We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Starwood hotel, but its not far off!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Cluj

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Cluj to your Saves list
Ramada Cluj
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calea Turzii 43 - 49, Cluj-Napoca 400193, Romania (Formerly Akantus Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Whittier, Alaska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not a Starwood hotel, but its not far off!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

To get 5 stars from me on a hotel review; the stars must align perfectly. The Akantus Hotel was close, With a few tweaks and considerations, it may well get to five stars. Yet is still think it may just be the most impressive place to stay in Cluj.

We have been to Cluj on several occasions. Usually we stay at one of the many lesser 3 star BnBs in the area. However, this time was special; our 1 year wedding anniversary. Just a short drive from our home we decided to go to Cluj for the Thursday and Friday festivities. Booked it online after seeing the pictures and reading the TA reviews. US visa, mastercard, and amex accepted.

We could not obtain proper directions to the Hotel. I mistakenly forgot to look at the map and figured since the staff spoke English and Romanian we could just call and ask for directions when we got to Cluj. The place is very easy to find. If the staff knows the city well enough to guide you. Unfortunately, this was not the case. Cluj is not the hardest city to navigate, but like most in Romania; streets are not properly signed. So this made us late for dinner. An Ounce of preparation will eliminate a future pound of pain.

Enough back-story, We checked into an apartment suite with lightning like efficiency. Reception is to be commended for their speed and hospitality. The room was as advertised. Newly styled and furnished, complete with a sitting area, big screen TV and priced mini bar. I called down to get an Iron. Within 3 mins the iron arrived; sans Ironing board. I must ask, why have an iron?; if not a board to iron upon? Oh well, used up few towels on the table and went to dinner a little bit wrinkly. .

As we were leaving for dinner, I mentioned to the receptionist the date significance and asked for a bottle of champagne to be in our room for our return. The barman provided 3 options for champagne: 1)Headache, 2) Way over priced and 3) That's just silly. I ordered the overpriced Moet and headed out.

We came back to the hotel around 1 am and the Champagne I had asked for was in our room on ice. Turn down service would have been awesome to see at this point. Alas; Cluj is not Vegas. Our room was comfortable and Quiet! The bed was short. I'm 6 ft and my feet were close to hanging off the end. Robes, extra pillows and blankets were available in the closet along with sewing kits,shoe shiners, slippers and all that extra stuff we all love to take home and never use. I think the building is temperature controlled so we had to open the windows. It was a bit warm. Likely from the sauna above. The view was average. Black out curtains were an appreciated touch the next day.

The room had an efficiency fridge/minibar and a European style espresso maker. For the life of me I could not figure out how to use the espresso machine. Not because i am a moron, but rather, (as i found out later the next day) it was unplugged and had a hidden power switch. An instruction manual would have been a welcome touch. So I staggered down to meet my wife at the breakfast buffet just before it closed. I was a wee bit hungover so I tried to stick to the basics. Eggs, bacon, toast, coffee, cheese, Muffins, apple juice, fruit, sparkling water. It was a great spread and i couldn't not enjoy it. Well done and well worth the additional money on the online booking option.

Do not disturb sign was honored the rest of the day. The bathtub Jacuzzi is a becoming option but there are no shower curtains. Please install shower curtains. I will never understand how people take a stand up shower without getting water everywhere!

Went to the gym/spa. The Fitness area is quaint but nice. Awesome view. The spa left much to be desired in amenities and size. For a boutique hotel it was very charming, but I have discovered many of the spa/wellness centers in Romania to be much more inclusive. The juice, water and food price in the spa were laughable. The lap pool was attractive and the ambient temperature in the Swimming area was very nice.

We did not try the restaurants other than the Breakfast Buffet. I love it when I do not have to go through long check-in/check-out procedures. Spoiled by many an on screen menu checkout i am very accustomed to just telling the hotel receptionist, leaving the keys in the room and going home without fanfare. Akantus had no issue with this and even emailed me copies of my invoice and receipt. Well done.

