We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Get 15% Off
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The place was just beautiful. The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating. The rooms and the facilities are beautiful. Plenty of activities to occupy yourself from a variety of exciting watersports, golf, sunbathing, swimming etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    460
    122
    58
    28
See reviews for
719
437
59
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Kids love this place, Adults love the place... the service is extraordinaire... the food is excellent and the People are wonderful. You cant go wrong spending your holiday alone with your partner or with your kids in this place. Worth every penny!!! Highly cmmmendable place. My kids just love to come back and come back to this wonderful place....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

When I first came to this resort some years ago, I was not impressed. The rooms are far from the pool and the beach. Kinda tiring going back to our room if we left something if we are already in the beach. However, when we checked-in last Aug 25, 2013, i was really impressed with the room. It has complete amenities, plus a welcome fruit platter. Unlike other hotels that has only 2 pieces glass for water, they have 6. Yes, 6! Well, the 2, I think is a whiskey glass; but not bad at all, having those stuff; and, unlike other other hotels that has only a small bar of soap and a shampoo, well, Shangri-La has, besides the bar soap and shampoo, they have liquid soap, conditioner, lotion, liquid soap and a hair tie. Only in this i have seen a hair tie as one of the amenities. They are just full of amenities inside the room, i just find it so comforting seeing those.

Room Tip: View from their Sea view rooms are just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was on holiday in the Philippines from Canada and wanted to have a luxurious weekend by the beach. We settled on Shangri-la Mactan after learning about their marine life sanctuary. We headed for the beach right after check in. I liked that their beach wasn't crowded and even in shallow water you can snorkel and see the corals and fish. But it was very unfortunate that after having dinner at their restaurant (Tides) on our first night, I got very sick 8 hours later. I was throwing up, had stomach cramps and diarrhea. I was brought to the hospital and doctors said I had gastroenteritis, likely from consumption of improperly prepared of food. Of all the restaurants, hotels and countries that I have been to and stayed, it's unbelievable this happened in a 5-star hotel. The hotel refused to admit they served contaminated food and wanted to blame it on a brunch I had at another restaurant before I checked into the hotel. If that was the case, I would've been sick already in the afternoon of our first day not the following morning.

So there I was spending the following morning in the hospital. The rest of my stay in the hotel was spent between frequent runs to the toilet and lying down sick in bed. Gone was my much-anticipated plan stay on the beach. What I find so ridiculous is to still be charged $570 for a two night stay knowing we didn't even get to avail of the room inclusions like the free breakfast because I was too sick to leave the room. In the first place, it wasn't my fault that i fell ill and got stuck in bed.

Everyone in the hotel was helpful, polite and all, the hotel F&B manager did say I will not be charged for any food and drinks but I just checked my credit card transactions and I still see such charges in my credit card. If the charges will eventually be reversed, I don't know. But really now, what is that compared to what they put me through. We checked out this morning and I am still not well. There goes my vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco V, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear claire122,

We are sorry you have been unwell and hope you are now feeling better. We understand your disappointment and apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. Please be assured that we maintain internationally recognized standards of food hygiene and sanitation and these measures are seriously regarded to ensure a clean environment for our guests and colleagues.

As a gesture of goodwill and as committed, food and beverage expenses have not been reflected in your total bill.

Should you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact me directly at marco.vazzoler@shangri-la.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

best place to stay in Cebu, I was there for 4 nights and enjoyed each and every moment.

large clean pool with good choice of feed across the multi choice restaurants.

Used their shuttle for airport pick and drop, which was a good, how ever will prefer a more regular service in morning, when most of the flight leave from Cebu.




  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent property and well worth the money spent. Great and attentive staff in all aspects. The beach is great also on my first day there I witness a patron apparently having trouble in the water. In no time the Lifeguard on duty responded to the situation and probably saved the man's life.

Room Tip: If possible get the panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-La for our stop-over holiday between living in Australia and returning to America. We splurged and got a 1 bedroom suite in order to provide separate sleeping areas. Arriving late and tired, the room was made up and 2 beds for the children were ready and waiting. The resort staff was extremely friendly and attentive. There was always a table available at breakfast. The kids (ages 9 and 6) enjoyed the kids club, though the 6 year old loved it more. Very convenient to have a Dive Shop on the grounds. My son did the PADI Bubble-maker course and got out on the reef. I had my first dive in 11 years.
So relaxing by the pool or the beach. Great happy hour specials down at the beach bar. The food was good but not great (compared to other Shangri-La resorts we've been to). Best selection at the breakfast buffet and good quality at the dinner buffets.
And lots of delicious mangoes!! Fresh mangoes, mango smoothies, mango juice, mango cocktails, mango ice cream. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask about the construction /renovation. One entire wing was being re-done when we were there in July...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.