We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ripoff with lots of monkey business” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“ripoff with lots of monkey business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Booked for 7 days and it was the worst mistake ever. Me and my wife decided to visit Cebu and decided to stay at this hotel. We arranged for airport shuttle pickup. Other resorts had representatives near the baggage pick up at the airport to direct you where your shuttle was, this resort had none. This was the first sign this resort is cheap and had bad service. This resorts shuttle was nowhere in sight. The pickup was late even though we called 2 times to confirm our flight arrival which was on time. Finally after 1 hour of waiting we noticed a very ghetto looking man outside with no uniform of the resort holding my wife's name. After identifying ourselves, he flags down and old beat up Nissan car which he tells us is our ride to the resort. It turns out that they just called a rental car company to pick us up. We didnt know he if would really take us to the resort or turn on an empty alley and rob us.

When we arrived at the resort we are very tired at this point coming all the way from Chicago and waiting for the late airport pickup. The driver takes out our bags put it on the side and we were just standing there and the receptionist didnt even look up and greet us. There were 3 lady employess standing there hanging flowers over the necks of korean guest arriving and they didnt even look at us, greet us. They just ignored us. I can understand Cebuano and the 2 ladies working the front desk were arguing who should call us and check us in. One of them finally looked at us and checked us in.

When we got to our room, the in room safe was broken, the room smells moldy, holes in the sheets from cigarettes and there are cracks all over the walls.We called the front desk and requested for at least the safe to be fixed but they refused. No internet inside the rooms and when u call to complain they just keep telling you "I.T. department is working on it." For 7 days we stayed here the wifi problem inside the rooms were never fixed. There is wifi in the lobby and restaurant which is not air conditioned so u will sweat to death and be crawled and bitten by flies and mosquitos.

They would let day visitors in the resort from 8am to around 5 pm and they pay only a fraction of what the in house guest like us pay and they are very noisy and will crowd the pools. The pools are very dirty with lots of leaves at the bottom and floating around the pool. The staff who are suppose to clean the pool spend their day talking with each other and checking out the women guests that are wearing bikinis.

The next day we ate at the Allegro restaurant. I dont mind paying for high food prices if the food is good but it was bad. So you are paying 5 star resort prices when this resort is only 2 stars at best and the to make matters worse the food tastes really bad. For 7 days staying here we noticed only a few guest would eat at the restaurant and we wont see them again. So when they taste the food they never come back. Make sure you look at your receipts because the servers will overcharge you or give you the wrong change. I ordered a banana shake which says in their menu 155 pesos and they charged us 235 pesos. I uploaded the picture of the receipt and copy of their menu side by side.

They list their rooms as non smoking so we booked a non smoking room but on our third day at the resort they put a chain smoking couple beside our room and they would smoke non stop until 3 am and just sleep 3 hours and start smoking again at 6am. The smoke would fill our room and we had to shut our doors and constantly spray air freshener so we wouldnt suffocate. When we complained they just told us "ok" and they never did anything about it. They didnt even offer to transfer us to another room.

We decided to take a break from this nightmare and took they shuttle to SM mall which is not free and u also have to pay. When we came back with some food security grabbed my wife pulled us to the front desk and told us we need to pay corkage fee which nobody explained to us when we checked in. We felt like prisoners and not treated as guests. I asked them how come they dont ask the Korean guests to pay corkage fees and they had no answers.

They were so may Korean tourist here you would think u were in Korea. They arrive early in the morning because thats when their flight arrive and they are very noisy and will wake u up when u are sleeping. They will cut in line in the restaurant and cough at the food at the buffet. Basically if u are not Korean u will be treated as 2nd class guests. They treat Korean guests VIP and ignore all other guests.

We finally asked to talk to the manager on the fourth day and he didnt talk to us until the morning we were gonna check out on the 7th day and offered us a free massage. WTF? really? I said no thank you i just wanted to leave ur stupid resort.They offered to move us to another room on the night of our sixth day but we refused because why move when we were gonna check out the next morning. They refunded what we paid for the late airport pickup and gave us a free shuttle to the airport. After what we went through I didnt even care if they refunded us anything and i would have gladly paid just to get out of that hell hole.

