We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asiatravel.com Travelocity
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Package
Ranked #2 of 27 hotels in Lapu Lapu
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here so many times but never made a review on this resort since every time I'm here everything is flawless from the moment I step out of the car til i reach my room. Stayed again last night on a last minute booking and as usual great service. Love the place and love the staff

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    808
    356
    78
    44
    18
See reviews for
536
345
43
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I just came back from five-night stay at Shangri La Mactan Resort and have to say I was continually amazed at all the attention to detail at the resort. I felt like the management of the resort pretty much read my mind in terms of the service/facilities I would want/need for my family and everything was there ready for us. It really is super kid/baby friendly (e.g., great play room area, water facility with age appropriate pools and slides), staff is very helpful/friendly (they appear immediately with beach towels when you grab a chair on the beach/by the pool), facility is not as luxurious as some of the hotels you will see in South East Asia but clean and reliable.

I would totally go back to this resort every year with other families until my children are old enough to appreciate/handle more adventurous/cultural destinations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

It is always a pleasure to stay at Shangri-la Mactan. For this stay, we were upgraded to a Panorama Suite, and when they promised a very nice room, the staff meant it. I could never ask for more. The only disappointment was the lack of bidet in the room. But over-all, no other complaints because the whole experience made up for the lack of bidet. If someone loves aqua sports or activities, there are interesting stuff to choose from. Their beach has powdery white sand, with life guards always on the look-out. Food/drinks station is nearby to caters to guests' cravings. There are pools, both for children and adults. There is even a mini golf course for the guests, and a mini chapel for spiritual reflection. One time, I saw an F&B staff scattering/throwing bread crumbs for the birds in a corner, it was a very cute sight. I felt the hotel and staff were working in harmony with nature.

Room Tip: The hotel is doing renovations but they are doing their best to minimize the noise. Request for Ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Its like your in an Island isolated with all the fuzz of the world. The staffs are so kind and helpful. Their pools are something to go back to. They have special places and activities for kids. They provide transfers from hotel to city. Good food menu from breakfast to dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Their lush garden, appealing landscape of a tropical and classy hideaway, high ceiling and extensive lobby with tasteful furniture were a great way to enjoy the place.

We booked three (3) rooms and it took a while to check in to one of the rooms as they cannot seem to locate the reservation. Our rooms were located at the 5th, 8th and 9th floors of their Ocean wing. Views from our rooms were spectacular. Rooms were well kept. Bed, Linens and Pillows were of good quality. Rooms were spacious, cozy, simple and elegant. Take the 9th floor of their ocean wing.

Staff is attentive from their baggage porters, guest assistants to those deployed near the pool and beach and Tides restaurant.

Breakfast buffet has an array of choices from breads, soups, local and international cuisine and fresh fruit juices.

Recommending this to families with kids as they will surely enjoy the pool and slides.

Room Tip: Choose the 9th floor at their Ocean Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was here last weekend for the wedding of a friend of mine. Arrived at the Hotel the nicest staff helped me with the bags, the front desk staff was very efficient in less than 10 minutes I was assigned a room in the Ocean wing with a free Sea View upgrade.. The resort is fantastic, beautiful pools and private beach (a little small maybe) but well organized and most importantly, clean. I was very happy with the staff always friendly and smiling. Nothing to say about the quality of the food in the Tides's restaurant Buffet ... Delicious! Congratulations to Shangry-La Mactan, they made me spend a splendid weekend in paradise!

Room Tip: Try the Ocean Wing Room's
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-la for just 3 nights on our way back to HongKong. Location is convenient as it is close to the airport. Beautiful beach with very good service. Rooms are clean and the whole resort is well taken care of. Service is friendly. The Italian Restaurant as well as the Cowrie Cove provided good service and excellent food. Breakfast tended to be very crowded with waiting times between 9 and 10 but the staff did their utmost.
Although there were many families with kids the resort is so big that there is room for everybody. We would not stay there for longer as we usually prefer smaller resorts but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Venere, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa to your Saves list