We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine. There are better hotels elsewhere.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sylvia Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sylvia Manor to your Saves list
The Sylvia Manor
NS Ocana Building 2 | San Juan Street, Bacolod, Negros Occidental 6200, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Just fine. There are better hotels elsewhere.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

DATE OF TRAVEL: March 5 - 7, 2011

GOOD:
- Location is centrally-located
- Buffet Breakfast
- Good service

BAD:
- Rooms are small
- Noisy streets can be heard in the room
- Too pricey for such poor ammenities

This hotel can be promising. They need improvements in their rooms. I'm very particular with cleanliness and beddings. If I'm asked to pay alot, I expect to get quality service and better facilities.

I recommend this hotel for business travellers who needs convenience.

Not recommended for very choosy travellers :)

Not recommended for budget travellers.

Bacolod is a good & peaceful place. I enjoyed my stay & will definitely go back... But will try other hotels with better rooms & ammenities.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms facing the street. Very Noisy. Request rooms with windows as some dont have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
16
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarpsborg, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

this is a nice hotel with clean rooms and an very good service....god food also...a place to recomand .....

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

You can probably get more for your money elsewhere, but this place is okay in a pinch :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

I was disappiointed with my stay in TSM.i booked and paid the hotel 2 months in advance to ensure i have a room this weekend.Location is superb, near sm city and close to the plaza. I got in at 1pm which is nice of them to let me checkin earlier.
When i got in the room,the horror begins.i know what a boutique hotel is but this is definitely not one them,not even close to it. No mini-bar,no face towel,the only toilettries is a shampoo and soap,no handsoap,used tissue roll,hairdryer,toothpaste,lousy cabinet without a door,outdated television,bad curtains.
I got all these in other hotels at a lower price and My flat looks way better than this. And i requested for late checkout for only 20mins and they charged me hundred bucks for it.some customer service.
Dont believe everything in their site.for me,it was a total rip-off.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed in July, 2011 and we chose it for location. Fairly new and near center of town, park and SM Mall. Standard rooms are small. Go for mid- upper price level rooms. Bathroom hot water not working most of the time. Bathrooms lack countertop-- no place to put toiletries. No face cloths. Lots of noise in rooms from roosters and street. Filipino breakfast adequate, not above that. Service is good. Laundry is extremely expensive. Walking distance to SM Mall.

Room Tip: Ask for side street facing room, not front. Choose mid or upper price room. Ask to see room before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hotel lobby was small, but I felt like I was in a 5 star hotel because of how the Hotel Staff was so great with their service.

Aesthetically, having the coffee shop, bar, and reception all in one place, hotel still looked good. There was a distinct division between one function to another.

As for the room, we stayed in a Standard room which only has twin-beds. It would have been better for the hotel to provide similar rates, but with double beds or larger. Matress, by the way, was of good quality as well. From another review, I recall, he cited that the A/C unit was a bit noisy. I confirm that it was, but it wasn't bothersome for me.

Finally, aside from the great hotel staff, I particularly like where the hotel was situated. It was near the "usual" places one would go to when he is in Bacolod.

Buffet breakfast had only two kinds of dishes.

Kudos to Sylvia Manor!

Room Tip: Check the A/C of your room for noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Stayed here for a night in a Superior Room.

Pros: Service was A++, there's free wifi in the lobby and in the rooms as well. Waiters at the breakfast buffet at Cafe Felice are very friendly, really really prompt in attending to our needs. We got to try their room service and it was good too. Front desk people -- whatever shift, give the level of good ol' service.

Cons: The room is not as nice as pictured on their website. There were lots of tiny ants in the side table when we got there (and I dont like ants). The aircon's position is weird as it is leveled with the beds. I didn't like the bathroom.

Overall -- still good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sylvia Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sylvia Manor

Address: NS Ocana Building 2 | San Juan Street, Bacolod, Negros Occidental 6200, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Bacolod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sylvia Manor opened its doors to Bacolod City as the first and only boutique hotel in the city. Boasting 50 rooms and suites, the hotel caters to both business and leisure travelers alike. Guests have always enjoyed the warm smiles, attentive service and personal detail that is unique to Negrense hospitality. It was also recently adjudged as the Best Hotel "Standard Class" by the Department of Tourism - Philippines for Western Visayas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Sylvia Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sylvia Manor Hotel Bacolod
Sylvia Manor Bacolod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sylvia Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.