We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chicken's Great!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tatoy's Manukan and Seafoods Restaurant

Tatoy's Manukan and Seafoods Restaurant
Villa Beach, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 160 Restaurants in Iloilo City
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The chicken's Great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

famous for their specialty native roasted chicken, and all you can eat seafood, This certainly completes my short trip to this city. With very reasonable prices, i would imagine eating here everyday if i were living in this area. You can opt to rent a private cottage on the beach front and dine with the cool sea breeze or in their huge spacious main dining area, which can accommodate hundreds of diners.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    23
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“I dont want to be Rude but clearly This is Over Rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

When we arrived at the Airport. everyone was like saying We must go to Tatoys because Blogs and Google say its the Best. They even have this BIG billboard at the arrival Hall. Ok so follow the Majority and we head to Tatoy on the next day. It is indeed famous so many people and everyone was after the Beach Side Gazebo. OK I was there, I tried the Lechon, The Inasal, Grilled Sea Food, I mentioned we Are a Foodie so ordered like 15 kinds of Dishes. Anyway, The food is nice, not bad at all BUT, its ordinary. It’s the same Food you usually Eat at Landmark Food Courts during office lunch break or those Budget Meals at SM Foodcourt during my Highschool Budgeted Barkada Trips. Anyway I am not saying it’s Bad, but it’s not something to regret if you failed to Try.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Go for the seafoods not the chicken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here since it's one of the should-try places in Iloilo. When we got there, we were a bit surprised (in a good way) since we didn't expect the place to be that big.

Anyways, we ordered lato, talaba and their famous chicken thinking that we couldn't finish a whole chicken. But when our orders were served, we giggled at the size of the chicken since the whole chicken fits into a small plate and when we ate it, there was barely meat to eat. Oh, I forgot to mention that the very small chicken was Php 310.00. Sooooo not worth it! We should have known better.

On the good side, their talaba is good. The cheese they use really complemented the seafood.

And the staff are also accomodating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“over-rated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just as we landed, straight from the airport we went straight to Tatoy's which is located in Baybay, we never knew then that there are already branches all over town. We went to experience the local chicken grilled stuffed with spices... I was disappointed with the grilled chicken, it was not as I expected it to be. The fish broth was not delicious also.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“.... well,"average" for .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

..... for a local place/local guests (famous), food may ? be fresh, but mostly "cold" (as usual!, ok for local guests), no vegetables, no desserts, MANY FLIES (all over), it's a Beach Place .......

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatoy's Manukan and Seafoods Restaurant also viewed

Iloilo City, Iloilo Province
Iloilo City, Iloilo Province
 
Iloilo City, Iloilo Province
 

Been to Tatoy's Manukan and Seafoods Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatoy's Manukan and Seafoods Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.