We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, maybe if you are desperate...?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of GV Hotel Lapu-Lapu City

GV Hotel Lapu-Lapu City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added GV Hotel Lapu-Lapu City to your Saves list
GV Hotel Lapu-Lapu City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   GY dela Serna St., Lapu Lapu, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Dipolog, Philippines
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Well, maybe if you are desperate...?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

yes ok you get what you pay for. Nothing is that cheap on Mactan island in LapuLapu city. This place has the advantage of being quite close to the airport. So you can leave very quickly and easily, very early in the morning. This is all you are likely or want to do at that time. Just go, and leave quietly if possible (most other guests are extremely noisy) but just check out and pay your bill, and get into your taxi as quickly and as quietly as you can...

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I book a standard room on the Web site for a stop over in Cebu because it's near the airport big mistake.
Standard rooms are on fifth floor not stated on site
No elevator
I had to upgrade to be on second floor. Well if this was an upgrade I hate to see the standard rooms. Ants everywhere, no hot water, sheet too small and thin for even one person, bed consist of 2x2 with a very thin mattress, floor was dirty hair all over it,
Express Inn is 100times better

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Trias, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Located just a few steps away from Lapu-lapu Public Market and that's what I love about it the most! Haha! :)The rooms are not big but it has its own CR and AC.. Staffs are accommodating and friendly :) There are rooms below P1000 and its best on its price! Plus it's clean! :)

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Not much to say about this place except that week that I stayed there the staff was very friendly and were aware of that was basically last resort of a accommodation. If you have to connect a laptop or charge a phone you have to unplug the television because lack of AC sockets.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Front desk was empty. Guard has to prompt the person in charge to report to his place.
De luxe room was filthy. Floor was littered with small Bits of trash and was very rough and dusty. The AC was not placed properly to ensure comfort to guest lying down in bed.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVHotel, Owner at GV Hotel Lapu-Lapu City, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, I apologize if this has cause you any inconvenience, the experience you encountered is not within our standards in GV Hotels and will be reprimanding the staff involved. If you could provide me your room number and the date you stayed, you can email it to talktous@gvhotels.com.ph, that will be a great help in tracing who we will be reprimanding.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is located in Lapu Lapu, about 15-20 minutes from the airport. This is a "budget hotel" with a nicely presented website. The website was the best part about this place. I took a Standard room and was presented with a dirty looking room with bare walls, a thin bed and a bathroom that had ants crawling all over it. The cable TV that they advertise was nonexistent, the TV has at most, 2-3 channels. They did offer free wifi in the lobby only. The neighborhood did not have much to offer except for a Jollibee across the street that opens late and closes early.

The hotel could do a few simple things to make the rooms more appealing: Hang some stuff on the walls inside the room, get real cable TV and take care of the ant problems in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Their is not much difference between Standard and Deluxe other than the Deluxe offers a hot water sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Check-in: When I arrived, no one was in the front desk. The guard just called the lady on duty. Looked like she just leaves there because she was not in her uniform but rather in her comfortable house clothes. She was polite and courteous in asking me my printed booking confirmation and asked me for a P200.00 deposit, refundable upon check-out. She issued an Official Receipt right away and handed my room key.

The Room: Room assigned to me was in the 3rd floor and there's no lift in the building. I chose a Matrimonial Bed. It was okay but linen was too thin that you can even read what's written in the bed tag. Pillows were good, firm but soft. Floor was dusty. I even scrubbed it with the rag they provided. There was a TV (CRT) but you have to get the remote control from the front desk. A/C worked well. Room has a window with very thin curtain. Made me woke-up early.

Toilet and Bath: Toilet walls, floor tiles, toilet bowl were clean. No hot and cold shower but has great water pressure. It has a dirty, broken pail with a dirty dipper in it. Don't know if someone will have a guts using it. Towel provided was thick and clean. A very small soap and a 1 tissue roll also were free.

Location: Walking distance from Cebu-Mactan Ferry warf. Unitop Supermarket is just beside the building. La Nueva Supermarket and Jollibee are just infront and there are lots of bakeries and stores outside. Nice Restos like AA BBQ, malls like Gaisano and Marina Mall are just 1 jeepney ride away for P8.00 only. Airport is approximately 15 mins. away...depending on traffic situation.

Overall, it was a good choice for a backpacker that's not so picky about hotel amenities. For just P725.00 a night, I can't complain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GV Hotel Lapu-Lapu City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GV Hotel Lapu-Lapu City

Address: GY dela Serna St., Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GV Hotel Lapu-Lapu City 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your GV Hotel Lapu-Lapu City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GV Hotel Lapu-Lapu City Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GV Hotel Lapu-Lapu City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.