We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Bay Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location, poor food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I visited a while ago, but remember that the location is great for young families with the lagoons and slides being really fun for everyone. The biggest drawback was the choice of food - a little limited if you stay for more than four days.

Improve the food and I'll come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear NickCorben,

We are happy to note that you and your family had an enjoyable time using our facilities, particularly the lagoons and slides.

We have updated our restaurant menus since your last visit in 2011. By the time you come back for your next stay, we hope there will be something new and exciting for you and your family to enjoy!


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    305
    106
    54
    44
See reviews for
371
222
25
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Wonderful location, great value, perfect family holiday ingredients - massive lagoon pool, separate private beach with loads of tropical fish, activities including archery, rock climbing, kayaking and stand up paddling & the extraordinary staff that catered for our daughters often challenging allergies, at every possible turn made this our family's "BHE" - best holiday ever !! Well done Plantation Bay, take a bow

Room Tip: Select a room by the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear SerialTraveller101,

Considering that you stayed here an entire week, it is nice to know that during all this time you never ran out of things to do.

Thank you for sharing how our family friendly ambience and well-trained staff contributed to making your stay at Plantation Bay your Best Holiday Ever!

Looking forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our stay at the Plantation Bay is one of the most enjoyable stays in the Philippines. This was our first time to Cebu, thus this is not the last time we will stop by your resort when we visit Cebu. Me and my wife enjoyed a few days stay for Valentines and was treated with exclusive service at the Mogambo Springs. The Mogambo Spa BedRooms is very spacious with a huge size bed, the Bathroom is big and clean. Best spa staff in the Philippines can be found at this resort! Praises to your Spa-Staff.

We tried all the restaurants and our favorite is the Fiji Restaurant, although it was raining, the location by the beach is great. The GYM is great, and the road/path inside the resort allows jogging which is great for a runner like me! The breakfast at Kilimanjaro Cafe is great, with a view over the fresh-water pool.

The only minor downside of our stay was the overpriced prices found inside the resort's Jamaica Market, so advice to all the ladies, don't forget your swimsuits to bring them with you :) otherwise they can be purchased in the Market! The no-tipping policy is excellent, that helps us enjoy our stay even better. Thank you to team Plantation Bay! We would love to return soon again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Jay S,

Thank you for the enthusiastic review! We are heartened by the fact that you especially felt pampered by our Mogambo Springs staff during your stay. We will definitely share your kind comments with them to inspire them to do even better at upholding our standards.

We're also delighted to learn that you found just about every aspect of your Plantation Bay Experience a pleasure - from the food, to the spa, to the gym facilities.

We look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Plantation Bay is definitely one of the country’s best resorts.  We stayed here last month and had one of our most memorable getaways ever!

Pros:

- The service is the best I’ve experienced so far.  The staff are attentive, friendly, and polite.  And they are very knowledgeable about the resort.  Regardless of who we asked, they know a facility’s opening hours, rates, etc. 

- There are so many activities for everyone.  We enjoyed kayaking in their big lagoon, playing billiards at the Game Room and wallclimbing at Savannah Park.  This is also the first time that I tried riding the tandem bike and the stand up paddle board.  They have jetskis, banana boat and segways too!

- The beautiful views.  The resort is a photographer’s paradise.  Everywhere you look, the view is breathtaking. 

- Our room is in Edo Hall and I love how it’s just seconds from the water.  The room is spacious and so is the bathroom with the big bathtub.

- Hammocks, loungers, gazebos and benches are everywhere!  There’s always a spot where we could watch the beautiful view, or relax.

- The no tipping.  It’s nice to experience 5-star service without wondering if the staff are doing it to get tips.  They are genuinely nice and happy to be of help.

Cons

- The location.  It’s far from the city.  They do have shuttle to the malls (2 schedules in the morning, if I’m not mistaken).  I just wish there were schedules in the afternoon.

- As mentioned here on TA many times (and on their website), the beach is small, but with their big lagoons and pools, we didn’t mind.

- The giant slides were under renovation when we were here.

We stayed 2 nights and felt we didn’t experience all that this neat resort has to offer.  Will surely be back soon to try their spa and themed dinner.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Charmel P,

Plantation Bay's primary form of landscaping is water—with the rooms overlooking a lovely expanse of private beaches and waterways—and we're glad that while here, you and your family enjoyed the view and our various leisure activities.

Thank you for the high praise on our service and for specifically mentioning our No-Tipping Policy. This is something that sets us apart from other hotels, and we're happy that you highlighted this in your review.

Thanks again for the kind sentiments. We hope to see you and your family again soon.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have nothing bad to say about the room that I stayed in, in fact I loved it but the lagoon right outside it was bad, it's the smaller lagoon (there's a bigger one); it was dirty and almost empty.

