We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Architectural Masterpiece!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguerta Home of the Vintage Glasses Museum

Laguerta Home of the Vintage Glasses Museum
Brgy. Sum-ag, Bacolod, Negros Occidental, Philippines
639173098895
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Attractions in Bacolod
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Architectural Masterpiece!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a must see, not only the museum but the building and design, some of this to my understanding built from re-cycled rocks and materials. The grounds are an art museum in themselves. Any in the green movement definately needs to see this.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Glass History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

One quiet ride in the town of Sum-ag in Bacolod, it is a pleasant surprise for any traveller to see the glass collection of Tomiko Casiano. I don't know much of people who collects various glass art works but it is definite Mr. Casiano deserves a recognition of his priceless possessions and available for viewing by the public.

I don't usually write on blogs and do reviews but this one surely deserves a good acknowledgement on Mr. Casiano's collection. One should take a look at his collection from the depression period of the US (in various colors) to opalescent and carnival glasses.

His valuable treasure among all his collection?....ask him...I will let you have that chance to know that too and the history behind it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“a unique personal collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

After working in the US for so many years, this collector came home to Bacolod at his retirement. His collection of depression glasses was brought home by boxes, carefully and personally packed by himself. This is a very unique personal collection since there is no one else who collected this in this grandeur, says the collector. You would see glassed in different hues, sizes and shapes.
Since this this is a private collection, guests are advised to set an appointment before visiting. For now there is no entrance fee but donations for the upkeep of the place is encouraged.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Outstanding Collection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is one of the latest attraction near Bacolod City. The Tourism Officer from the capitol building recommended this place and we we're not disappointed. It took us 2 public utility rides to reach Sum-Ag and just a heads up, since this is a new place, nobody really knows where this is. It is about 20-30 minutes away from the city and the nearest landmark that I can remember is that it is near Sum-Ag Elementary School and the police station at the left side of the road.
We arrived around 430PM and the gate was closed. We searched for a door bell to no avail. We saw a carpenter (?) and asked if we can go in. He said without an appointment, we cannot. We were very eager to see this place as we traveled this far and the place really looks nice and inviting from the outside so, I knocked at the other gate. A guy came out and we told him that we wanted to see the museum. At first he looked irritated and told us that we were late and we didn't make an appointment. We pleaded and it turned out that the guy we've been talking to all along is the owner himself!
Anyway, he said that his museum closes at 4PM but he let us in after much begging from us (really, we begged :P) YEY for puppy eyes!...
His name is Tomiko C. Casiano. A floral designer in Beverly Hills, USA and after spending a long time in the USA, he decided to return to Bacolod for good and inaugurated the museum on December 12, 2012 (thus the numbers 12-12-12 placed on his gate). While working as a floral designer, it was when he fell in love with glass that he started collecting pieces. Over the years, he would send home some of the items until he accumulated a collection of over 2,000 (!!) glass pieces including dinnerware, Victorian lamps, decorative objects, decanters and commemorative plates of different hues and intricate designs. Almost 95% of his collection came from the USA and were acquired in a span of 20 years.
The glasses include depression glasses, which are colored glassware made primarily during the depression years in the US from 1904-1940 in green, pink, red, yellow, amber, ruby and fire, cobalt blue, aquamarine and delphite (opaque blue glass). He also has vaseline glasses, Jadite, a type of uranium glass that appears in shades of pale green. Milk, an opaque or translucent, or milky white colored glass, blown or pressed into a wide variety of shapes. Opalescent glasses, which are actually 2 layers of glasses - one colored and the other clear, and his favorite, carnival glasses which are iridescent glasses usually pattern-molded and treated with metallic salts.
These glasses are housed at the second floor and the room is equipped with a CCTV for security. At the edge of the balcony, water cascades down the front of the building, providing a natural cooling system for the first floor where it used to have a coffee shop.
Mr. Tomiko decided to build the museum in a 2-storey building because his extensive collection could no longer fit in his house. The place can also be a venue for special occasions as it has a wide garden where you can hear the rush of water and chirping of birds. He is also very fond of recycling (check out the exterior walls at the 2nd floor) and has very good taste judging from the surroundings.
Visiting time is from 10AM-4PM. Tuesday to Sundays. He doesn't charge an entrance fee but donations are welcome. Don't forget to call or email him for an appointment :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laguerta Home of the Vintage Glasses Museum also viewed

 
Bacolod, Negros Occidental
Bacolod, Negros Occidental
 

Been to Laguerta Home of the Vintage Glasses Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguerta Home of the Vintage Glasses Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.