We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, great location but not so clean and modern” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lucian Blaga St. nr. 3, Timisoara 300002, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 47 hotels in Timisoara
Crissier, Vaud, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spacious, great location but not so clean and modern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Spacious, nice staff and great location but would not stay here again until they get a makeover.
No elevators and quite a lot of stairs to climb so if you have a lot of luggage don't bother to book the hotel as I don't think you'll manage to get your things up to your room.
Breakfast was very poor so don't eat in the hotel but you should be able to find cafe's around very easily.
They don't have parking and considering that the hotel is in the city center, I don't think it'll be so convenient for others with a car to stay in this hotel.
They have good wireless internet.

When we stayed for 1 night, I think they had something going on in one of the squares a music festival (?) so it was quite noisy... if you are sensitive to noise, better to avoid.

Room Tip: If you have problems climbing up stairs, chose rooms on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
4
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Just returned from a business trip to Timisoara and a stay at
Victoria. I will not mention the condition of the building on the
outside....all Timisoara can use good overhaul. Nor will I talk about
how dirty the heart of town. As I walked in to a hotel I noticed old,
musty smell and of course cigarette smoke. We booked jr. suit on the
3rd floor and thank god for that. Room was very large and pretty
clean. Sheets on the bed were ripped, perhaps from too much
bleach? Bed was comfortable. Furniture, however, is very cheap and old.
Bathroom was large with the large Jacuzzi tub, but my guess that
somebody quite heavy sat on the edge of the tub and one of the walls
had clacked and was falling off. But again, very clean. Air-condition
was working perfectly considering that it was pretty hot, 34-36
outside. But on the second day remote from the air condition
disappeared. We left it on the night stand in the morning and could not find it ever
since. Nobody bothered to check if we are able to turn off the air or
provide the new remote. In fact, at check out, they tried to make me
pay for the remote. I refused and said I'll speak with manager. But
manager did not want to talk to me, just said fine they don't have to
pay. The old trick....if it works it works and if not no big deal.
We chose this hotel over a different one cause a coworker said they
serve better breakfast. But breakfast was not good at all. Stale
croissants, only white bread, 1 kid of cheese...overall very poor.
I often just went to this Italian cafe(the other end of the
street) for really good croissants. Oh yes...almost forgot...the
casino on the first floor...OMG...music at night was blasting so loud
that our windows were shaking. Not a good thing when you have to go to
work in the morning. I am wondering what could be worse?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

The hotel is in the heart of Timisoara, you can walk 2 minutes and you are in the main square. Rooms are spacious and very clean (we booked 2 doubles and 1 single... All rooms were very big and bathrooms were have been recently renovated); breakfast is good various. Staff could be a little bit more kind (we ask them some questions and simply answered "Yes" or "No"...). We highly recommend this hotel, it's not expensive but quality is very good!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Spacious and clean room, although the furnishings need a little repair. Great location, and very friendly and helpful staff.

As long as you do not have a problem with stairs, very recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

Hotel a little disappointing at first look, but it soon grows on you and has perfect location. However do not let the web photo of the hotel influence your decision. This photo isn't doctored, but it gives an overly flattering image of the hotel.
Above cautions aside; this place grows on you. It has great location. No lift. Good recently installed air-conditioning. Large sparsely, but adequately furnished rooms. Cheap mini-bar in rooms. Small breakfast area. Breakfast was not as extensive as in other hotels, but it was not bad either. Two pleasant young ladies at reception and kitchen. It is an old building with a beautiful stairs. It is on a narrow street almost on the main square. No bar, but it (surprisingly) has wireless internet access all over.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Seems more like a guest-house than hotel.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Lucian Blaga St. nr. 3, Timisoara 300002, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Western Romania > Timis County > Timisoara
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 hotels in Timisoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.