We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but there were a few shortfalls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Hong Kong Region, China
1 review
“Good but there were a few shortfalls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1. Stayed in both Amuma Spa Suite (because of the typhoon which caused the beach side wing closed) and Premier Deluxe Room (which I originally booked). The Amuma Spa Suite is quite dated and the premier deluxe room is much better value (only 15 USD more per night). The premier deluxe room was near the beach and is relatively newly furbished. We can see the sea from the room door. (It cost more for directly sea facing but as not much to see, so not worth it).

2. Free wi-fi within the hotel and the speed was quite good.

3. Location-wise, it has a Savemore supermarket within walking distance and there is a massage place (around 10 USD per hour for foot massage) next to the supermarket (and there is also one outside the hotel entrance. There are also stalls that sells roast chicken and fruits near the supermarket.

4. Breakfast is okay standard only. Have reasonable choices but lacks the usual stuff like sausages and baked beans.

5. There are a number of pools in the hotel but all of them are small.

6. The beach is so-so in terms of water quality (since there are a lots of seaweeds) and was told that there are sea urchins which could be dangerous.

7. The staff are friendly but the check in staff was not very efficient (took over 15 mins for check in. However, when I walked past him the next day, he remembered my name.)

8. About 25 mins from the airport so quite okay (taxi fare around 7 USD).

9. Tap water is a bit salty so not recommended for you to drink it (even after boiled).

Room Tip: If you are not budget sensitive, Premier Deluxe Room is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    242
    90
    39
    33
See reviews for
160
146
29
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You will not appreciate the place unless you will get inside and see the trees and their botanical garden. It's very quiet and good for people who really want to relax. Their beach front has a small islet about 500 meters away where you can do dancing in the night and can even make party without disturbing other guests.

Room Tip: Rooms at botanical garden is quiet if you really want complete relaxation but rooms in beach front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reception
All guests are welcomed with refreshing lemony drinks at the main hut.
Just across the main hust is the entertainment
People are ready to assist you with your bags and stuff. A golf cart/trolley ride will also take you to your room.

Room
We took the Deluxe Premier room ar the Amuma wing ground floor where the pool is just outside.
It is spacious with 2 queen size beds, fridge, 32 inch led cable tv, quiet aircon.
The bathroom is one of the spacious ones i have seen. It has marble stones to emulate nature, a bath tub, a separate shower and a loo.

Resort Grounds and Free Facilities
There is a free play area for guests which has a pool table, a table tennis and an Internet linked computer.
Do not miss the fish pond (more of a shark pond) where there are 4 ft long sharks. Feeding time is at 4pm where you can watch them devour their food.
Most of the sharkies i saw are in glass aquariums, here you will see them in the water below you along with other fishes.

Beach Area
The beach area is at the east side where water activities await e.g. paddle boat, jetski
or you can simple take a dip, swim or snorkel. Across is the "Island". An acitivity/function place perhaps for anyone who like it for themselves. One has to take a canoe/small boat across.

Pool
Serene, quiet, can be fun with kids. Chlorinated

Breakfast Buffet at Allegro
Not as excellent but there is a wide array of choices (i prefer savoury dishes). The usual breads, pancakes, bacon, corned beef
They also have a noodle station (several kinds), the puto-maya (indegenous rice cack with chocolate drink/dip). Fruits (yeah but no mango)
Omelet station, salad station, dimsum lane of siomai and pao.

Excellent Service
You know that a resort have their people trained.
When checking out, you can ask for the same trolley to ferry your stuff out.
They will also help out in getting a cab out/home while you sit and relax.

$$$ - Oh yes be prepared.
Prices of Spa/Massage, Water Activities, Seafood Ala Cart in the resort are a bit attrocious ...

Overall:
The resort is Kid Friendly. Good for the family. They offer a lot.
Yes worth coming back.

Room Tip: On the Amuma wing, choose the rooms that are not close to the wall on the road (east wall). One can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before I arrive at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort I had this impression not to expect so much as its a very matured resort and most likely crowd will be majority if not within my age, will be more senior and lastly resort will look rather tired. To my biggest surprise the resort is very well maintained after so many years, every single power switch in my room worked perfectly, Up todate huge plasma TV with numerous awesome channels. Enticing, tempting, romantic, provoking open bath tub and a very nice comfortable heavenly bed made me want to stay in bed. Service was phenomenon and u will never miss a smile from the service staff. Food was awfully delicious and generous in servings. Lastly, I didnt feel out of place as the crowd was a mixture of vibrant colorful young generation and senior couples occupying most of the beach area. It was really a well deserved stay and looking forward to my next stay which I will ensure will be holiday and no longer business.

Room Tip: Its an all suite or villa Resort so choose beach front or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyz B, General Manager at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Bluewater Maribago as your destination of choice and we are glad that we were able to make your stay with us a memorable one.

We at Bluewater Maribago are continually improving our facilities in order to serve our loyal customers better. Rooms are getting renovated, our menu constantly improved and our staff is more than willing to pamper you like a mother would care for a child which is true to our mantra of Amuma with Excellence.

We hope to have you back again with us during your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Rhyz O. Buac
General Manager
BLUEWATER MARIBAGO BEACH RESORT
Buyong Maribago, Mactan Island
Lapu-lapu City, Cebu 6015
T (63 32) 492 0100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's a great resort for a family.
We always go here.
However this was the first time there was an event for a school and it was noisy the whole day.
Our afternoon nap was ruined by loud music and constant games outside.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the best hotels in the area..
A good choice of pools to swim in with poolside bungalows. Just be aware of the pool police as throwing a ball too fast may get you in trouble, I think the pool safety guy was a wanna be policeman..
Service and checkin was great and Dennis the Duty manager was so very helpful. choice of room was great as suggested by him overlooking the pool. Rooms had outdoor shower area and very spacious.
Thankyou for a nice stay mate and will be back when in Cebu Mactan again.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms very spacious. upstairs and down
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This is the only place i stay in Cebu, Maribago Blue water Resort is fantastic, place, staff are just beautiful, we have stayed there 3 times, and with plans to return.
Rooms are cleaned daily, it is so relaxing,breakfast is amassing,so much food and so many choices,some thing for everyone.
Great place for families,
or couples you will just love it,nothing is to much for them to do for you to make your holiday so enjoy able .

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room,and it was out side the pool it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.