We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LUX Ile de La Reunion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added LUX Ile de La Reunion to your Saves list
LUX Ile de La Reunion
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 rue du Lagon | L'Ermitage (après le Leader Price), Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 20-35% off + more !!!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for a week at the hotel however didn’t feel comfortable. Yes the location is great and amazing coral beach for snorkeling. However we find the staff of the hotel unfriendly and the service does not reflect the value of the most expensive hotel on the island. First it was difficult to get back to the hotel as most of the locals didn’t know the hotel as the name had changed to LUX. The breakfast selection was really good and the quality was up to the level, but it is disappointing that for 6 nights we couldn’t get a reservation to eat in any of the restaurants, so end up ordering room service which was not good and overpriced. And what is about the delivery charges for room service? if you order food still you need to pay additional to get delivered to the room ! That is the first time ever in any 4 or 5 stars hotel i have experience this. we need it some ice they asked us to pay 9 Eur for ice !!!!!!! This hotel is for sure not on my list for recommendation. Rooms are nice yes, but missing a good service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX Ile de La Reunion, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Traveler,
I would like to present you sincere apologies as we haven't be able to meet your expectations.
Be sure that we aim for quality & guest satisfaction so I share your comments with the management in order to be able to improve the quality of our service.
I hope we will have the occasion to welcome you again in a close future in order to show you what is Lux* Ile de la Réunion. In case you are ready to give us this second chance, please do not hesitate to contact me personaly & I will make sure that you will have an incredible stay with us.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Chef de Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    357
    148
    58
    21
See reviews for
320
756
41
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

- Great location with coral reef and white sand beach, a few in the island so enjoy snorkeling, swim and sun bathing with a large pool.
- Quiet locale but not much of night life.
- One buffet restaurant and one beach side restaurant. The buffet is not too bad but Chinese night was little disappointing. Creole cuisine is great though.
- The rooms are good with free WiFi which you need to login every so often. Only a couple of English channels on TV, usual in Reunion.
- Try ice creams and other desserts for they are 'French'. best vanilla ice cream ever!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Manager at LUX Ile de La Reunion, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear valuable customers,
We are thanking you for your kind comments especially for praising our Créole Cuisine and our great homemade vanilla Ice Cream at the ICI Bar.
We certainly still have some room for improvements’ with the Chinese food and we are currently working on a twinning with a Chinese restaurant in Beijing.
Waiting for the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future,
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Me and my husband stayd in hotel LUX for 6 days and leaving the place was one of the most difficult matter like leaving your home, friends and family. Nice and delicious food of great choice, friendly and helpful staff, nice beaches and SUPER swimming pool... My great wish is to come back again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Manager at LUX Ile de La Reunion, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Simona,
It was of our great pleasure to meeting you and having you as guests at LUX* Ile de la Reunion for almost a week. A are definitely looking to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardubice, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Absolutely beautufull place and architecture of the hotel. It is light, airy, comfortable builded area which gives you enough private. The pool was the best we ever saw. Room equipment will let you little bit know about years that hotel has running.
Services are perfect. For honeymoon they have presents and the biggest was romantic dinner at the beach with super menu and great drinks.
What is the best of the hotel is the STAFF. People in LUX are not working. They take care of you as a member of family, they are always smiling, helpful, efficient.
If honemoon in European Union than in LUX Reunion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Manager at LUX Ile de La Reunion, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Jiri,
Thank you very much for your nice comments. The one which really awarded us from all is for you to have the feeling to be a part of the family.
We look forward to see you for your 1st weeding anniversary,
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Le Grand Hotel du Lagon (now LUX) and had a great time - the rooms were spotless, the bed very comfy and huge, the breakfast buffet was delicious, location is perfect on one of the best beaches of the island and staff were very nice and helpful. Service quality is 1st class, definitely the best on the west coast of the island. Food at the hotel is very good but if you want to sample something different there are various options available within walking distance from the hotel. Will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Manager at LUX Ile de La Reunion, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Sandra,
We thank you for your valuable comment as well as for the sincerity and passion you are making in it.
Please note that from your last visit we have continued to improve ourselves with a couple a new products, which, I am sure, you will enjoy during your next stay with us.
We certainly are looking to welcome you again in the near future,
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Excellent hotel with great location by the beautiful Lagoon. Staff is very nice and kind. All of them speak English very well. Rooms are very nice and spacious (only bathroom is a little bit too small). Food served in hotel is very good but everything is a bit expensive. For sure we are coming back soon :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Manager at LUX Ile de La Reunion, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear customer,
It is always nice to hear nice comments on our property.
These comments are pushing us up to get even better and to improve all our services to the great benefits our guests.
Hopefully we will welcome you soon again,
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have recently returned from a too-short stay at LUX. Everything about the resort was first class, from our spotless and well equipped room to the pool, restaurants, gardens and beach. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful, the food is great and varied, and we wished our stay could have been longer. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe P, Manager at LUX Ile de La Reunion, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Rhelma,
It was a great pleasure to read your comment about the LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
In 5 lines, you are summarizing our core values.
We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon,
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX Ile de La Reunion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Ile de La Reunion

Address: 28 rue du Lagon | L'Ermitage (après le Leader Price), Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island
Phone Number:
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Ile de La Reunion 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your LUX Ile de La Reunion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Ile De La Reunion Hotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
LUX Ile De La Reunion Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX Ile de La Reunion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.