We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security guard took our money.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palace of Culture

Palace of Culture
George Enescu Number 2, Tirgu Mures, Romania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Tirgu Mures
Attraction details
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Security guard took our money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We went there on Monday and it was closed, but the door was open so we walked inside so that maybe we'll see something. The security guard stopped us and said it's closed. But then he said something in Romanian which we didn't understand. He showed us that we must pay, so I gave him 10RON and thought that he'll give us change and a ticket. Instead he said "go...". I thought that he opened it for us. Instead he let us roam around a boring building with all the pretty rooms being locked. That's when we understood that he just stole our money. We are very upset and it's for people like this that this country suffers so much economic hardship.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Top attraction in TGM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The building is quite impressive, especially outside. The lobby has art nouveau ceilings and lamps. Nice stained glass windows and some interesting paintings on the other floors. The building was undergoing some renovation in May 2012. A definite must if you are in TGM. The area around the palace of culture also includes the mayor's office (you can visit the lobby and its marble staircase) and a Greek Catholic church.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A master piece of Art Nouveau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I travelled to Targu Mures just to see this Palace and am so glad I did. The entrance hall is mind blowing in gold and rich colours. Up stairs is the Hall of Mirrors, which has some of the most stunning stained glass I have ever seen. The 19th centaury art collection fits the building perfectly and is very well curated. The palace includes a theatre and concert hall too, all in a very grand Art Nouveau or Art Deco style. A joy that a highly recommend.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Must see in Tirgu Mures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Palace of Culture houses several cultural institutions (State Philharmonic County Library, Museum of Art, Art Gallery, Historical Museum's permanent exhibition, etc.).

In the Hall of Mirrors there are two groups of three large mirrors and 12 colorful stained glass panels which occupies the entire wall facing the street. The panels are inspired from Hungarian folklore and are very beautiful.

One ticket is sold for all museums inside the palace.

The city is officially bilingual since more then 50% of the town's population is of Hungarian nationality and both Romanian and Hungarian languages are recognised as official . The Palace of culture reflects this cultural mix.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace of Culture also viewed

Tirgu Mures, Mures County
Tirgu Mures, Mures County
 
Tirgu Mures, Mures County
Tirgu Mures, Mures County
 

Been to Palace of Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace of Culture, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.