We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally relaxing, I didn't want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Bay Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Campbell, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Totally relaxing, I didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Plantation Bay is the best of the Philippines. An easy 90 minute flight from Manila, and a free hotel shuttle takes you to the resort, and back to the airport. The resort is huge, with salt and fresh water pools the size of football fields. Swim up bars for adults, and water slides for kids. Most pools are 3ft deep so safe for children. Deep waters are clearly marked. Whirlpool/jacuzzi are integrated with the pools. Wade through 3ft water to an island hammock to relax. The spa goes on and on with all services. It is an adventure in relaxation by itself. Wireless internet is high speed (25Mbs) throughout the resort. Easy to upload FB photos. The rooms are comfortable, air conditioned, with soft beds. Bath is excellent. Electric taxis take you around the resort. The restaurants are plentiful and delicious. Every night is an island show spectacular. Brazil one night, Hawaiian the next. The ocean view/beach is inspiring. All around the best of the Philippines. The staff is plentiful, helpful, and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jesse H,

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent family holiday with us, and that you consider Plantation Bay the best resort in the Philippines. And yes, with the resort’s various leisure activities and facilities and our having an environment that truly feels away from it all, we literally are "an adventure in relaxation by itself."

Thanks again for the high praise.


Sincerely,
Nenette G. Castillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    306
    106
    54
    44
See reviews for
371
222
25
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Let me start by saying how disappointing I am because my first review here was deleted for unknown reason.

I've been hearing good things about the resort and so we decided to visit this. The resort is definitely beautiful especially the lagoons, but it doesn't stop there.

Place is dirty and not maintained, a lot of dead leaves around the resort and lagoons. Very dangerous especially if guests stepped on it when walking.

Food is poor. I am in Cebu, I dont understand why they are serving poor quality food.
Here are the complete list of food served when we stayed here.

Canned Sprite
Soup of the day
Bread
Rice
Spaghetti
Mixed Vegetables
Grilled Lapu Lapu
Grilled Pork
Grilled Chicken
Greens ( Salad )

Dessert:
2 types of cupcakes
Leche Flan

Worst food for a 5 Star Resort. Cebu offeres delicous FRUITS and NONE was served, not even Mangoes or Bananas.

I've been to several 5 Star Resorts in the country but this is the only one that is charging fees for using bike (Non Motorized) and Wii and other electronic devices.

BTW again, Php 130.00 for a small bottle of Gatorade is too much, you're staff don't even want to sell it because he knows himself that the price is way over than the SRP.

Very few staff for Summer, not to mention, it was a Sunday. Staff are unfriendly, won't even look at their guests to check their needs.

Will definitely not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reader:

This person's first review was deleted by TripAdvisor because it was abusive and non-factual.

This second review is equally intended by the reviewer to misrepresent the facts. This person did not stay at the hotel, but only had lunch here, based on the menu cited.

Our bicycles are free for guests (for the first hour), but not for those who are just patronizing the restaurants.

Most resorts in Mactan almost exclusively feature coconuts, which don't shed leaves. To create an immersive "plantation" atmosphere and to achieve a 2-degree Centigrade cooler air temperature than other resorts on the island, Plantation Bay is heavily-planted with acacias, narras, mahogany, breadfruit, talisays, banaba, jacarandas, flame trees, calachuchi (frangipani), rubber, mangrove, and even a few specimen Palawan cherries (filled with white blossoms every spring, just like the famous Washington DC cherry blossom trees). There are some coconuts, too, as well as many species of bamboo (yes, we know that bamboo is a grass, not a tree), and assorted vines, like jasmine and Lady of the Night, which emit a haunting fragrance for all our guests to enjoy. We rake leaves continuously, but there are always some leaves on the ground and in the lagoons.

Anyone who considers this a negative should absolutely avoid Plantation Bay, and book at just about any other resort in Mactan, where you can be sure of 100% leaf-free grounds landscaped entirely with lovely coconuts.

Our Gatorade is indeed priced at P130, about $3. To someone like this reviewer who claims to be outraged that we charge more than "SRP" (Suggested Retail Price, in a supermarket), we can only say that this comment is unreasonable and would not be shared by most people.


Sincerely,
Emmanuel Gonzalez
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the two bedroom suite, and it was beautiful! There were two families in our group so we needed the room. We were picked up from the airport by a big bus, and it took about 30 minutes to get to the place. This place is kinda secluded from the city so you pretty much stay in there the whole time, which was fine with us because we were tired of traveling. It's nice to have everything there without worrying about transportation. Our room wasn't ready yet when we arrived, and it took quite awhile for them to determine which two bedroom suite to put us in. However, the staff was so kind and even gave us complimentary sweets upon arrival to our room. The room itself was just great! It was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on during our trip to the Philippines, and the bathrooom was just gorgeous! Make sure you bring your own slippers for inside the room though. They charge you for the slippers, and the floor is pretty dirty. Our place was so close to the little market store and the other restaurants so it was the perfect location. There is no tipping, but the price for the food was pretty expensive. The breakfast buffet was delicious though! The pools are beautiful. I liked the chlorinated pool better because it just felt cleaner to me, hahaha! We did the wall climbing, archery, shooting range, bicycle rides, arcade, swimming... everything was fun. We had the hilot massage at Mogambo Spa, and it was ok. Overall it was a great experience, and I would probably go there again, if I had the budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear kmbperdon,

We're glad that you found our spacious Two Bedroom Suite most fitting for your extended family. We do our best to make sure our guests need not go far to relax and have fun, and we're happy that during your 3-day stay, you were able to try most of our leisure activities.