I guess another reason why I didn't like this place is because it's artificial. I love the ocean and the beach in Plantation Bay wasn't so good. The water wasn't clear.

It's way too expensive above all. The restaurants in the complex are expensive and not so good either so you'll have to drive to the city if you want an affordable meal. i wouldn't recommend this to my friends or family. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear zoezozo027,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our private message to share more details about your stay.

We regret to hear that you were unhappy with your stay because you found the natural beach small and the food "expensive." More than possibly any other hotel in the world, Plantation Bay takes care to disclose to prospective guests not only our prices, but also what you should not expect in respect of our facilities.

Our saltwater lagoons are cleaned regularly but, spanning over 2 hectares, they obviously cannot be maintained in the same standard as a tiled swimming pool. Occasionally one may encounter some algae, but even so, the lagoons are considerably cleaner than any natural body of water.

Thank you for your review.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here with my friends few years ago and definitely this hotel is one of the best. I am planning a trip with my family and would like to check the latest review of Plantation Bay, the review are excellent in general but it is just so surprising how the general manager responds to Tripadvisor reviews and I'm feeling outrage! Just to let you know, your guests have the right to say their opinion and most especially their experience in your resort. We appreciate if the management will note and improve their services after reading the reviews instead of being so defensive. You cannot stop your guests to write positive nor negative feedback so just be fair, I noticed when you received positive feedback your comments are also positive but when you receive somehow "negative" to your eyes, you comment defensively. How come? I wonder how other readers or guests feels when they read your comments. Good thing that most of your hotel staff are very efficient and courteous and with my honest opinion the manager should learn from her staff!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Cherry C,

Back in 2010 before you were unduly influenced by social media, you came to Plantation Bay and had a great time. If you choose to come again in 2014, you will again have a great time.

One of the extremely negative effects of social media is that people mistake words on a computer, for reality. The reality is that you personally know Plantation Bay as a wonderful place to stay. The mistake would be giving more importance to the words of people you don't even know, than to your own personal experience. If you do this, then you become a victim of social media.

You attach much importance to the idea that hotel managers should always act subservient and apologetic. We do not, and no experienced traveler does. While we treat all guests with courtesy and respect, what we are selling is a superior resort experience, not subservience. Unlike most other hotels which respond on TripAdvisor, we are not selling hypocritical apologies and insincere promises to "look into the matter".

When a reviewer is nasty and ill-informed, we say so. When a reviewer is right, we admit it. If we can improve, we do it. We don't talk about it on TripAdvisor, we do it. To name just a few recent changes that were in response to guest comments: better mattresses, free shuttle service to malls, more variety and some lower prices in food. See if you can find even one other hotel in Mactan - those whose sweet subservient words you like - which actually makes changes based on guest comments.

If subservience is high on your list of "must-haves", you should choose another hotel (then find out if they are truly subservient, or were just putting on a sham for the benefit of naive readers on TripAdvisor). If however you value the reality of an outstanding resort experience, rather than an illusion on TripAdvisor, you already know what you should decide.

By the way, year after year, for most of the past 18 years of our existence, Plantation Bay has enjoyed higher occupancy than all other resorts in the country. ALL other resorts. This is without a chain affiliation, and almost no expenditure on advertising. The reason? There are enough customers out there who can distinguish between Reality, and Illusion.


Sincerely,
Emmanuel Gonzalez
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea via The USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have stayed at Plantation twice now and we really do like there. The rooms are nice, the landscaping is nice and the staff is fantastic. But this last time we were disappointed that the two main water slides were out of order. Apparently they had been out of order for 2-3 months. If we had known this we might have stayed elsewhere, as my kids love the big water slides.

The other issue we have with Plantation Bay is the cost of food. The food is fine, but overpriced. If guests do not have meals included in their reservation, it can get pretty expensive for a family of four. There are little or no option for food outside of the resort.

On the positive side, you won't find a friendlier staff and the no-tipping policy makes life less complicated. Also my children love doing the kid's activities with the young adults who work at Plantation Bay. The Christmas party for the children is also very well organized.

Room Tip: If you have younger kids, the pool-side rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Bill E,

Thank you for the compliment about our staff and for sharing that your children enjoyed our supervised activities and Christmas party.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your recent visit. Our giant slides are undergoing improvements and will be available soon.

Our prices are comparable to or are even lower than other 5-star hotels in Cebu. When you visit us next time, please remind us of your comment about prices, so we can provide options on how to get the best value of money at Plantation Bay.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Address: Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11.4 hectares of secluded grounds yet only 30 minutes from downtown Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life's pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels "away from it all." If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different flavor of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.