We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"nature lover? go mambucal resort"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mambukal Mountain Resort

Mambukal Mountain Resort
Minoyan, Murcia, Bacolod, Negros Occidental, Philippines
+63-2-4337532, +63-2-9282101, +63-2-9295671
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Bacolod
Type: Resort Communities, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visited February 2009. Roughly 30-45 minutes south of Bacolod City. It’s a good idea to rent out transportation for the day, leave early in the morning for Mambukal, and then come back in the afternoon/evening. We rented out a jeepney for roughly 2,000 pesos and brought some food to cook. There’s quite a bit to do here at Mambukal, all on cash basis, with relatively low fees. Per the website: Hotel Rooms, Water Falls, Swimming Pools, Function Hall, Therapeutic Warm Dipping Pool, Picnic Huts, Overnight Cottages, Food Court, Bat Watching, Boating, Wall Climbing, Slide for Life, Canopy Walk, and Camping Ground.http://www.mambukalhaven.com/location.htmlFirst we rented one of the picnic huts and started cooking. After we ate, we checked out the water fall, swimming pool, therapeutic warm dipping pool, boating lagoon and bat watching ….Picnic Huts – Nice views with a stand to grill and a sink wash your hands. The water comes directly from the falls.Water Fall – I’d say about it’s about a 30 minute hike to the first waterfall, over uneven ground and a single pipe railing to hold on to. Certainly a workout, I wouldn’t recommend this to the less-adventurous. There are a total of 6 or 7 waterfalls you can hike to, each one a less safe hike than the one before. You should at least hike to the first waterfall, it will be worth the trip. Bat Watching – You can see the bats hanging down from the tall trees in the distance from just about anywhere on the resort. They have specific ‘bat watching’ signs though, on the route to the first waterfall. Boating – You can rent a kayak for 30 minutes to an hour, good for 5 or 6 people per kayak. Life vests and two paddles are provided. Nice lagoon, lots of fun and good exercise. Swimming Pool – Cool water, large pool area. Like any other swimming pool except that this water is from the falls!Therapeutic Warm Dipping Pool – Like a hot shower on a cold day, but in ‘pool’ form. If you’re not used to the hot water just give your body time to adjust and sink lower and lower …. The resort was lots of fun, don’t forget the suntan lotion. Easily took up a whole day. A must visit if you are in Negros!
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“"nature lover? go mambucal resort"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Its was in the early 80's the first time i went to mambucal resort, managed then by goverment and i stayed at honeybee motel along the highway from the airport that time.from there you can go straight from airport or honeybee motel to mambucal murcia... it was so beautiful then.mambucal is booming that time to its peak.

Second visit early 90's...honeybee motel is gone and mambucal was ruin not so pleasent anymore.

Third visit, 2012...the place changed a lot...privately owned...they have butterfly gardens, you can kayak on lagoon and the 12 magnificient falls have already guides, unlike before...you climb at your own risk. Shops of flowers aline the well renovated streets towards the short bridge. Have 3 swimming pools (pool curfew at 10pm and open at 7am, there lots of small eatery offers different foods and drinks, public washrooms are now accesible...acommodations improved alot, its clean and safe. All airconditions and boiling mud and sulfur lake are still around which is not man-made...really wonder of nature (we used to dip chicken there before back in 80's to remove feathers and grilled it for lunch)

To get there, the jeep terminal located in libertad market, near UNOR University. Fare is cheap less than 100php for a less than an hour ride.. Entrance in mambucal is cheap, less than 50php, per pax... rooms are cheap depends on what type of accommodations you want... they have family rooms with 3 doubledeck inside, some of the accommodations are like small houses in front of lagoon... you can go hiking,biking,jogging,etc...they have mud pack festival too...

Mambucal resort is so nice that is cheap and in budget place to go but the experience is so amazing that you would not expect you got it in just a small price.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    81
    20
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iloilo City, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We'll definitely come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were only able to visit for half a day. The kids enjoyed the pool. My husband and I enjoyed the dipping pool. There are lots of activities to do for the whole family. We'll surely go back next time to explore some more places there especially the seven falls, and we will try the zipline as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Mambukal Resort is highly recommended, especially if you are a nature lover. The place is nicely designed for shorts walks and tours and a lot of recreational activities after the tour. The zipline, however is too short. But immersing in a sulphur pool is very relaxing and the body massage after, bliss.

Worth another visit. Next time I will stay in one of their nice cottages. The park is well-managed and clean.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Tips:
- Ride a Bacolod-Mambukal mini bus (P50/pax) at Libertad Terminal in Bacolod City. Taxi from L'Fisher to the Terminal is around P70. Be early. Trip takes 1 hour due to many bus stops. The bus stops right infront of the Mambukal Resort gate.
- Eat a heavy meal before trekking the falls. We ate breakfast at Jean's Place, one of the concessionaires in the the resort's food court. Food is good and affordable.
- A tour guide approached us near the admin office where we paid the accommodation fee. I think guides are normally found in the entrance area to the falls. Our guide was clever enough to look for potential customers. Better to accept guide's offer for habal habal ride up to the 7th falls. Habal habal ride costs P150 for 2pax (initially the guide mentioned P50/pax). It's a motorcycle ride with the driver and 2 passengers. So it may be a bit scary since the ride is bumpy and uphill. However, riding a habal habal up to the 7th falls will make the trek down to the 1st falls easier.
- Wear trekking shoes or sandals that can get wet. Trail can be slippery.
- Apply an anti-mosquito repellant lotion and sunblock. If you have sensitive skin, better to wear a thin long sleeved shirt.
- Bring bottled water. Bring loose change if you want to leave donation to several people who take care of the falls area.
- The resort changes the water in the pools/springs every Tuesday afternoon. Expect clean water for dipping on Wednesdays.

As for the accommodation, since we were only there for a day visit, we only got a cheap room with CR so that we can keep our valuables and have a place to shower and change as well. We opted for an ordinary room in the TOURIST LODGE (P600/night). I ADVISE YOU NOT TO STAY HERE OVERNIGHT. The place is old, rundown, a bit far, and haunted. We had an eerie feeling while inside the lodge. The only positive thing about the lodge is that our belongings/valuables were kept safe and that there was running water for showering. Better to just rent an LGU cottage (newer than the lodge), location of which is more central.

We also dipped in the hot springs/warm dipping pool beside the Blade Spa and near the entrance/exit to the 1st falls. Water is a bit dirty but the warmth relieved our painful legs after trekking.

We had late lunch at Enting's. Food was good and affordable also.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A Very Good Hiking Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Tips. Be there early, get a guide, bring some money to buy water or soda along the way (i suggest not to bring your own water as the hike, specially going to the 3rd waterfall is the most difficult. And besides, you can help the locals earn some money :) Protect yourself from mosquitoes and other insects, apply OFF lotion or citronella balm. In my case, i wore a rash guard and 3/4 tights capri leggings. Wear aqua shoes. Socks are optional (it will get dirty and wet for sure). On the way down, you will pass by a natural spring water overflowing, go get yourself a refreshing drink. Talk to the locals when you can. Ask questions. Catch your breath. Tip your guide. He deserves it. Enjoy the scenery. I conquered the 7th falls, it felt good and i'm proud of it. Just GO!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mambukal Mountain Resort also viewed

 

Been to Mambukal Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mambukal Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.