And a big thank you for the photos. Seeing your family's beaming faces assured us that we will be seeing you again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Emmanuel Gonzalez
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I met at Plantation Bay in 2010 and this excellent Philippine Resort has remained very dear to us for its many qualities , which include ; friendlyness, tranquility, beauty, very good food, excellent service, sparkling blue sea, great dive facility with a large owned banca boat.

To return is like "coming home" and , mindful that there is a strictly enforced "no tipping policy", it is quite remarkable how so many of their superb staff remember us on first name terms - even with six / twelve month gaps between stays.

We have enjoyed all of our stays , without exception and delight in the peaceful rooms that surround the beautyfully maintained lagoons that provide ample , safe bathing - literally on the door step.

For those who enjoy in open air dining , with entertainment provided , you shall not be disappointed as considerable effort is put into providing frequent "themed" dinner events and shows. Add these dining options to the four, quite distinct restaurants , two with in house musical entertainment each evening and , frankly, you are unlikely to want to leave the resort until it is regretably time to go home.

For spa lovers - the Japanese Spa is quite simply superb.

In summary - for families or couples this is a superb place to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing quality time .

Mark & Dahlia Randall - Cebu City May 2013

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Randall,

We are very happy to learn that, even upon your 46th visit to Plantation Bay, you still found it idyllic, relaxing, and as good as ever.

Thank you for the glowing review. We will definitely share your kind comments with our staff to inspire everyone to do even better at upholding our standards.


Sincerely,
Emmanuel Gonzalez
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Arrival at the airport, the driver was waiting for us without any arrangements with the hotel. Took about 30 min from airport.

Check in
Smooth we didn't wait long at all, took a tour on the shuttle around the hotel and by then our room was ready.
Stayed in the under tree room, it was large and clean. The view out the back was stunning, the bed was big and the ac was ice cold when needed.

Lots of activities to do during the day, swimming in the lagoon was nice. The jacuzzi was relaxing too.
The beach is Ok, very rocky and small but that is not the reason we decided to stay here. The lagoons made up for the beach. The washroom was very exotic setting, there was a big tree right in the washroom which was so different to other resort places I stayed at in the Caribbean.
I loved the large coconut trees everywhere, the real lagoons with fish was a sight to see too

Malls are about 30 min drive, we stopped by sm mall twice. You'll need to arrange the in house driver because taxis are it available.

On our last night we bought a bottle of wine outside Plantation Bay but forgot to buy a cork *facepalm* called up room service and they wanted 1000 peso to use it. Pause. We didn't have wine but orange pop instead lol.

In all serious I loved this place, it had a beautiful exotic setting and lagoons were stunning. The staff were friendly and very attentive. They also have a no tip policy, can't think of a resort I've been to that enforced that.

Checkout was fast, they arranged the shuttle back to the airport.

Right when we were pulling out of the place there were some locals a kids walking and they all waived to us. That was so nice and really says alot lot lot about the people on the island.

Would I come back again? Yes, in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Aks M,

Thank you for your detailed review of Plantation Bay.

Considering the many outstanding luxury hotels you must have already visited in the Caribbean, we consider it high praise that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the resort stunningly beautiful and the service prompt and friendly.

We're also glad that you liked your room with the big tree; by the way, did you know that it's a one-of-a-kind room?

We look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,
Emmanuel Gonzalez
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Its my second time in this hotel. The first when it was during soft opening and now during a conference. Lets start with the good stuff. At least there are now grown trees thus it is a bit cooler. Second is the noodle - "sotanghon" . Its the best i have ever had so i had several servings and it was good as it was offered from breakfast and our merienda. Third rooms are still large and clean. The not so good experience is the massage, i had a bony lady do my massage and it is not a good experience. The method needs improvement considering the price you pay for this. secondly because it is peak season the buffet breakfast is chaotic so i suggest you eat early.They dont have shuttle services going to the city, unlike other hotels. Hope they offer that.

Room Tip: For those availing buffet breakfast, eat early as May is peak season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear ann5721,

Thank you for rating our sotanghon dish as the best you’ve ever had.

We are sorry to hear that your spa experience wasn't satisfactory. Upon investigating your case we learned that your treatment was given by a relatively inexperienced masseuse. Though we wish you had spoken up while still at the spa so we could have offered a replacement treatment, if you will be kind enough to write us (you didn't leave your email when you checked in, but we have identified you) we would be happy to offer a gift certificate for your next spa visit.


Sincerely,
Emmanuel Gonzalez
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

we were a family of 4 adults and 1 child, We stayed in the family room which is really large enough for the 5 of us, since we have a child who loves to run around and play i can say that plantation bay is the perfect place for that because there are so many things that you can do inside that is child friendly, youll never get bored. during our 4night stay in plantation we availed their whaleshark adventure which is a must try, they gave us our own car service back and forth to place and excellent packed lunch youll even get to see the country side of cebu. its worth every penny with the service that they will give you. Though the food inside is costly for average persons like us but if we will think about the quality it is worth it. And also they gave us a free coral reef adventure because of the duration of our stay w/c is also a must try you'll get to see the fishes upclose and get to feed them. Overall we enjoyed our stayed in plantation bay and will definitely recommend to everyone who wants to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Kath S,

Plantation Bay is the only 5-star resort in Cebu to offer the Swimming with the Whale Sharks Package, and we're happy you got to experience this rare adventure.

We're pleased that you found the resort child-friendly, and that everyone in your family enjoyed your 4-night stay with us.

Thank you for the kind review.


Sincerely,
Emmanuel Gonzalez
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Address: Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11.4 hectares of secluded grounds yet only 30 minutes from downtown Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life's pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels "away from it all." If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different flavor of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.