We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Express Inn

Save Saved
You added Express Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Express Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Candelario K. Gumba Street | Barangay Pajo, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 hotels in Lapu Lapu
Ormoc City, Ormoc, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was stranded due to a typhoon that day and so out of haste I was supposed to book the other branch at Cebu, instead I got this Lapu-Lapu branch. My first consideration was the price, then the rating and reviews too.
The hotel was clean enough, and I was shocked they had good wifi. But what I did not like was the location. Not only was it hard to find but the neighborhood was somewhat unsafe. I'm not going back here if there are better choices.

Room Tip: The room is quite small. I assume all the other rooms are so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
5
11
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

this hotel is very new. rooms are small but clean and all necessary is present although you might get stuck manoeuvring between the bed and the desk/shelf. an lcd tele is provided with many international channels. breakfast is simple, filipino style and plated, but does the trick for a budget place. rate for a double room in this state is very cheap. biggest drawback is that although not far from the highway in lapu lapu most taxis are not familiar with it. getting away a taxi has to be called from the highway as well. the hotel is in the middle of a messy area. although never threatening its not very interesting. the internet was not always working in the room and staff was not very helpful in fixing it. in the restaurant it was flawless.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Honestly, I would like not to complain since it is a dirt cheap hotel but they really need to improve the staff quality and training.

Location is a bit dodgy and room are tiny

Breakfast is a piece of bread with oily eggs!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Three of us stayed here one night to be close to the airport. We booked a twin room with extra bed on Agoda. The pop up bed barely fit in the tiny room and actually collapsed with me in it at one point. The room itself and bathroom are nicely decorated but everything broke! The shelf came off the sink and hook fell off the door! The design of the bathroom as well was awful. The shower completely flooded the bathroom every time and was slow to drain. In addition somehow the airconditioning unit sent an electric current through the window frame! Breakfast was ok and came included although my companion's cutlery had ants crawling all over. Lastly we asked the hotel to call us a taxi for an alloted time for the airport, the time came and went and we ended up waiting for them to just flag us a taxi down. The hotel is off the main road so we left 20 mins late. Disappointing stay but cheap and close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

worst hotel I've ever stayed. not to mention their shabby location and super small room, their service is the worst ever
1. The hotel promised us that they would provide the packed breakfast at 5:30am when we checked out as we had an early flight. When we actually checked out at 5:30am, we were told the breakfast was given to the customers who checked out earlier than us
2. The female staff even told us that they only provided the breakfast starting at 6am (after they promised to provide the breakfast)
3. The female staff also showed us that they do NOT have any record about us requesting the packed breakfast
4. If the hotel really does not provide the breakfast before 6am, why were they able to give other customers the breakfast? Why didn't they tell us in advance (instead of promising us), so that at least we could prepare it ourselves
5. Eventually we didn't have anything to eat that morning because it was very early and we needed to catch the flight. Most importantly, our over 65 years old parents suffered the same!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Yes, the location of the Lapu Lapu is not so great, but other than that it is a great value if your looking for a budget stay. Staff was very helpful and it's close to airport, I also stayed at their location in Cebu City, it's in a much better location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The cost was worth it. Very good for travelers who would need wake up calls and stuff. However if you plan to have a jam-packed tour in Cebu, You should choose Express Inn Mandaue Branch because more places (such as ferry port, malls, etc.) are easier to access there compared to this Mactan Branch. Free breakfast wasn't worth it but you can upgrade it to a silog meal at low cost. Wi-fi is very excellent, I was able to download 8 GB of files in 4 hours hehe. Room service such as housekeeping depends on who's managing the front desk.

Room Tip: Choose a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Express Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn

Address: Candelario K. Gumba Street | Barangay Pajo, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 hotels in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Express Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as a budget hotel, Express Inn answers the needs of people who are looking for establishments that provide lodging at a cheaper price, yet with optimum customer service. With its competitive rates and location, Express Inn is truly an excellent choice for your stay. Each of the 54 rooms at this fine 3-star hotel feature superior amenities. Each room includes LCD television with digital cable, soothing hot and cold rain shower, toiletries kit, air conditioning, relaxing bed and great ambiance. This excellent hotel in Cebu also has car park, and elevator. The hotel blends expert service with state-of-the-art facilities to provide guests with a memorable stay. Dine in at Sammy's Cafe, or have your food served right in your room. No worries to digital connections, all rooms are equipped with FREE Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Express Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express Inn Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Express Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.