If they ever respond to this review they will just lie and give another excuse. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princesa013, New Media Marketing Officer at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We take all comments seriously, including those in open forums (like Tripadvisor) where it is difficult to get a complete and objective view of issues.

First, we want to make it clear that we do not “rip-off” our guests nor do we engage in “monkey business” as alleged. These insinuations are unjust, derogatory and baseless.

Yes, we did have lapses and are truly very sorry to you for being a disappointment and inconvenience. Note that they were not intentional. Contrary to remarks made on direct issues, we did our best to personally apologize and rectify your complaints during your visit.

We agree with you that we cannot make excuses. We avoid making any. We are also not callous to the concerns of our guests. As we all know, even the best foolproof systems will still fail at some point. When a problem occurs, we can only expediently correct and work on preventing issues. This is part of our commitment to give our guests the best possible service.

Since already discussed with you previously, we believe it is not necessary to reply again on specific complaints. However, your points were considered and we initiated procedures on improving affected service. Also, due process was given to associates involved, with disciplinary actions if required. However, we would like to clarify some of your points and perceptions.

On the question of preferential treatment amongst guests, we serve our guests fairly. We do not tolerate discrimination based on any non-merit factor, including race, national origin, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability (physical or mental), age, status as a parent, or genetic information. They will be served on a first-come, first-serve basis. All employees are responsible for complying with this policy in discharging their job duties. We are always monitoring any deviations from this policy. We reinforced this in our staff training. In fairness, we disdain the sweeping racial comments you made on fellow-guests and urge sensitivity to other cultures, in spite of behavioral differences. Also, putting flower leis has never been a practice.

With regards to the bill error, this was immediately corrected after it was brought to our attention. At the same time, you were apprised of the problem and resolution. This was an honest mistake and there is no systematic practice to defraud our guests. To double-check, we always encourage our guests to verify their bill prior to payment. The error was traced to a glitch in a POS machine during a very recent update. Measures were already taken to ensure that it will not occur again.

For the record, only the Amuma Spa Suites are listed as non-smoking rooms. This information can be found on our website at www.bluewater.com.ph. There was an offer to change rooms but was declined.

We added more signs and trained our associates to properly inform guests regarding policy on food provisions brought into the resort. These are part of measures to ensure security and safety of guests, as well as curb any abuse and maintain the resort’s quality standards.

With all due respect, we do not deserve to be called false and insulting names despite the anxiety caused. We have been in the industry for 24 years and it is not right for 200 hardworking men and women to suffer for lapses of a few or system gaps. This situation only brings us more resolve to always provide positive and better guest experience.

Again, we apologize and hope for your understanding. We know and regret that we have lost a valuable client, but, we remain open if you still have any more concerns to communicate. You and the forum readers can directly call me at (63 32) 492 0100 or email at gm@bluewater.com.ph.

Sincerely Yours,

Rhyz O. Buac
General Manager, Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    240
    90
    39
    33
See reviews for
159
144
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The resort is well-kept. Groundskeepers are constantly working on the lush garden. We upgraded to a bigger room closer to the beach, and the rooms are newer and well maintained. But the A/C cannot handle the heat, we asked for a fan and we got it in a timely manner.
On our first day, we had some issues with the WIFI and they had their IT working on it immediately. Food, drinks, and services are expensive. The beach is fairly nice, they have a little island, across fromt he beach,which you can reach via a small boat or swim to it, but once you get there.... there is nothing else you can do but lay on the beach (if that's your soul purpose), or you can bring a cooler with drinks if you want to.
There is a lot of people waiting outside the gates trying to sell tours, and they will follow you down the road even if you tell them no.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you get breakfast included in your package (they have a really great 3hour buffet each morning) then its a pretty good deal and place to go. Good beach, good rooms (clean, air-con, cable TV), great pools, food/meals a bit pricey (its a good idea to take some with you). I will be going there again someday!

