We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Melody Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Melody Central to your Saves list
Hotel Melody Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piata Unirii 29, Cluj-Napoca 400098, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night of our wedding. Initially there was no hot water but, after leaving the tap open for 5 minutes, we were able to take the showers. The breakfast was excellent as well as the staff and the shoe polishing apparatus. Thank you! Will come again!

Room Tip: None. The rooms seem to be fine regardless of their position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
10
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed there while I was with business in Cluj. Old furniture, old furnishings. Office like sealing in the rooms. Lots of noise from the street. Small bathroom. Old fridge. Breakfast is almost decent. One good thing: heating.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location is incredible and the prices are very good for the center of the town. Clean rooms and a very lovely receptioner. They even paid us the town parking. I will absolutely stay here next time i am in Cluj-Napoca.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is located in city center of Cluj. The location cannot be beat as it is walking distance to everything. Staff are extremely friendly, warm and helpful. Rooms are very clean. Everything you really NEED in a hotel however... rooms are not air conditioned. Windows open and get beautiful breezes but if you are planning a vacation in hot weather with hot nights I would not advise it. There is no elevator and with the european system the 2nd floor is really the 3rd so if you have trouble with stairs go elsewhere. They have provided a ramp that easily will accomodate sliding your luggage on. Hot water for the shower was no problem. Free breakfast was typical european style, more than adequate. As others have stated this is a very noisy location. Car horns, emergency sirens are common, but you are in city center. I found no trouble sleeping because of sheer exhaustion from travel. If you are a light sleeper or prefer upscale amenities of the US this is probably not for you but it is a wonderful european hotel with everything you NEED.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my first trip to Cluj, while i loved the city, Hotel Melody Central has left me with a bad taste. After spending 21 hours traveling we were looking forward to a shower and a relax in the hotel before going exploring the city, this is were our problems started.
After checking in we headed to our room to discover that the lock on our door was loose and did not seem very safe. I then headed for the shower to find no hot water ( it doesn't mater what time of day you try there only seems to be hot water 50% of the time) there was also no door or curtain on the shower meaning the bathroom floor ends up like a swimming pool and quite dangerous. when we tried the tv all we got was blue screen, we mentioned this to the lady at reception on our way out and she said she would have someone look at it but on our return nothing had been done it took another trip to reception and two phone calls before someone came to sort the problem but i still ended up fixing it myself. While the room was clean and tidy and the bed comfortable they only provide two pillows and a blanket which was not big enough for the bed. Even though the room was booked as a smoking room there was no ashtray provided.
Things didn't get any better on day two, the breakfast buffet consisted of scrambled eggs and sausage's which was cold leaving us with cornflakes and coffee to set us up for the day not wanting to let any of this spoil or holiday we went to explore the city on our return we found my partners watch which had been left on the bedroom table had been removed from the room ( thank god we didn't leave anything more valuable behind).
The crowning glory to our stay presented itself on check out, our stay had been booked by a family member as a present using there credit card, even though the hotel had an electronic credit card machine and the card details they refused to charge the bill to the card. We explained to the duty receptionist that we didn't have much cash left for our journey home but no way would they budge leaving us to scrape together the last of our cash for the bill and no money for the journey home. I am sure had we been more dishonest and just left they would have been able to recover the bill from the provided credit card details.
Please don't let this review put you off visiting cluj, I will be returning as i loved the city but will not stay at Hotel Melody Central again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I head a great experience in hotel melody because is in the heart of Cluj Napoca and is very clean!Andy the receptionist is very profesional and helpful!The prices are ok.Definetley i will return.Thank`s

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel Melody in located right in the historical center of Cluj, in Unirii Square, right next to St. Michael's Cathedral. The staff was friendly and the room was OK. No breakfast (or restaurant). There's a KFC restaurant right next to the hotel, if you want to grab a quick bite. Of course, there's some traffic noise, but that goes without saying, since the hotel is located in center of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Melody Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melody Central

Address: Piata Unirii 29, Cluj-Napoca 400098, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melody Central 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! MELODY HOTEL CENTRAL is among the most representative and catering accommodations in Cluj-Napoca, building is operated as a hotel since. XIX century. Classified three star hotel quality and meets European standards, being equipped with the most modern amenities in order to offer customers multiple facilities for accommodation, table, business, conferences, seminars, and other types of events. All 26 accommodation rooms, single or double rooms, standard or luxury apartments, are modernly equipped and benefit from, working desk, minibar, TV, free wireless internet, local and international telephone line, Bathroom with shower or bathtub, hairdryer. Luxury apartments are equipped with spacious bathrooms with bathtub. The hotel has also large halls which facilitates meetings for 100/180 guests, possibility of organizing banquets, weddings, Salons Artificial and natural lighting, offering an elegant and intimate kitchen after the most demanding requirements, well qualified and friendly team is waiting with menus and both Romanian traditional dishes but also with European and international specialties. Why choose Central Melody!! We are in the central area of the city, and 5 minutes walk from City Hall of Cluj-Napoca, area clinics, where is the most important art objects, historical, cultural, religious, and the most sought hospital units. We are 5 minutes walk from Babes Bolyai state University, 15 minutes to Botanical Garden. We are 20 minutes drive from Cluj-Napoca International Airport. We offer a wide range of quality services at competitive prices negotiable especially punctually the line of accommodation, space for events, telephone and Internet connections. Well qualified and trained staff, friendly and helpful will provide exceptional treatment throughout your stay in our hotel. You will find most interesting and advantageous discounts, bonuses, incentives and free, depending on the level, complexity and extent of services requested. We have two function rooms equipped to organize any kind of event, ensuring complete privacy and safety. The bar of the hotel, arranged at ground floor, offers a great space for coffee and tea business, meeting friendly offering prices for every pocket and soft drinks, and fresh natural sites and special cocktails. For us there is no second place in terms of customer service, so we have completed the motto: "Heart of Transylvania tourism." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Melody Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Melody Central Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Melody Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.