We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel close to the center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capitolina City Chic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Capitolina City Chic Hotel to your Saves list
Capitolina City Chic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cluj-Napoca, str. V. Babes nr. 35, Cluj-Napoca 40012, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel close to the center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Good location close to many restaurants and also convenience stores, 550 m from Union Square. Room was spacious, comfy bed and nice photos on the wall. Loved the toilet, clean, modern with a rain shower, toiletries and hairdryer. Good curtains, lighting and also a big full length mirror. Breakfast was substantial with good variety. Wifi was fast and TV had many channels. Price was very reasonable.

The air conditioning unit looked old and made loud noises from time to time. Didn't like the carpet, looked old and dated. The safe box wasn't secured to the cupboard and could be taken away.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 203, one of the rooms which has a new modern toilet.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
9
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltillo, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent treatment.
Good attention, Good location near the University. Good options in the breakfast buffet. Comfortably rooms.
Really a Good option.
Great location, i feel like in home.
---
Realmente una excelente opción, muy buena atención. Bien localizado en la zona universitaria. Lo cuartos bastante confortables.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrid V, Director of Sales at Capitolina City Chic Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Sigrid Vultur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed in this hotel during a business trip.
Strong points
- spacious rooms
- Located in the heart of the city near Central Park and university
- Plenty of pubs and restaurants in the locality
- Excellent breakfst spread
Weak points
- Rooms are old and need renovation
- toilets also need a facelift
However I had a pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrid V, Director of Sales at Capitolina City Chic Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Shiju,

Thank you for taking the time to review or hotel and for pointing out our strong points.

I see that at weak points you said that the rooms and bathrooms are old and need renovation.

As stated before by other reviewers, the hotel was completely renovated last year, everything is new on the inside and outside of the building (paint, furnishing). That can be seen in the pictures uploaded both by us and other guests.
Can you please tell us when you stayed with us and give us more details (of pictures) of what you mean exactly?
Thank you.

Regards,
Sigrid Vultur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj County, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Capitolina it's a great business hotel in the heart of the city. Staff are friendly and helpful.
I recommend this hotel to any traveller. I have a lot of great business meetup groups in this location, very nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrid V, Director of Sales at Capitolina City Chic Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Alina,

Thank you very much for your reccommendation.
We are very glad that you are satisfied with our services.

Regards,
Sigrid Vultur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Capitolina is a recently renovated, small hotel located within a 10 minute walking distance of the main city square. It is very near the university, so there appeared to be many students/professors staying there or using the small public facilities. Our room was very spacious and the furniture and bathroom fixtures very new and modern. We faced the rear of the building and with the double glazed windows and air conditioning, it was very quiet for sleeping.

The staff was well-trained, attentive and helped us with directions and restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was one of the best we had in Romania, with lots of offerings of a high quality.

We were a little concerned by the lower ratings by previous trip advisor patrons, but we suspect that was before the extensive remodeling. This is a very comfortable and stylish hotel and is well deserving of a 5 rating.

Room Tip: Our room facing the rear was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrid V, Director of Sales at Capitolina City Chic Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Der Ruby,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sigrid Vultur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Loved this place.Such character, lovely staff, massive bathroom, good breakfast, and so cheap! £58 for the night AND breakfast which wouldn't even get you a Travelodge in a UK City. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrid V, Director of Sales at Capitolina City Chic Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Andy,

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the breakfast. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Sigrid Vultur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed many times in this small, but cozy hotel near students area.

the rooms are nice and the breakfast also.

i recommend it.

it's very convenient because you can walk around to see the historical area

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrid V, Director of Sales at Capitolina City Chic Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and the breakfast. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Sigrid Vultur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitolina City Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitolina City Chic Hotel

Address: Cluj-Napoca, str. V. Babes nr. 35, Cluj-Napoca 40012, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitolina City Chic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitolina City Chic Hotel*** is created especially for the business people traveling in Cluj-Napoca. Here you have only 4 reasons to prefer us to the concurrence: free high speed internet in every room, free digital safe in every room, home cinema (free), business newspapers (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Capitolina City Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitolina City Chic Hotel Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitolina City Chic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.