We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photo op with Mc Arthur!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leyte Landing Memorial

Leyte Landing Memorial
Red Beach, Barangay Candahug | Naturephilippine. Com, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 61 Attractions in Leyte Island
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Leyte Landing Memorial is a memorial to the landing of American General Douglas MacArthur and his men at Red Beach. The memorial was erected in tribute to MacArthur’s fulfillment of his promise to return to the Philippines after it was occupied by the Japanese during World War II in the Philippines.
Manila
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Photo op with Mc Arthur!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Because our hotel is The Continental which used to be the Mc Arthur Hotel, we pass by this monument coming in and out of our hotel, so to have a souvenir of Mc Arthur I had to have a photo with him since he is part of our history.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tacloban, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“MacArthur Monument”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

nice place and cool and one of the tourist attraction place and good to visit along with ur family too

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting statue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The monument shows the moment when MacArthur, and the then Philippines president returned to the Philippines. MacArthur was a showman and achived this with a number press men in attendence. It is an iconic image.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The monument is clean and really good for photos. After reading the markers and picture-taking, our family went near the beach, sat for a while and talked of time gone past. We had a great time bonding on history. :)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
252 attraction reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
448 helpful votes 448 helpful votes
“Great memorial to look back to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This served as an inspiration to the Filipinos. "I shall return." And Gen Douglas Mc Arthur returned.
A beautiful park. Nice place to be with the family at weekend. Breezy and clean. The sea is just close but remember it is already the Leyte gulf that connected to the same current of the Pacific ocean way far east.

I am glad we came here and the children of my sister was truly enjoying there time.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leyte Landing Memorial also viewed

Tacloban, Leyte Province
Leyte Island, Visayas
 
Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province
 

Been to Leyte Landing Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leyte Landing Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.