an invitation from a hotel/hostel in Russia. This place provides that service for 1000rubles, i was travelling with 2 kids so emailed ahead and asked could all the visa invitations go on one and me be only charged 1000rubles. Yes of course was the reply. The email even said total = 1000rubles.

So i was shocked to find when i turned up to be asked for 3000rubles for the visa support, i refused and was told that unless i paid there was no room, i said id already paid for it and she was having none of it, progressively her English got worse. When she decided she was going to phone to the police i paid up. Despite showing her the email she was having none of it.

I paid and we stayed in terrible accommodation. The laundry service was broken, the beds just pathetic Ikea things with skanky covers and the toilets and showers falling tp pieces.

I ended up leaving early since we just could not stomach the place any longer.

We had been ripped off, and i hardly slept a wink.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moscow Home Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Home Hostel

Address: Vtoroi Neopalimovskiy Lane, 1/12, Moscow 119121, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 822 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moscow Home Hostel - уютныи недорогои хостел в центре Москвы, недалеко от улицы Старыи Арбат. Мы находимся в историческои части города, в окружении посольств, напротив Счетнои Палаты РФ. Наш хостел рассчитан на 90 мест, у нас есть и отдельные номера (двухместные, трехместные, номера категории <<дабл>> и <<люкс>>), а также многоместные комнаты (от 6 до 14 мест). Если Вы хотите с комфортом остановиться в самом центре столицы и не хотите переплачивать, наш хостел - то, что Вам нужно! Почему именно мы? * Размещение от 490 руб в сутки! * Мы находимся в самом центре Москвы * Мы работаем круглосуточно * Возможность размещения как в многоместных, так и в отдельных номерах * У нас в хостеле всегда чисто * 13 ванных комнат - никаких очередеи! * Бесплатныи Wi-Fi * У нас есть четыре компьютера для общего пользования * У нас есть две полностью оборудованных для приготовления пищи кухни. Чаи, кофе и сахар бесплатно 24 часа в сутки! *Две гостиных с телевизорами, DVD и музыкальными центрами * У нас есть утюги, фен, стиральная машина * В хостеле есть снековыи и кофеиныи аппараты - так что Вы никогда не останетесь голодными:) * Наш хостел подходит для размещения больших групп (предоставляются скидки!) * Мы предоставляем услуги трансфера * У нас дружелюбныи персонал, всегда готовыи помочь туристам. Наш хостел расположен в центре Москвы между станциями метро <<Парк Культуры>> (5 минут пешком) и <<Смоленская>> (7 мин. Пешком). Вам понадобится всего 7 мин., Чтобы оказаться на улице Старыи Арбат, 10 минут - на улице Новыи Арбат, 20 минут - возле Кремля. Возле ближаишеи станции метро <<Парк Культуры>> находится парк им. Горького. Также в 10 мин. Ходьбы от хостела возле станции метро <<Киевская>> находится большои торгово-развлекательныи комплекс Европеискии. Ближаишая остановка общественного транспорта расположена в 100 метрах от хостела. Городскои ориентир - Кремль, Красная площадь, Храм Христа Спасителя, Пушкинскии музеи. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Moscow Home Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moscow Home Hotel Moscow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moscow Home Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.