We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Bay Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I should probably start off by saying we are not usually five star resort type people, but we decided to treat ourselves on our way back up from Malapascua and booked in for Christmas Eve. We had a Lagoon View room which was situated directly over one of the pools. We paid 189 GBP which is generally more than we would pay, but the room was lovely. The beds (two queen beds) were incredibly comfortable, the balcony was large and I really enjoyed the bath tub. The kids enjoyed the English channels on the TV. We decided to pay for the Xmas Eve buffet and really enjoyed the entertainment and delicious food. We had thought that the breakfast was pricey but opted for a breakfast buffet on Christmas morning as a special treat. The food did not disappoint and there was something for everybody. Although the food and drink bill for twenty four hours was approx 170 GBP for all of us, when we considered that we had two bottles of wine, a breakfast buffet for four, evening cabaret plus buffet for four, a couple of cocktails and mango shakes, we considered this to be reasonable. I would love to come back here, with enough finances and the time to enjoy everything the resort has to offer for three or four days. The service is exceptional - I like the strict no tipping rule as it takes away the pressure I feel ... who do I tip, when do I tip, how much etc.... However, if there are any people that deserve to be tipped over the course of our ten days in the Philippines, it is the staff at this resort. I sincerely hope that they are paid well and treated like the assets to the business that they are.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    306
    107
    54
    44
See reviews for
373
222
25
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place deserves 5 stars. The facilities are great, lots of activities to do, staff is very friendly, the man-made lagoons are nice, and the food is ok and reasonably priced. However, they have this ridiculous rule in their freshwater pool where you cannot make any loud sound since this may distract their lifeguards from actual calls for help. It so happened that the kids love going down the water slide and would naturally let out a shriek or two while playing in the pool. As a result 90% of lifeguard whistles I heard were to shoosh anyone making any loud noise mostly associated with kids having fun. We ended up calling it the library pool. This was a major killjoy. If you have kids who like to have fun in a pool, I would not recommend this place.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here with the whole family of 7 adults and 2 tots. I just want to say that this was the best holiday ever :) the 2bd suite was amazing, the pools are great and theres lots of activities for everyone to enjoy. The staffs are brilliant and are always smiling and ready to help. I would def come back and would recommend this place to anyone. Thank you plantation bay!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a really good time with my family while we staying in Plantation bay hotel back in July.
I attach my thankful email here to share with travelers who are seeking where to stay in Philippine.


Dear Plantation Bay Hotel

Hi, I came back a couple of days ago from beautiful holidays in your Resort.
All my family were very impressed by professionalism of your staffs while staying there. They were polite, kind and friendly all the way through to the moment we left the resort. The room was also beautiful and well managed. My mum said that she felt relaxed and welcomed when she woke up in the morning.
I'd like to thank all the staffs I met, in the lobby, on the passenger zip, at Coconut bar, at the taxi stand as well as through the phone. :D You Did Make My Time Valuable and Enjoyable There!!!!
I definitely recommend this place as a number one place to stay in Philippine and I have no doubt that I will stay again when I visit Philippine in the future.
;)
I will miss you all and the time being there!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear serina K,

It is always nice to read about how our guests had an unforgettable stay at Plantation Bay. Thank you for sharing how you appreciated our rooms and ambience.

Our staff especially appreciate your taking the time to let us know how you and your family felt welcomed and cared for during your stay. Thank you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your favorite resort in the Philippines.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best resort in Cebu the staff were friendly and helpful and they all wear the genuine Filipino smile and hospitality kudos to the management they trained their staff very well. Lots of activities and enjoyed the pool just a step away from the room....Excellent and we enjoyed it much!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Dindo C,

We are delighted to learn that you found our staff the epitome of Filipino hospitality and that you rated Plantation Bay as the best resort in Cebu.

Thank you for taking the time to share how you appreciated our activities and swimming facilities. We will definitely share your review with our staff to inspire them to do even better at upholding our standards.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here with the whole Family. I like the paluto style in the resto.
The pool and the beach is very relaxing :) kinda pricey but worth it.
Enjoy all the activities and you can also go to the nearest mall to taste the lechon cebu and the pandan rice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear JanaChicc,

We're pleased to note that though you found our prices expensive, this was understandable because of the quality offered.

Lechon (Roast Pig) is actually served at our Themed Dinner Buffet. Our Black Lechon is prepared on site, according to our own recipe, and many guests agree that Plantation Bay's whole roast pig is very good indeed.

Thank you for the kind review, especially for mentioning that you and your family appreciated our various leisure facilities and activities.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently spent some time at Plantation Bay for a family vacation. We opted for the VIP package which included private transportation from the airport and a drop off directly at our room. We were met by the Butler with cold drinks which was a nice touch. The resort itself is gorgeous and well laid out. Our room was on the lagoon and our kids enjoyed being close to the water. They have an aquatic center on site and so while there we went snorkeling, diving, canoeing and paddle boarding. We also opted for the pre-booked breakfast buffet package which turned out to be a good deal. It's not super easy to venture out of the resort so you are kind of stuck eating at the restaurants. While the food was good, it's a bit expensive for a family to eat every meal onsite. We did hire a driver one day to explore a bit. I would recommend doing that or taking an excursion if you don't do well staying in one location for your entire vacation. The staff at Plantation Bay were super nice and friendly. Everyone went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. The downside for us were that the kids activities were a bit haphazard. They had a schedule but it wasn't reliable. Some activities happened as planned but most didn't. I'd also point out that most all activities will have an extra charge. For instance, bike rentals, paddle boards/canoes in the lagoon, karoake after dinner etc. This is not a big deal but just make sure to include it in your budget planning. All in all, it was a great vacation and my kids are already asking when we can go back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear kstarkey,

Thank you for sharing how impressed you were with our rooms, food, facilities, and staff. We're happy to learn that you found the resort family-friendly, and that your children have only fond memories of Plantation Bay.

It rained during your stay, and we had to cancel some of our activities and offer alternatives. Our apologies for any disappointment this might have occasioned.

For the information of our TripAdvisor readers, in addition to our organized activities like yoga, swimming lessons, Wii Challenge, arts and crafts, and botanical tour, these activities and facilities are also free of charge for checked-in guests: archery, wall-climbing, water volleyball, golf pitch-and-putt, fish feeding, bicycle (for the first hour), horse-and-buggy rides, duodecathlon, billiards, air-hockey, foosball, board games, and darts. We have a children’s center and playground too.

Thanks again for the kind sentiments. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Address: Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11.4 hectares of secluded grounds yet only 30 minutes from downtown Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life's pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels "away from it all." If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different flavor of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.