We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase: 15% Off
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Hong Kong
1 review
“Fantastic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited Shangri-la Cebu for a quick break and were looking for a relaxing 4 days away from busy life in HK. We were not disappointed. Upgraded to suite on arrival which was very considerate given we were traveling with 2 young kids and the extra space was well used. Lovely beach, pool and play areas for kids. Great restaurants in terms of quality and value. Did not want to leave ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    434
    106
    53
    25
See reviews for
667
410
53
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed in Shangri-la Mactan for a short vacation with my family. We have stayed here several times in the past and we never get disappointed with the resort amenities, food choices, and the service. This place is perfect for those with kids, as the management really makes it a point to make the resort as kid friendly as possible. Rooms we stayed in are newly refurbished and other rooms still ongoing renovation. We encountered a slight inconvenience one night as we were swimming in the pool and saw sparks and smoke, and smelled chlorine fumes nearby the pool. The lifeguard on duty was the only staff we encountered who did not seem to care and did not know how to handle the situation. However, when we called the attention of management, they were very apologetic and explained the situation. The management knows how to handle their customers well. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Shangila in Mactan several times in the past. In fact we even brought our whole office staff once. As to be expected, the service was very good. Efficient and courteous staff. For this trip, we attended a wedding of a friend that was held at the Marquee pavilion, which was within the Hotel Complex. We took the cart going to and from our room which was at the far end Ocean Wing. We only stayed two nights, 3 days.

Room Tip: If you stay at the Ocean Wing, the Acqua Restaurant is less crowded than the Tides main dining area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is family resort with many kids, if you are after quiet honeymoon hideaway you are looking at wrong place. However I stayed here for 3 times in last 2 years and brought with me my 3month old infant and 2.5yr old girl and everything worked out perfect.

What you get:
- Friendly staff in safe cozy resort environment.
- Top beach and coral reef perfect for snorkel right outside your hotel. This is a VERY VERY NICE coral beech and I come to Cebu Shangri-la for THIS beach.
- Overpriced Chi Spa... I'd use them if they were 1/3 the price.

What you don't get:
- serenity of 'adult only' ambiance. You will have kids everywhere.
- utmost luxury in terms of amenities or facilities - this is resort hotel, not a boutique luxury heaven.
- international 5* gastronomy - resort has 3 main dining venues + buffet restaurant. The quality of food was best at AQUA ok at Cowrie Cove and Tide was a disappointment. If food is important you may be out of luck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed here several times while visiting cebu and evertime has been a good experience. They've renovated some of the rooms already and in the process of renovating the rest.

Checkin was a breeze and they greet with you a drink. Room and bed was great, our room was recently renovated so it was very nice. My family has been coming here for years and anytime i am in cebu i make it a point to stay here. Pools were great, the one close to the restaurant with the infinity edge was very clean and well maintained. The other pool area with the slide and basketball goal not quite as clean. Aread behin the basketball goal needs to be cleaned as it is very grassy and dirty looking. Other than that everything else was good.

Breakfast is the best here, so dont miss it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was there back in March 2013 for a business trip. The resort is big and there are a lot of facilities can be use during my stay there. The newly renovated rooms are very comfy and bright, especially the Seaview Room.

I love Tides and Tea of Spring, both provides good food that you can't resist. I was told that they have the biggest Chi spa in the group, and I tried one of the treatment which is totally relax there.

Good resort that also with a huge kids club, many things that can be done and spend time with your kids there.

Last but not least, they have the most beautiful beach with a Marine Sanctuary. You guys should visit here. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spend my holidays with my girlfriend. Everything was perfect. The staff working will accomodate your needs and will go extra mile for service. Your stay would be lovely especially if your spending holidays with your family or your partner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.