We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences
corner of Araneta & Roxas streets, Bacolod, Negros Occidental 6100, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Hamilton Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“we loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

stayed there to catch up with some friends we found the staff super efficent and very friendly,the room was very clean and as we had three small children with us we had a room with two singles an a queen.
location was a little out of the way but gasano mall was only a short stroll away.we loved the pool but the breakfast buffet was a bit ordinary and expensive for what was on offer,ove.rall the hotel was rather well presented and i would stay again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    19
    10
    10
See reviews for
12
18
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We've just stayed in the Planta for 10 days. I believe it's my third time there...Arrived to find that our Agoda reservation had vanished for some odd reason (suspect the hotel lost it - but not sure) and the hotel was full. We did however manage to get room 221 the very last room.....you can call it the 'cruel room'. The guy who arrived a minute afterward who was searching for a room was sent on his way (there was a national sports stadium events and a food festival in Bacolod at the same time). However....room 221....that is where exorcisms are held...the noise of the air-conditioner and the outside plant machinery - sends Satan far far away. It is so loud in that room that I had actual low-level ear pain....Of course we complained immediately, and were told that we'd get another room as soon as one was vacant. True to their word, we got a very nice room around noon the next day...much quieter, comfortable, and very pleasant (room 239). And this is where I may diverge a little from other reviews. The staff are first rate! Everyone we dealt with in that hotel are superb - helpful, cooperative, friendly, just plain nice. What is a letdown is the penny-pinching of the hotel ownership. The hotel section is almost a second cousin to the event-hosting that the hotel is likely more locally renowned for. It seemed almost every night there was a debutante event, wedding reception, conferences etc. It's a beautiful building with good parking and it does get a lot of this event business. The letdowns from a hotel standpoint are threadbare towels, worn out bed coverings, poor A/C outside the rooms....and even in the rooms the A/C/s are miserable window units (not splits) with more noise than a modern hotel should have. The wireless is verging on hopeless.....slow and for some odd reason...anything with a password (mail, facebook, etc.) was diverted to some odd sites which led me to believe there was something sinister with their wireless provider. I just used a locally bought SMART wireless modem ( cost about 1250 pesos at SMART shop in the SM mall) and was happy with that.
Pluses.....Breakfast is still great! Wonderful value, one free with every room. For my wife it was under 300 pesos extra - but you can fill up and the food is very good. We noticed that at dinner time hardly anyone was eating there. There are a lot of great places to eat in Bacolod true....we did some ourselves....but do give their crew a try! We ate there several nights...the prices are on a par with Bacolod restaurants.....but the food is dead-set absolutely superb - even by those high Bacolod standards. The service is perfect.... and it would be a mistake not to give them a try. Housekeeping is fine too and always cooperative.
Final verdict - fair rooms, great staff, fantastic restaurant. Plenty of competition in Bacolod now and the management needs to make their rooms better or see their customers move on to other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

have always stayed here but this time what a change after drinking a bottle of water from the fridge i became that bad i was rushed to hospital were i spent 5 days the cost was £900.00 bill the hotel should check bottle seals after all a bottle of water is only 25 pes

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Will Never Again Stay Here – Hotel - Average, Staff - good, DESK staff - RUDE/ DISRESPECTFUL

Hotel is average, stayed twice in the hotel on December 2009 and May 2010, in 2009 we stayed one night only in hotel best room & on May 2010 we book again the best room they have and along with it are complimentary breakfast. And I had an experience in Desk staff where I have to wait to long just to get the voucher card for two for complimentary Breakfast and plus that staffs is so rude/disrespectful its looks like you are the one begging for that Complimentary Breakfast card which is not good in front line business of the Hotel, following with that we had a disgusting breakfast as they don’t know how to make a toast bread. There are some waiters that are disrespectful and do nothing,, all they do is look and gossip. And takes to long to make a soup and sandwiches, where there is no else in the restaurant waiting. Computer should be faster and cover for the car spaces as the car get too hot.

The staff, chef, especially the Desk Staff should have seminars and trainings, desk staff should be more respectful, friendly to the costumers as they are in Front Line Business of the Hotel, they should offer a professionalism and good character to the costumers.

The Hotel should provide enough Towels and toilet paper, and shower should be renewed and as well complimentary purified water as the water is not safe to drink. Hotel management should not provide cheap quality shampoo, soap and slippers as well the plastic cups for coffee which is not fear, and its like a penny pinching attitude, If Planta Centro Hotel management want to provide a GOOD QUALITY SERVICE to their client/costumers they should take actions to all the complain. Hotel management should give more priority to their costumer and Quality service, without us/clients the business is nothing.

Will we Stay Again? NO, I had a Disgusting experience, and I would NOT RECOMMEND it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Great room for the price! The only problem was that we checked in and there was some sort of event right downstairs from us that started right after we got settled in for bed! We of course were not happy with this and tried to ignore it at first, finally it became unbearable since the music was causing the room to vibrate. The staff made it easy for us to change rooms and once we were far away from the event we were happy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Planta Hotel is just one of those typical hotels. The rooms are a bit expensive compared to the amenities they offer. The standard room where we stayed has really nothing to offer but the comfortable bed. One thing I particularly didn't like is the bathroom. When you shower, the floor outside the shower area also gets wet. The internet connection was also slow. On the better side, they got a pool and when we checked out later than the check out time, they didn't charge us extra. The location of the hotel is very proximate to a big mall and Bacolod's night life district.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paranaque
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

There was just a slight misunderstanding during our first day. We booked a deluxe room however it was late when we found out that the room we were occupying was just a standard room. This was okay given the fact that they exceptionally allowed us to check in early. We were already in the hotel at around 7am.

Breakfast - not that good

Restaurant dishes. - YUMMY! I can live eating in the hotel restaurant

Room - quite spacious... super love our inter connecting rooms

Staff - restaurant staff and security guards are polite and friendly; staff in the reception area needs improvement though in terms of how they deal with their customers (they may ask for tips from the restaurant staff and security guards Ü)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences

Address: corner of Araneta & Roxas streets, Bacolod, Negros Occidental 6100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Bacolod
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel And Residences
Planta Centro Hotel Bacolod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.