We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Suites

Save Saved
You added Avenue Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avenue Suites
12th Lacson St, Bacolod 6100 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 hotels in Bacolod
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Pros:
- good location, walking distance to many
nice restaurants, easy accessible to all modes of transportation
- new hotel, great room, clean and quiete
- free breakfast
- free wifi, LCD TV
- very friendly staff, always smiling and ready to lend a hand

Cons:
-like the common complain from the other reviewer, the elevator doors closes too soon. May cause injury to babies or kids. They need to adjust the sensitivity of the door sensor asap.

Room Tip: Overall, my family really enjoyed our entire stay (5 nights) in this hotel. Makes my visit after 9yr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    22
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
7
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at executive room with balcony with 2 free massage and 2 breakfast buffet never mind the unlimmited brewed coffee! Well, the room is spacious, the beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is ok. The spa? Average. The receptionist is not friendly. Service crew, they just put open glass of water at the counter top for those who needs water after the sauna. It's very unsanitary! And if you need something, you can't find them! Therapist needs more training. They seems to be not aware of the etiquette. How about the breakfast? It's terrible! " Sister, whats this butter or margarine?" she replied "MARGARINE!" Sorry, I forgot the taste of margarine!

Anyway, the location is very good!

Room Tip: executive room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Pros--value for money,very good location,close to many good restaurants,very comfortable beds,helpful reception staff and housekeeping personnel,free wifi good connection,

Cons--Elevator doors close very fast could hurt kids, breakfast is 6:30 to 10a.m but at 9 a.m there was hardly any food left on the buffet table.Food refills need to be prompt, service needs to be improved in this area.
Overall our family enjoyed our stay will recommend to friends and will come back but hope food service improves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay in Avenue Suites in Bacolod. This hotel opened last year and i would recommend this hotel for its very good location in Lacson Street. It has lots of restaurants nearby like Shakeys, Shabuniku, the famous Calea, Pancake House and a lot more. there is also a 24 hour convenience store besides the hotel. We got a superior deluxe room and we were happy to have 2 double beds. This room can be occupied by 4 Asian persons. there is small fridge and a flat screen TV with lots of channels and free coffee and mineral water. Shower has very good pressure and with hot and cold water. They provide free soap and shampoo but no toothbrushes. The best thing i love in this hotel is their comfortable beds and quality pillows and their aircon is really cool but they could improve it more if they could put a reading bedside lamp. We had free buffet breakfast at the 5th floor and the food is good and clean, coffee and juices are unlimited. there is also a Spa on the 5th floor that opens from 12noon to night time but unfortunately we were not able to try their services as they were fully booked. I would like to suggest that the hotel have more personnel in the reception area especially near check out times as their was only one staff manning the reception desk when we check out so we have to wait for a few minutes before we were attended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am an American who visits Bacolod regularly with my American-born Filipino husband, so we have stayed at quite a few hotels on Negros. This is the nicest shower we've encountered, as it has both a rainfall shower head and a handheld one. The controls for the shower took a little experimenting to figure out, but once we did, there was plenty of hot water. (I take a long time to wash my hair, so if the hot water lasts for me, it will probably be sufficient for anyone.) Also, the towels were nice and soft, though I wish they provided wash cloths. Another other strong positive was the king-sized bed, something which is hard to find on Negros. Upon closer inspection, it turned out to be 2 single beds put together, but they were put together so well it was hardly noticeable.

On the negative side, the breakfast buffet lacked variety, and certain practices were not consistent with food safety. (Hot foods need to be kept really hot, whereas cold foods should be kept really cold.) Another negative was that on our second day there, the fire alarm went off. As we hurried down the stairs, we encountered a hotel employee standing in one of the hallways. When I asked him if the there was a fire, he told me that they were just testing the fire alarm. Most hotels provide their guests with written notice ahead of time when they test the fire alarms. Like other reviewers, we experienced the elevator doors snapping closed if you don't step out quickly enough.

Like most hotels, they offer free wifi access. Their login process is easy and straightforward. Simply use the access code they give you. On the plus side, they don't require a username and password like other hotels in Bacolod that expire after a few days. Unfortunately, the router relay on our floor seemed to have gone out, and I had to go to other floors or the lobby to access the wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucena City, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The price is reasonable.
The hotel lobby is big, airy and well-lighted, with a big mirror to preen on. The seats in the lobby are comfortable. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. There are always security guards and assistants around.
The room is average-sized. It is a little bit dim for my taste. The comfort room is average-sized but the hotel did not provide free toiletries and slippers.
The location is good. It is a few meters' away from other hotels like L Fisher. There are so many good restaurants in Bacolod City and the hotel is near many good restaurants and convenience stores.
The buffet breakfast is basic fare. The waiters are not very prompt in replenishing the food on the buffet table.
The city is clean and one feels safe walking around it. People are generally friendly and many are always smiling.
If I go back to Bacolod City, I will probably check in Avenue Suites again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I forgot to tell you about the elevators not having appropriate sensors thus closing on you. Also there is minimal to no hot water even though the shower is good. The location is very good. There are ocean views but it appears polluted. Housekeeping is terrible.

Room Tip: The side rooms are quieter. The elevator has no people sensors so be careful they closed on me twice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avenue Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites

Address: 12th Lacson St, Bacolod 6100 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Bacolod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 hotels in Bacolod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Avenue Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.