We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge poolscape, fantastic for kids, great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Bay Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Singapore
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Huge poolscape, fantastic for kids, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just spent over a week there with our three kids (10, 8, 4): fantastic experience. The pools are gigantic and diverse, so many things for the kids to do and play with. The two big slides are a bit rough (our girls had to help a lady find her denture in the pool which she lost during the ride - no joke!) so would not recommend to let kids younger than 5 to ride alone....
Different restaurants don't have large menus but every dish we ate was excellent. Especially the Palermo had some of the most delicious pastas ever had. Also the others (Fiji and Kilimanjaro) were really good and above expectations.
Another highlight is the diving, just from the hotel can take boat to close islands and do some nice coral reef dives, and literally from the beach there is a ave at 30m that goes about 20m deep. Visibility very good, water temperature 29C, easy go, it's worth it. Then there are other activities (climbing, archery, gym, game room (if it rains a day), bike renting, jet ski, etc. etc. all good material, good quality. The whole resort is very clean. The road that takes you to the bungalows is also a perfect 740m jogging track. The SPA is beautiful and the treatments of very high quality.
Overall one can clearly see the manager is running a tight ship with excellent attention to detail and most important, all staff was very forthcoming and genuinely caring. We have tried hard to think about what could be improved further and the "only" thing that comes to mind: the price for the breakfast buffet is too high, 30% lower would be justified, but then again, staying there, you are locked in and you pay for the convenience.
We clearly recommend the resort to families and thank the whole team there who made our holiday special.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have quite a nice view over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear amreina,

Thanks for the glowing review of your one-week stay at Plantation Bay. We welcome many different kinds of travelers, but young families like yours are typically among our most appreciative guests. And those who stay for a week like you have the opportunity to really discover what sets us apart from other resorts.

We are happy that, throughout your stay, your children enjoyed our activities and leisure facilities, while you were free to relax and enjoy our spa. And thank you so much for the kind words about the food, which we really put a lot of effort into; it is great to see that well-travelled families like yourselves know what good food is about. (And though you didn't say so, we suspect your children must have liked our extra-rich, extra-creamy home-made ice cream!)


With kind regards,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    306
    106
    54
    44
See reviews for
372
222
25
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila Philippines
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My visit to this resort was long overdue, I have been wanting to spend a vacation at this property for the last 6 years , having made a reservation then having it cancelled due to unavoidable circumstance. Somehow i would end up at that other great place , the Shang Mactan twice. But yes, or should i say 'better late than never ". Stayed only 2 nights , with my family, availing the VIP package , wherein you would be brought directly to your room from a certain pick up point or airport , and a personal concierge would handle certain check in proceedings . I went around the resort (yes , i didn't avail of the vehicle or horse carriage service for the time being ), and it was to my observation that the rooms and suites offered at this resort, whether of any type at a particular location is still actually at a good vantage point from water activities and restaurants , so don't be that disappointed if you failed to get your preferred room. We stayed at the lagoon side room at the Nile hall ( water's edge rooms are usually fully booked ) , and i would say that I have no regrets with my other option . The room was spacious , with 2 huge beds (one however has a tweaking sound , which i decided not to brought up with them during that time ), a flat screen Lcd Tv which offer multiple channels , and a nice bathroom which has a separate shower enclosure and bath tub. They offered some complimentary sweet treats , and a mini ref (with some mini bar drinks ) for which you can stock on several items. Amenities offered in the resort include a game room , gym/ health center and the Mogambo spa which we tried. The spa service was really good (aside from the ambiance ), that my spouse had another one the following day . Lagoon type pools abound at many areas in the resort , (it was really fun ) , with my spouse and daughter enjoying the kayak activities. Be careful however, of the huge rock like figures beneath the lagoon pool because it can be slippery for many of the guests . Have tried the restaurants (except Fiji ), and enjoyed the food offered. Breakfast choices at Kilimanjaro Cafe changes with each day , which I liked. Don't forget to try the croissants at this coffeeshop , and the cheeseburger ( which is also available at the Savannah ). Think twice about ordering the caesar salad ( it will take 40 mins to prepare , as they claim ). Was able to watch the 2 dinner shows (need to reserve early in the day), wherein buffet is served, and a dance performance highlighting several cultures would be seen . I would later find out that the dancers were the regular staff members of the resort ( they are talented and goes to show how multi tasking they can be ). While service remains the main asset of this resort, can't help noticing how tired they were,yet trying their best to go with their tasks. One incident that can be humiliating for my part was when i asked the Korean front desk staff (not Nicole ) permission if i can take her picture ( I was hoping to emphasize that the resort even hired a foreign staff to deal with the large volume of korean tourists ), and she politely declined. The odd thing is that the male front desk staff behind her made a gesture that seem to insult me. Anyway I respect the privacy that they wanted. This is a purely Philippine owned resort that has gained international recognition (the other which is Discovery Shores Boracay ), and it sure made me proud being a witness to this heavenly place . Congratulations to the manager (Mr Belarmino ) who I have seen at the resort being with the staff and some special guests, for a job well done . Regarding comments by many reviewers that prices here are very expensive, yes I agree , but when I realize how hard the staff are working, with the 'No Tipping ' policy , i don't mind the high priced charges . This marks the last good quality resort i have stayed for year 2012, after Amanpulo, Hilton Hawaiian Village and Shangri-la Boracay , and I won't think twice about coming back .