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room next to a pool, you will literally walk just 10 steps to go for a swim!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had 3 Amuma Spa room reservation last April 2013
* Reception staff was not friendly at all, nobody from the receptionist acknowledge us for about 15 minutes waiting in the Reception.
* The 2 rooms was ready at 3pm when we get there, rooms are so stinky, that we had to call them to request that we can't stay there.
* Pillows, linens, bathroom are so stinky
*There are so many "PROS" everywhere in the Resort, We did not enjoy the stay at all
* I will never recommend the Resort

Room Tip: not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The visual image of this hotel is wonderful. But the only staff who justify their appointment are the gardeners. They maintain a beautiful resort. Staying for a meal and 1-3 nights I think would be a terrific experience. I have spent 36 nights at this hotel in the last 10 months; part business, part holiday. The reality is awful. Security is at prison level but provided by boys who like strutting around in a uniform, using walkie-talkies and chatting outside your room in the middle of the night. They are a joke and capable of doing little more than calling a cab. To obtain a towel at a swimming pool you will need to produce your room key and provide a signature which suggests they assume all guests are potential towel thieves? Whatever I eat or drink at Bluewater means I will be visiting the bathroom within the hour and need to stay close for the next 2-3 hours. The problem is water. It is used to wash salads, make ice, tea, coffee and milk products (almost all milk in the Philippines is imported as powder and reconstituted.) Whilst the hotel staff claim to consistently use mineral water my physical reaction was normal when consuming these products anywhere else. Bluewater cause major hydration difficulties by charging exorbitant prices for bottled water ($ US 9.70 for one litre of Volvic water). When carrying two one litre bottles of mineral water purchased at a local supermarket into the resort I was frog marched by security to the reception area where I was told I would be charged corkage. My last visit to this hotel was in March 2013 when I stayed for 16 nights. During this part business, part holiday trip I saw eight clients. My intention had been to do business over a meal and maybe a swim at the hotel. However, even though I was paying for single occupancy of a double room, this did not happen as the hotel made it clear I would have to pay a substantial fee per client ($ US 36.50) before they would be allowed beyond the reception desk. The outcome was that I took my clients elsewhere, (where I spent close to $ (US) 5000 entertaining them) rather than expose them to the mercenary (and petty) attitude of this resort. The Bluewater Hotels Group may be 'very filipino' as its website claims, but it is also very capable of shooting itself in the foot. The Filipinos I know are not at all like the staff at Maribago Bluewater. They are overwhelmingly good people. To them, and me, Maribago Bluewater is an embarrassment.

Room Tip: For a break of a day or two for a middle income family this is likely to be a wonderful experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel coziness comes mainly from the thached roofs and low structures instead of high buildings. Room (Amuda Spa) was ok except of small worms that seemed to crawl in from somewhere especially in the bathroom. Made me think how the hotel keeps the fancy looking stone floor clean at all times.

It was nice to have pool right accross the hotel room door. Terasse facing the pool by the room entrance was really useful.

Enjoyed the affordable room rates. Breakfast was ok. Avoided hotel restaurants because of high pricing. Very big plus was that there were other nice restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here twice already and our last stay in this resort was with my family including my elderly parents and our stay was wonderful and relaxing for my parents. The rates are quite pricey but this would be expected in most resorts in Mactan. This resort was one of those reasonably priced though for its facilities.

The rooms are quite big and clean with a porch where you can just relax at night. The facilities are well-kept and the resort was well-equipped with snorkeling equipments, spa, play area, etc. Although Mactan is generally not known for its sandy beaches since it can get really murky when it's low tide, however, the beach area in Maribago is quite clean and during high tide, you can also swim in its clear waters since this is a private beach.

The resort however, boasts of its pools. Going around the resort, I saw three pools within its grounds, the biggest one is near the hotel rooms. The pools are well-lighted and you can enjoy swimming even at night.

Breakfast buffet is superb with a lot of food choices. The resort grounds are quite big and it would be very tiring to walk around especially at high noon. It's a good thing they have electric carts for guests, however, we only saw about two carts for all the guests to use.

They have a bar and a seafood restaurant at the farthest end of the resort, it would be an effort to walk all the way to the bar/resto. The food in the seafood restaurant is quite great although a bit over-priced and with such a small serving.

This resort is suitable for a family vacation..Would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.