We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Engano, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Moevenpick Resort & Spa Cebu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A cool hotel/resort with fantastic, attentive staff, great restaurants and a good little private beach with a netted sea-swimming area with plenty of tropical fish to see.
Their evening nightlife decking area offers an awesome churrascaria and some live entertainment.
The only gripe was that the rooms are fairly small considering the high price. So I guess if you want a larger room, pay even more.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    153
    88
    35
    24
See reviews for
126
176
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went there with my kids shortly after Holy Week so the hotel was full. I just wanted a change from the usual Shang and THAT was a big mistake. This hotel is not quite there starting from reception and check in, to its restaurants and even tour desk. There is water damage, cracks on the walls, slow service and so on my holiday could've really been ruined if I didn't keep it together and just really lower my standards and expectations from the get go.

Check in took a long time and it's not an air conditioned area. They also put the main lifts there so there were tons of people there in any given time. The first room they gave me smelled really bad. Like a dirty mop smell that clung to the floors and room. There was a plastic cup on the floor so I was doubtful on how clean it really was. When I complained they downgraded me so I complained again then on the 3rd try it was ok. We went down for lunch and our bags took too long to get to the room. If you have 2 boys that just want to jump the pool, making them wait is almost impossible. The next morning we decided to eat by the pool. After ordering a la carte there was a misunderstanding about what food can be prepared for us. Needle to say, it was almost lunch and food wasn't there so my boys decided to swim. By the time the food arrived, I asked for towels and there were no towels. They had no sense of urgency and just didn't care. I lost it. To give them credit, they do act on complaints without questioning why. But I just think they should be a bit more on top of things to prevent things like that from happening. Mind you, the food was still incomplete event with the manager harping in on them. We were waiting for more than an hour! For dried fish and rice. They were apologetic at least and didn't charge us. Like I said, they are good in that sense that they own up to it and know what should be done. So I give them credit for that. I signed up for the tour and what you should know is that the boats are in a public port. You had to literally go down to your boat from a narrow plank that is perched on a wall down to the Banca. The plank is MOVING up and down by the way because of the waves. People actually fell and hit themselves I the boat before hitting the water! And yes, they wanted my 5 and 7 year old to board that way. The other option was to go down from a dirty rocky "shore" littered with trash, metal and what not to a small boat then to a big boat. Getting on the small boat was also perilous. Of course I said NO. Again, they were apologetic and refunded the money immediately. At least they don't hassle you for things like that. But clearly people there don't think!

The saving grace of this place is the Ibiza club which we thoroughly enjoyed. The show was entertaining and the food was really good.The kids also loved the pool and the beach (which was a bit rocky but clean).There were a lot of fish so it's nice to snorkel. Best to bring and wear aqua shoes though. There's a reef and there are urchins, pufferfish and stone fish there so you must educate your kids and be careful with the rocks.

Kudos to Joel and Jeryl because they know how to handle distressed clients gracefully. I think that really helps. But really everything is just slow. Room service was a tad bit slow and so is house keeping.

I guess avoid going here during peak season because they are not ready. Towels are always lacking and service can be slow. They just don't have that capability yet. Would I go back? Probably not but the place has merits so I hope they really improve on it.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My parents are looking for a hotel that can give them their much needed R&R. They a looking for a beautiful room with a view, a beach, a pool and a great place to enjoy their time with us. So i booked through agoda and we got the ocean view rooms.

The amenities are amazing, the pool, the cool tambay area, the yoga area, the spa and the Ibiza party place is definitely iconic and worth remembering.

Free shuttle for malls and city tour and it is near the rtourist center. :)

The staff too are very accommodating. They welcomed us with Moevenpick necklaces and refreshing mango juice.

The bed is very tempting and the bathroom is to die for. Plus the welcome gift co posed of expenisve toiletries.

We had fun at Ibiza, witnessing awesome performances while laying our backs at the area by the sea.

Overall, great deal for family bonding my parents are definitely happy.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's quiet good for family on weekends since it's just a city apart from home. If you want a fun night there is the club Ibiza right down. Good swimming pool to enjoy, but not so spacious beach shore.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an extremely overpriced resort. Of course it is beautiful, but so are a lot of other places. It is a nice place to spend the day, but I would not recommend actually lodging there unless you just have money to burn for no good reason. Of course everyone is nice, but seriously, pretty much all the people I have met around Cebu are nice. It seems to be part of the culture to be kind.

If you do spend the day, make sure to arrive before 9am if you expect to get a beach chair. The price is about 2500 PHP per person, which includes a sumptuous lunch buffet. There is also beach-side service where you can order drinks and food, but again it is terribly overpriced, and the service is slow to non-existent unless you track down a staff member and convince them to take your order. Then be prepared to wait a long time anyway - for drinks, for the bill, for your credit card to be returned, etc.

All in all, I would not spend the money again. It just is not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is what hotels/resorts should be - bright, welcoming, cheery ambience, well-trained staff ... stayed here for a whole day just lounging around the lobby, swimming and basically doing nothing - and no one bothering us ... relaxed to the max

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your high ratings and the positive comments. we are glad you had a relaxing time during your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Worst experience ever! Starting from clogged (sink and bathtub) , used towels, aunts and ending with no air conditioning. We asked to be fixed all what we got was its fixed . Paying for executive lounge wasn't a good idea , the food was cold and dry . So we have to take our breakfast in the main restaurant.i'm sure the manager busy at his/her office and never checked the quality or the satisfaction of their guests

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay during your recent trip. I apologize for the various shortcomings and problems you experienced. Some of your comments raised some additional questions which I would appreciate you could provide me with more details on. Kindly contact me at: Knuth.kiefer@moevenpick.com

Again, sorry for the negative impression we left you with and I look forward to hearing from you

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Address: Punta Engano, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Moevenpick Resort & Spa Cebu)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired enclave is set on its own private beach on Mactan Island and offers white sandy beaches, year-round summer weather and exceptional diving and snorkeling. Business is easy with various Executive Floors and an Executive Lounge. All accommodations feature high speed internet access. The resort is just ten minutes from Mactan International Airport and 25 minutes from cosmopolitan Cebu City, offering vibrant nightlife, extensive shopping and 24-hour casinos. For the ultimate dining experience, choose from the hotel's 5 restaurants and bars, featuring the Philippine's first and only Ibiza style Beach Club. Stay active with a visit to the fully equipped health club offering a professional gymnasium, steam room and luxurious garden spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu Hotel Lapu Lapu
Movenpick Resort And Spa Cebu
Hilton Cebu Hotel
Hilton Mactan Island
Hilton Lapu Lapu
Lapu Lapu Hilton
Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.