We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth 3*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Onix Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Onix Hotel to your Saves list
Onix Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Str Septimiu Albini No 12, Cluj-Napoca, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 55 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not worth 3*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My greatest problem was the smell in the hall and in the room. it was a stinging smell like in very old houses. The furniture was also very old, probably that is the source of the smell.
Breakfast was good, no complaints.
By the way, all the pictures on their websites are from the 4* rooms, even for the 3* rooms.

Room Tip: ask for the 4* rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
1
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arad, Romania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed for one night and would certainly recommend to AVOID the 3* part of this hotel. I don't know about the 4*. The elevator is only available to the 4 star guests, so you have to get up the stairs. The room was very small, very bad lighting in the room, the TV was an old Panasonic CRT that only had half of the remote working (for example the power button didn't work) and although they had cable, only 5-6 TV stations were clear enough to actually see something, ugly minibar with no cooling whatsoever (the fridge didn't work), the bathroom had only one light which made viewing in the mirror or showering almost impossible, flushing the toilet was so noisy that probably half the hotel heard when I did it, the shower wasn't very clean. The bed sheets were stained (blood?) and the noise from the traffic outside the hotel was easy to hear, although the hotel isn't on a large boulevard.
The breakfast was of low, maybe medium quality with really not a lot to choose from. The reception was OK, although there was a new girl working there, she was OK and really seemed to take interest. Too bad the hotel didn't live up to her.
I guess the only improvements to this hotel are the air conditioning in the room and access by card in the room (at least my room had this).

Room Tip: I stayed in 117 but I guess all other rooms were as bad as this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I made the mistake of staying in Hotel Onix 2 times now, the last time in Sept 2010, firstly the receptionist was unfriendly (was like I was disturbing her), the heating wasn't working and the wireless internet wasn't working. The first time I was there it was noisy too as there is a strip club underneath the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

The hotel is not far away from the city center. The staff were very nice and polite. The rooms was large enough but not very clean. There is a problem with the sound in the night if your room is on nightclub's side. The breakfast was simple but fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

The Hotel price is a little above the average for the town but for business traveller is a good deal. The hotel has two kind of rooms: 4* and 3*. For business traveller I reccomend 4* as the ratio price/quality is good. Free Internet available in the 4* rooms both with cable and wifi. Good Internet speed and quality. The are very convenient apartments (two rooms) where (one room with matrimonial room and one living). The furniture is not realy modern, a little traditional, but in order and in good shape. An important thing that I would notice is that you can really sleep well: unfortunately there are in Cluj hotels where is impossible to sleep as some major streets in the center are busy of very noisy traffic of tracks all the night. The othel has a resturant (also open in terrace in spring/summer) and night club. I do reasly reccomend this hotel for business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We happened upon this hotel as a one night stop before an early flight from Cluj airport.
I wish we had looked further.
The firsts room we were given had no working light in the bathroom, the curtains would not close and the curtain rail was hanging off the wall. The general apperance was a bit grim [would have suited a £20 a night room].
I asked at reception if this could be sorted out and was simply dismissed. When I persisted, I was given [ungraciously] another room. this was at least working properly.
The restaurant however was good - if a bit expensive.
I would not stay here again.

  • Liked — not much apart from the restaurant
  • Disliked — Expensive for poor quality
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

I spent 2 nights in July 2007 in the 4 stars section of the hotel. Locals warned me that this is not a real 4 star hotel and alas they were right. The hotel hallway needs painting, electrical wiring was exposed in the bathroom, the room phone didn't work during my entire stay (I was using my cell phone to order room service).

Also the ceiling light in my room was not working. It does say a lot about how they prepare rooms for their clients: Is the door in place? Yes, then it must be OK....

I would not recommend this hotel, at least not as a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Onix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Hotel

Address: Str Septimiu Albini No 12, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Onix Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Onix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onix Hotel Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.