We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Inn located in a Quiet Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aurora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aurora Inn
Save
You added Aurora Inn to your Saves list
391 Main Street, Aurora, NY 13026   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Aurora B&B and Inns
01720
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrific Inn located in a Quiet Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After reviewing locations on TripAdvisor for a week away 25th wedding anniversary I settled on the Aurora and room 4 as suggested. Simply put a very relaxing get away and terrific room and service. Morning coffee and muffins on a shared deck (no one but us on it all week) followed by the included breakfast and off we went for local golf, wine tasting and theater in nearby Auburn. The Inns restaurant options on site were great and the service very personal. Highly recommend. Staffing was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 4 as noted often is a great room. Whenever anyone asked what room we were in they stated we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    27
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
127
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spend a short stay at the Aurora Inn and we were not disappointed. The location is beautiful and the Inn is a blast from the past with all the current amenities. We stayed in room 1, the only room available when we booked. Room 1 was overlooking the main entrance of the Inn with a very sizable balcony and no noise at all. I am a very light sleeper and I did not hear a peep. Not from inside or outside. The room and bathroom are quite spacious. Sunset on the lake spectacular. We did enjoy dinner and the service in the restaurant. The complimentary water on arrival and chocolates with an inspirational note at turn down were a nice touch. We also appreciated the complimentary muffins, coffee, and tea delivered in a charming basket in the morning.

If the Aurora Inn was to improve on anything I would recommend 3 things.

1. The room is spacious enough to accommodate a King size bed and believe like me quests would appreciate that.
2. The extremely small TV is difficult to see. Too high, does not swivel, and in a strange location with the furniture arrangement.
3. The shower grout should be changed.

All in all we would return to the Aurora Inn without hesitation and plan to do so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We live in the Finger Lakes region of NY state. We are familiar with the village and Cayuga Lake...both are incredibly beautiful and you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for night life do not come here! The Aurora Inn is classy and traditional without being too stuffy. You won't want to wear your baseball hat at dinner but don't worry about a tie either...really beautifully furnished and the setting on the lake looks like something out of a movie. The restaurant could use a little tweeking however...not bad but pretty expensive and the service is slow. They are pleasant but I think under staffed...especially in the high months of summer...the food all the way around was not bad...but I was not leaving there dying to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Although the Aurora Inn was refurbished a decade ago, everything has a new, fresh appearance. Atmosphere: clubby and traditional. Room: spacious and appointed with luxe linens and beautiful furniture, complimentary bottles of Saratoga water on a silver tray. We chose the less costly 'village view' but it didn't feel as if we had compromised at all. Bathroom was also spacious with a handsome shower, plump towels and robes, and Aveda products. We were able to use inn mt bikes for a lakeside to winery ride one day after a menu breakfast included with the room. If there was one disappointment, it was the understaffed restaurant which made for slow service but the food was good and the wait staff was knowledgeable and friendly. All in all, this was a great value. I wished we had stayed one more night instead of choosing a seedy inn in downtown Ithaca at the same price. Drive from Aurora to Ithaca is about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Aurora Inn has always been a special escape weekend get away for us. The rooms and bathrooms are large and beautifully furnished. I did notice that there were a few minor details that weren't perfect- a drawer handle missing and the sink stopper pull was broken off. Each room has a large balcony which is perfect for enjoying a Finger Lakes wine. Breakfast is included in the room rate and can be eaten inside the dining room or outside. The breakfasts were delicious, but service was a little slow. Remember that you come here to relax and get away from the bustle of everyday life. We ate dinner in the dining room on a Thursday night and enjoyed the benefit of 1/2 price wine on Thursday. My Ahi tuna and my wife's lamb were well prepared. I thought the price was reasonable considering the quality of the food and its presentation. What can be better than eating outdoors and enjoying a beautiful sunset over Lake Cayuga.

Room Tip: Pick a lake view for the beautiful sunsets. The village view rooms have a same size balcony and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Plain, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was a birthday dinner for my wife, hotel was beautiful, staff great but dining was such a disappointment, very over priced, portion's so small that I had to stop to get something to eat on the way home. Would never go back or recommend this to anyone. No salad, everything ala-cart and over priced.

Room Tip: Eat before you go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

At the Aurora Inn we felt like being in a really good movie. If I had to put in one term, it would be "classy smoothness".
The place is just beautiful. It is quite luxurious, without being pompous.
The Inn is very welcoming. The staff is very courteous and helpful, including -and specially- those at the dining room.
The downstairs areas, and outdoors are great. I regret not having had the time to just spend the day wondering the place... but will return to do so.
The room was beautiful, with really nice pieces of furniture and decor, and great linens and bedding.
We had breakfast at the Inn everyday during our 3 day stay, and I enjoyed every one of them. Good choices, made to perfection.
One important note: if in a rush, do not stay here. You will not be happy, and you will ruin one of the best B&B experiences you can ever have.

Room Tip: Take whichever room they have. Aurora has no wrongs. Either facing the road or the lake, you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Address: 391 Main Street, Aurora, NY 13026
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of Cayuga Lake amidst a tiny, heritage village in the heart of the Finger Lakes, the Aurora Inn and its lakeside dining room has a pedigree dating back to 1833. The original country inn has been impeccably restored to appeal to today's most discerning guests. The Aurora Inn has all the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with services and amenities that only a luxury hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Aurora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.