Room Tip: Water's edge is best option, but lagoon side is a good alternative
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear doctorfoxtrot,

We are very delighted to read a well-traveled kababayan's appreciation of and pride in Plantation Bay. Thank you for taking the time to share how you loved your spacious room and enjoyed your experience at the spa. A big thank you too for recommending our croissants and Powerhouse Burger and for lauding our talented staff and distinctive service.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back here soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you are looking for a destination for your family, look no further. There is a wealth of things for your children to do, friendly and accommodating staff, great pool and outdoor areas with slides to keep them entertained for hours. The pool is clean, especially when considering the size, foliage around it and the warm environment and the option of the salt water pool would be much better for young sensitive skin. The rooms are clean and spacious, the airconditioning works well and the bathrooms are modern.

If you are looking for a relaxing, resort style holiday for a couple or with friends, look elsewhere. This place simply does not deliver on aspects appropriate for this market. Food, sleep quality and ability to chill by the pool (there are a limited number of deck chairs for the size of the pool area) aren't really up to scratch. We had 2 different rooms (through no fault of the establishment as our first preference was not available) and the beds in both were uncomfortably firm.

There is a fundamental design flaw in the design of a lagoon side room, whereby you cannot close or lock the back door as you go out it, so the ability to walk out of the lagoon and into your room is completely negated if you want to re-enter your room you have to go all the way around to the front- or leave your back door open.

The quality of food at the restaurants overall is poor. A noodle dish which was a chefs recommendation at Fiji and warned of spice yet tasted like children’s alphabet spaghetti from a tin. A wonton soup from Kilimanjaro was full of foul tasting lettuce, and pancakes ordered for breakfast on two of the days came to the table cold, however the flavour was nice and the consistency perfect. The pasta at Palermo fared better, the service and food was lovely (the crouquettes and crab stuffed ravioli were standouts). Palermo was the only restaurant that offered us a wine list (which desperately needs an update 3/6 whites should not be chardonnay or chardonnay blends).

We were surprised and delighted that there were actually fish etc to see on the little reef at the beachfront section of the hotel, but severely grossed out when presented with a snorkel filled with mould/algae to look more closely. The masks were fine.

We did visit the spa twice and were impressed by the professionalism and quality of the service. The treatment rooms were inviting and beautifully appointed.

Being Australian and paying through the nose for everything we did not find the prices at Plantation expensive, but we did theink they might be above market when we compared them with our next stay at the Radisson. At the spa-1hr massage at Plantation PHP2,000, Radisson 1,100. At the bar, Sam Miguel Plantation -Php 250 Radisson 100-150, Buffet was cheaper at the Radisson and about 6-7 times the size.

All in all, as I said if you have children and like to stay somewhere which has everything all under one roof this is absolutely somewhere you should consider.

And finally, Plantation Bay should be rightfully very proud of their staff, and congratulated on whatever training and development programs they have. We found them to be very pleasant and a great asset to their establishment

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear shell_81_au,

We appreciate your high praise for the quality of our staff and service.