Over all, the Staff always makes for a great hotel. and Akantus did a bang up job. We had a great time. All the issues I presented are merely nitpicking. From top floor Spa to bottom floor receptions, the staff was kind, helpful and even entertaining. I don't think i will return to Akantus, but i certainly recommend it to anyone who wants to make an impression. I think they are trying to set a new standard for the hotel industry in Romania. As a frequent international traveler, I must say they are making steps in the right direction.

Room Tip: get the breakfast included. Hours are 7-11
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
6
1
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
austin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently stayed here for business and found the hotel to be really great. The hotel is new which is always a plus and the rooms are nice as well the amenities are excellent. Free Wifi, great TV and room layout/setup. I did not get a chance to use the SPA but the pool on the roof top has to be a big plus. We used one of the large conference rooms for a company meeting and it worked just perfectly for us. I will definitely be using this hotel for all future stays in Cluj. I used to always stay only at Opera Plaza.

Room Tip: the hotel is on a major street that leaves the town of Cluj so I would request a room that does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

New hotel with nice rooms and decent prices. Funny way to park your car in the hotel garage, trough an elevator....
360SPA from the last floor is excellent. Make sense to add your swimming suit together with your ties...
Breakfast not so varied. Coffee from some standard coffee machine.
Overall decent experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was the first time in Akantus hotel for business purpose for just two days. I'm very happy with everything and can warmely rocommand this hotel. The rooms are very modern, clean and equipped with the most modern infrastructure like free of charge WiFI, TV, furniture, aircondition, etc.
The pool on top of the hotel with the view over the city is overwelming. The small sauna is nice and the steam bath eather.
The staff is very much custom oriented and willing to make the stay as comfortable as possible for the guests.
The restaurant was not crowded but offered a nice atmospahre, good quality food and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I didn' t stay in this hotel, I was only one evening at the pool. Very clean, very good services. It's pretty expensive for guests but you can see from the pool, situated on the roof , a big part of the city.
If you want few hours of total relaxing time but feeling the pulse of Cluj and enjoying a splendid view I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I was on business in Cluj and stayed at the Akantus for one evening. The property is brand new and therefore the facilities were definitely of high standard. The service was also excellent. However, one major downside was the climate control as there isn't one! The room was extremely warm and made it difficult to sleep and guests have no ability to adjust it in the room. The thermostat only produced more hot air. I was changed to another room which was cooler but still warmer than I'd like.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cernusco sul Naviglio, Italy
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just spent 3 days vacation in Transylvania and I find this excellent hotel. The pro of the hotel are: great location, 5 minutes by step to the center, very big room and bed, nice wellness with a pool-steaming room and sauna other than a fitness room, open from early morning to evening. There was just few cons like: the breakfast was not included in the price, was not possible to bring something to drink in the wellness club. By the way the receptionist are so gently and kind. The breakfast is standard international and was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Cluj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Cluj

Address: Calea Turzii 43 - 49, Cluj-Napoca 400193, Romania (Formerly Akantus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Cluj 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find convenient amenities in an ideal location at the Ramada Cluj hotel. Perfect for business or leisure travelers, and complemented by modern and elegant style, our Cluj Napoca, Romania, hotel is close to the area’s best attractions, restaurants and airport.Those traveling on business will enjoy Executive Floor and Executive Lounge access featuring a business center with computers along with meeting space and dedicated conference services. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi Internet access and then enjoy a meal and drink at Akantus Restaurant or Avocado Restaurant & Lounge, both located on-site. When it’s time to relax, visit our Spa and Wellness Center, complete with Health Bar, indoor pool, sauna and steam bath and unwind from your busy day, or get a great workout at the fitness center. Free limited guest parking is available and roundtrip airport shuttle service is offered for a nominal fee at our Cluj-Napoca hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Ramada Cluj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Cluj Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Cluj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.