We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hola Espana

Hola Espana
Punta Engano, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
032 340 5119
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 78 Restaurants in Lapu Lapu
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“just acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

we love Tapas and as we had a great Tapas dinner at our hotel the night before, we wanted to try an alternative. not comparable to the food we had at the Movenpick, even if the prize was a bit lower. Atmosphere in the place is lacking as well

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“average place with high prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The place was just down the road from our hotel so we gave it a try. Not the most impressive menu, with the exception of the prices! A lot of money to shell out for small portions of "ok" food

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Recommended by the friend we travelled with, we visited this restaurant on 13th Feb 2013 (3 adults + 2 teenagers). Very friendly staff (but could have been a little more attentive as we had to catch their attention for more water, etc), good selection of wines and really good, tasty food. Sorry no photos! but we ate lentil soup, spaghetti Bolognese; pizzas with a lovely thin, crusty base; fresh, crunchy Caesar salads (alas NO fresh grated parmesan cheese). We actually went back on 14th Feb because the other restaurants we wanted to try were booked for Valentine's Day :( However, we ate different dishes.... calamari, seafood pasta, grilled seafish and again the salad! We didn't have a booking, but the manageress remembered us and gave us a table upstairs. Downstairs the restaurant is small so we would recommend a table upstairs as it is bigger and a more authentic decor. Also, we were not worried about the armed, security guard on the door although some people might be and the staff found us a taxi quickly. DO make sure you agree a rate with the taxi driver before you get in it. Our taxi driver increased our rate four-fold as we drove off so we insisted he pull-over and we got out. We made a short walk back to the Shangri-La Hotel and got another cab. 300 Pesos more for a taxi back to our hotel might sound like peanuts, but it was the principle that mattered to me. Bad man :(

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“food was good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

being unhappy with our food across the street from where our hotel was, walking further down the street we were so happy finding this place. The food was very good and the service was so friendly. good selection of wines. To Rose, thank you for the warm hospitality. We will be back and we recommend this place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu city
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“food was ok but a lil pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

i like this restaurant especially the paella valenciana but the ambiance of the place was not really good too small for me they need a litlle bit spacious place for custumers really feel good

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hola Espana also viewed

Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 

Been to Hola Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hola Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.