We are pleased to read that you liked your room and our various leisure activities, and that you were highly satisfied with your experience at our Spa.

We also appreciate your candid critique of your dining experience at our restaurants and will do our best to improve for your next visit.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel just before Christmas for one night and found this hotel not as luxurious as we thought it would be...We've stayed already before in many hotels around Philippines, we've been to Misibis Bay,so we know what luxury means.
First of all, we had trouble looking for beach towels..all the time the towels close to the pools were in the laundary and we couldnt use it.
Room was ok, we really liked bathroom and exit from the room right to the pool, however it was a bit slippery and scary at times..
We had dinner at a beachside restaurant that required previous booking because they had buffet,but nobody told us about it, so restaurant didnt want us to be sitted at first,but then managed to find one table...the thing is that the food wasnt that good, also the prefomance there was just average nothing to remember...and it costed for 4 of us around 200$,knowing prices in Philippines its just way too much..
It feels like you have to pay huge ammount for everything..water costs 200P if im not mistaken,when in the store out of this resort 50P. Also you cannot buy their water in their mini store, you have to go all the way to restaurant which is open and I had to go all around resort to look for the retaurant.So unconvinient.
Its alright to spend in Plantation one night or two, but not more, you will easily get bored and it will cost you a lot!

Room Tip: Better pick laguna view,so u can swim from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear maybetomorrowwecan,

We are sorry you had to wait for your beach towels. The hotel was at or near 100% occupancy during the holidays and demand for towels was high.

During your one-day stay, you may not have had enough time to appreciate all the features of our resort. Many families from Europe and Asia stay 4-7 days and feel they still have not tried everything. When you come back next time, we believe you will find many more facilities and activities than you originally imagined.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel with a group of 6 friends over Christmas, it is a nice resort and the lagoon, pool & waterslides are definitely the highlight. The swim up bar is also great. The only real downside is the bed's, they are so hard it feels like you are sleeping on concrete and hard to get a good nights sleep. For the price we paid for the room we would expect to be able to have a good nights rest on comfortable beds. wouldn't stay here again only for this reason.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Maria F F,

Thank you for your kind comments about our facilities and swim-up bar.

You are quite correct in describing our beds as firm, which corresponds with the preference of many of our guests. We only wish you had informed us while you were still here, so that we could have provided you an alternative room equipped with softer mattresses.

Thank you for sharing your review.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea via The USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at the Plantation Bay Resort. If you are looking for a place to vacation where you don't have to leave the complex to have fun, try the Plantation Bay. We have two small kids (ages 9 and 5) and we really enjoyed our poolside room. Also, in close proximity are water slides and various alternate pools with fresh and salt water. Our children loved the "children’s activities" that were offered daily. Mr. "Ron" does a fantastic job keeping the kids entertained!
The staff throughout the resort are fantastic. They are always prompt and friendly. The no-tipping policy is very nice too. We had a great time and will most likely return. My wife and I both had massages at the spa and we were impressed by the facilities and quality of service.
If I had to complain about anything, it would be the food. The quality is fine, but the price is too high for some items. There is very little outside the complex, so the four restaurants at the Plantation Bay are really all there is.
Overall, we had a great time and didn't want to leave

Room Tip: If you have small kids, the poolside room is great! These pools are very close to the room patio an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Bill E,

Plantation Bay is popular among families because of our child-friendly facilities and activities. Thank you for affirming this by sharing how everyone in your family had a great time you didn't want to leave.

Thank you too for commending our prompt and friendly service and for appreciating the quality massage you had at the impressive Mogambo Springs.

We hope to see you and your family again soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed only for a couple of nights. It wasn't enough. The room we had was very spacious, clean and just beside a fresh water pool. The resort is simply awesome. Really nice to bike around the place and then just jump into the salt water pools. Their no tipping policy is another plus. Really planning to go back there again....and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EfrenPB_GM, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear bintRey,

We're happy that you liked your room and had fun biking around the resort and swimming in our pools. We are also glad that you appreciated our No-Tipping policy and enjoyed your stay so much you're already planning your return visits to Plantation Bay.

And thank you for sharing your photos. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Address: Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11.4 hectares of secluded grounds yet only 30 minutes from downtown Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life's pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels "away from it all." If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different flavor of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.