We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Gem in the Finger Lakes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aurora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aurora Inn
391 Main Street, Aurora, NY 13026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Aurora B&B and Inns
Litchfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Gem in the Finger Lakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We recently returned from a visit to the Finger Lakes and enjoyed a wonderful one night stay at the Aurora Inn in Aurora, NY overlooking beautiful Cayuga Lake. We hated to leave this inn and when we go back will definitely stay more than one night. This beautifully restored historic inn is exceptional in all ways. Our room was gorgeous, spacious and decorated with the highest quality furnishings one could hope for when away from home and anticipating a special vacation. We had a lake view room with a private door to the porch furnished with rocking chairs and a view of Lake Cayuga. The marble bathroom was right out of the best magazines and had all that one could hope for. The bathroom was stocked with top of the line bath products and fabulous towels. Our room did not include a bath, but instead a gorgeous glass shower with a marble seat. Check the website for rooms that have baths with jacuzzi's, etc. This inn definitely has them. By the way, the website is excellent and the pictures of each room accurate. The staff was welcoming, friendly and accommodating. We had a fantastic dinner in the dining room that evening and as our meal was ending the sunset over the lake was exquisite. In the morning the inn serves a full, menu ordered breakfast, included in the price of your room. No continental buffet here! Aurora is a beautiful, small college town and a walk along the main street is relaxing, fun and the lake is always right beside you. The Aurora Inn is a very special inn and one definitely worth visiting...especially since inns of this ilk seem to be very rare these days!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    26
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
114
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

My husband and I went to the Aurora Inn in early June for a friend's wedding.The rooms were very spacious and clean, and the entire hotel is very cozy. The breakfast was included and consisted of a nice variety of items such as omelets, french toast and pancakes. There was a mandatory housekeeping charge that we didn't really think was necessary but at least they told us about it before we arrived (but after we reserved the room).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptRandall
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed in room #1 of the Morgan house. The inn-keepers were unparelled, the inn was absolutely beautiful, and food was plentiful and excellent (I LOVED the fresh muffins!). I have traveled extensively and I can’t say enough about the Inn!

STAY HERE! You’ll love it too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

The Aurora Inn is located in the quaint village of Aurora on the east shore of Lake Cayuga, NY. With only ten guest rooms, the Inn maintains a lovely ambiance The rooms on the rear of the inn have a beautiful view over Lake Cayuga as the property is set directly on the lake shoreline. Each room has access to a balcony with rocking chairs...a great place to sit, sip a glass of wine and take in the view. The rooms located on the front of the building have a village view looking directly across the street to the well maintained campus of Wills College. The "village view" rooms are located on the main street in the village and are subject to some traffic noise, however minimal.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the main dining room which overlooks the lake or on the outdoor patio with it's own water view. The food is excellent, the wine list very complete, and the service is attentive. Even if you don'r stay at the Aurora Inn, it's worth a stop just for a meal or glass of wine on the deck.

We found the Aurora Inn to be a delightful place to stay and use as a springboard for our tours of the wineries around Lake Cayuga. It is a bit more pricey than most other area lodging but worth every penny. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

This is really a fantastic inn. It has been done up very tastefully and is really a cut above your regular inn.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We just returned home from a weekend trip to Aurora interested in visiting Mackenzie Childs, eating dinner at the Inn and spending a day in the village.

The Inn was FANTASTIC! The service, was impeccable, the rooms were gorgeous, and the view is to die for. We were graciously greeted everywhere we went within the Inn and attached village market also owned by the Inn. Coffee delivery to our room was a nice, thoughtful touch, even though we didn't really like the coffee. The only complaint we had was that the food was good, although we expected better. Not bad prices though.

The Fargo however, a local bar and grill also owned by the Inn, was not a very good experience. The service was OK, the food was alright, the portions tiny, and the prices OUTRAGEOUS for what you got.

I'd also stay away from Dories, if you're in the area. We went to this cute little coffee and ice cream cafe interested in dessert and lattes. We were not greeted when we walked in the door, we waited for at least 5 minutes until the girl working even acknowledged us, she was too busy chatting with a friend. The girl, Jessica, was extremely rood. An hour before closing time she basically refused to serve us because she was closing soon. We insisted, as this is the only place to get dessert and coffee in town, and she reluctantly gave in. She treated us as an annoyance our entire time here. She made my husbands latte wrong, and our desserts were stale. We will not be returning here.

We loved Bet The Farm, the village wine store. I adored Jane Morgan's Little House, a woman's clothing store and Mackenzie Childs, a pottery and furniture shop. All three places treated us like a king and queen!

Overall we has a fantastic, beautiful weekend, probably one of the best ever. There's nothing more beautiful than a sunset over Cayuga Lake!

  • Liked — I have never stayed anywhere so clean!
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

Fabulous place. Newly renovated rooms, large rooms, marble well-designed bathrooms. These are the second nicest rooms we have ever stayed in North America, nicer than any Westin or Fairmont (the nicest place we’ve ever stayed in was a boutique hotel in Old Montreal). Not sure how a place like this in a sleepy location can generate enough income to keep the place going. Although, we stayed on a Sunday and Monday night and it was fully-booked Sunday and nearly full on Monday. We also visited the JP Morgan House, the sister property a few houses down the road, and that’s even nicer albeit more staid and does not allow kids. Rooms are hard-wired for high-speed internet, big flat-screen TV (no surround-sound though), excellent furniture.

Coffee/tea/juice/muffins and newspaper are brought to all guest rooms each morning at your requested time. Nice touch.

Beautiful lawn that slopes down to the water. There are kayaks and a canoe for the guests. The reception staff will help you get into the kayak or canoe. Chairs and tables are at the water’s edge, nice place to hang out, read a book, and bring your own wine. There is a very good wine store 2 doors down from the Aurora Inn.

We had dinner at the Aurora Inn’s restaurant, excellent food and service, reasonably priced. However, the outdoor patio tables are quite dark in the evening, and we had some trouble seeing our food after it got dark. Just something to think about. The pretty bartenders did not charge our 12-year old son when he asked for sodas at the bar. Our rooms included breakfast and that was excellent too.

All the hotel parking is on the street in front, or on a side lot shared with other places and a post-office. Just a consideration in case you bring your Ferrari or other exotic. The town is quite safe and sleepy, my car wasn't the only fancy car parked on the street. If at the JP Morgan house, recommend you park on the grass as the parking lot is sloped and door dings are likely.

This is THE place to stay if visiting Ithaca, Cornell, or within 20 or so miles of the place. We would definitely stay again and recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet, romantic, or luxurious getaway.

  • Liked — Gorgeous rooms, quiet location.
  • Disliked — There isn't anything not to like.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Address: 391 Main Street, Aurora, NY 13026
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of Cayuga Lake amidst a tiny, heritage village in the heart of the Finger Lakes, the Aurora Inn and its lakeside dining room has a pedigree dating back to 1833. The original country inn has been impeccably restored to appeal to today's most discerning guests. The Aurora Inn has all the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with services and amenities that only a luxury hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Aurora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aurora Inn to your Saves list