We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insufficient room service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Airport Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Insufficient room service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here twice for a the past 2 years since its the nearest hotel to Cebu international airport.. But on our last stay I was not that impressed anymore. We paid for almost $200 for a room that has a leaking toilet bowl. It took us sometime to find our room since no butler or any room boy to lead us. The room was clean and spacious but not the shower room.. Well the bath tub is all good for a relaxing bath. I was just disappointed when I can't find shower cups at the en suite bathroom.. I just hope the hotel's staffs will check thoroughly the room before
giving it to their guests. The 2 42 inch TV's in our room was quite impressive but not all channels were available. If you are on connecting or early flights from Cebu this is the perfect place for you since the airport is just only across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TetFernandez, General Manager at Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Billeah10,

We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate incidents which occurred during your stay with us. Rest assured that these comments are well taken by the management to improve our services. We are currently doing refurbishments in the hotel’s guestrooms to provide a more relaxing stay to our guests and patrons. In line with your comment with the shower cap, it’s not part of the bathroom amenities offered by the hotel but should guests require, we have them upon request. As for the television channels, we assure you that this will be brought to the attention of our cable service provider.

We thank you for bringing these to our attention and we hope these will not deter you from patronizing the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    96
    54
    23
    12
See reviews for
30
42
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cote Saint-Luc, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

made an early check in around 00:35 hours and desk billed me for a days worth and placed me at a smoking room and the cost is more than the non smoking room i reserved online. Then they say theyll look if theres a vacant non smoking room for my actual days stay.
Washing sink drain is broken, toilets flush dont work quite well, and the shower is outdated. Lifts old, facilities old. Boy, good thing i did not stay for more than 36 hours.
And when you pay by card, they bill you in local currency in which is more than the amount actual exchange rate in USD is. If you pay in USD cash, they'll change you in local currency wherein the value is way less than the rate at the airport. In which exchange is too low too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TetFernandez, General Manager at Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Vayechi J,

Thank you for leaving a comment regarding your experience during your stay. We were able to look into the comments you’ve made on the services rendered to you. Check in is at 2:00 PM and check out is at 12:00 noon. With the details you’ve given, 00:35 hour is considered late check in and automatically tagged as an overnight stay. Further, the rates vary on room categories and not on their preference of smoking or non-smoking rooms. This preference is subject to availability and given without a cost. We are on the verge of having our systems upgraded in a manner that foreign currencies will be included in the program used by our cashiers.

We hope this information would be helpful with your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozamiz City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Me and my family stayed here when we arrived from Seoul at 2am in Cebu. We booked to stay here due to its stone's throw away distance from the airport. The service was great as the staff was very helpful with our bags and our check-in was a breeze. The hotel was a bit outdated though but still the location was perfect for us. i would stay here again if we have another trip with lay-overs.

Room Tip: higher floors have great views of the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TetFernandez, General Manager at Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Michael,

Thank you for choosing Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino as your temporary home during your stay in Cebu. We are currently doing some upgrades in terms of facilities to serve you better. We will be delighted to see you again on your next visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is on walking distance from the arport terminal, but there is a pickn up and drop off service.
The rooms are big enough for a pleasant stay and you don't hear the sound of the airplanes..
The bed(s) are comfortable and there is a spacious bathroom.
There is a mini bar and the hotel offers you 2 free botles of water, coffee and thea.
In the room there is wifi and a big flatscreen tv with a selection of international tv programs.
There are different type of restaurants; the one my wife and I ate offers a dinner and breakfast buffet.
Starting from this hote,l you can plan some trips, but by me it's chosen because it's so close to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Front office staff don't know how to smile and welcome guests. So not a great first impression.
Location is great if you prefer walking to and from the airport, and don't go anywhere else.
Rooms are ok but everything is old. Working desk and chair aren't comfortable to sit more than five minutes.
Restaurant staff is the best, but food takes forever to prepare.
Spa is overpriced!
Internet access in the room is unstable and slow. The main reason I'm never going back.
Can't borrow iron. And laundry people can't follow simple instructions like 'iron and put on hanger'. And never pick up their phone.
Concierge staff is very helpful.
There's no such thing as a Duty Manager.
Just one of those classic hotels where everyone needs serious training, top to bottom.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Though right next to the airport we had to ask about 5 people and eventually found our way in via the car park rather than carry are bags up the stairs. This probably should reflect badly non us and our sense of direction rather than the hotel. The room was nice and the staff very helpful only wish wed had chance to try the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

When they say that this hotel is 'a stone's throw from the Airport' they really weren't kidding. You can't get closer. You cross the street after exiting from the Arrival Terminal, and you're there. If you're transiting Cebu, it can't get more convenient than this.

With the inaugural Ironman 70.3 Cebu Philippines getting well deserved rave reviews, I will write this with my fellow triathletes who are thinking of coming to the 2013 edition in mind.

Full disclosure: I only took this hotel because of all the official Ironman hotels, this was the cheapest, and the event hotel itself (where the swim start was), the Shangri-la Mactan, was fully booked.

As mentioned before, location is directly across the airport so you can literally roll your bike box over to the lobby, build the bike and be out cycling in Cebu in less than 15 minutes.

There is a shuttle from the Waterfront to Shangri-la Mactan and that was a great convenience for my wife and kids. For me it was a leisurely 8km bike ride.

Room was spacious, amenities were simple but not lacking, service was great but its what I always expect when in the Philippines as the people there are probably the warmest and friendliest on earth. Lunch / breakfast at the hotel all day dining was good (although the breakfast was better) and surprisingly cheap.

There were glitches in my booking as the first room they gave me, which they called 'deluxe pool view' or something, was actually unsuitable as it was a walk up, and the narrow corridor made it very difficult to negotiate carrying my bike. The second room was in the main building but on a smoking floor, which was an absolute NO for me. The third room hit the spot. Fortunately I had gone a few hours ahead of my family, or else transferring rooms 3 times would have been a huge hassle. I was in race mode at the time so I didn't really let this unexpected snafu ruin my mood. The staff were also quite helpful and apologetic about it all so that helped.

Final Verdict: If you are going for the race, stay at the Shangri-la because the convenience of actually staying at the race site is worth the extra $35 or so per night. If youre seeking a convenient and cheaper alternative, this hotel is good as long as you don't expect a super-luxurious stay.

Room Tip: There are two Waterfront Hotels in Cebu, so when getting a taxi from elsewhere, be sure to specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino

Address: 1 Airport Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand jewel glitters in front of the Mactan Cebu International Airport to greet landing tourists. Convenience meets luxury at the Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino that boasts of 164 well-appointed rooms and suites, replete with modern facilities and amenities. Our 24-hour Business Center caters to the transient businessman with its highly-efficient secretarial services, WiFi internet access, and modern meeting facilities. Redefine culinary sophistication when you sample our sumptuous gustatory delights in any of our four restaurants, or win big in our 24-hour casino. At the Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino, a grand welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Airport Hotel Lapu Lapu
Waterfront Airport Hotel And Casino Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.