We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Ethnographic Park

National Ethnographic Park
Str. Taietura Turcului, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 43 Attractions in Cluj-Napoca
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stopped by on a Sunday afternoon and the front gate was closed. I was quite disappointed, but a friendly gentleman let me in to take a look around although the interiors of all the buildings wouldn't be accessible. Once you are inside the park, it feels like you have changed the location and the era. It is nice and quiet in the park, with lovely fields surrounding the buildings. The park has done a great job painstakingly collecting, dismantling and resurrecting the historical buildings from around the region. The buildings match quite well although they are from different locales. Even if you are just passing by Cluj, I would recommend a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss the ethnographic park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Cluj-Napoca has many interesting places to see, but the Ethnographic Park is among the best and you shouldn't miss it. Begun in 1929, the park contains about 50 original buildings (not replicas) in a natural setting on a hilltop onlooking Cluj. The buildings include homes, sawmills, churches, and wines and oil presses. They provide great insight into how the people of Romania lived in years past. I would recommend hiring a guide; our guide was very knowledgeable and added a lot to our visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best ethnographic museums to see in Romania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everyone must visit, and that will help much better understanding the country, the people, the history. Most of the exhibited buildings are original, centuries old, very much impressive.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“A piece of romanian culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you got sick of the shopping malls, of the crazy traffic and of the polluted city, you must see the Ethnographic Park.
You will have the opportunity to see how our previous generations lived (and how some of the people of 21st century live).
The park is housing real households that used to be in different parts of the Transylvania. All of them were disassembled piece by piece, and put back together in the ethnographic park. Many of the buildings are examples of popular ingenuity.
The most impressive buildings are the two churches. The paintings, everything is real and authentic and you feel just like traveling back in the time of our grand-grandparents.

Romanian and English guides available.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Ethnographic Park also viewed

 
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj County
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj County
 

Been to National Ethnographic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Ethnographic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.