We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared” 3 of 5 stars
Review of EGI Resort and Hotel

EGI Resort and Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added EGI Resort and Hotel to your Saves list
EGI Resort and Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Maribago Beach, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Kew Gardens, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Be prepared”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I always carry basics before checking into any hotel, motel or resort. Water,tissue paper and some snacks. This proved handy at EGI as the resort is in flux. The check in was ok but not real welcoming. Entering the room was fine as the area was clean and tidy with a nice view. The furniture was dated with a couch that was in need of springs. Not antique or moldy just kind of a retro look. The bath area was similarly clean but in need of a new look. The dining department is dismal. Dinner was a very limited menu. I believe the lack of guests at the hotel cuts the cooks budget. The dining room staff was friendly and did the best with what they had to work with. The comp breakfast was good. Throughout the grounds employees were friendly and did a good job of upkeep. It appears EGI is going through some positive changes which are very much needed. I wish them luck. Just do your research before reserving this resort. Be prepared. The pool and beach areas are good for families.

Room Tip: Call ahead to verify what is working and what menu items are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
9
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed there for a month while in Cebu to visit my wifes parents . the best thing about this place is the roof top pool. the main pool is not very well kept. As many koreans stay there we found it very noisy. avoid the restaurants in the hotel at all costs shocking food. the room cleaning is very poor standard,believe me we visit cebu on average 3 times a year and there are many far better hotels and resorts in the lapu-lapu . i would strongly advise you to avoid this one

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Not good for kids. Maybe this hotel is ideal for koreans or the like where they can freely bring their catch from the nearby bars. This hotel is cheap and you will definitely get what you paid for.

The beach? No thanks. The shoreline on this hotel is worst, it is made of mud. White sand is just like 10 sacks scattered to their shores. The pool is slippery underneath, means its dirty with lots of leaves. As I said, you get what you paid for. The pool on the roof deck is quite better.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is near and view-able by the CCTV and facing the road than the ocean view, all oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I made the mistake of staying here for 2 nights. I liked the way it looked in the pictures with beach area and nice pool. The beach doesn't exist and the water behind the hotel looks like a sewer at best. The hotel pool while nice is rented to the public also. There was a huge company party there the first night with drunks and loud noise everywhere. The second day they rented it to anyone including locals to use as a public pool. There is absolutely no chairs to sit at around the pool either. I asked for a pool towel our first trip to the pool and they told me to use the ones out of our rooms. We did and one of them got some stains on it from somewhere, probably from having to sit on it on the hard rock area around the pool. The day I was leaving the presented me with a bill for $350 pesos to pay for said towel. Needless to say I was very mad but they didn't care and insisted I pay. I also had a toilet problem they never fixed. They said they would be back later and never came back. I wont go back there again, bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had 8 days at this Hotel, nice and clean but now a little dated. Great pools. Breakfast was good, but simple, like most Hotels of this rating.
The best thing about EGI is it's position on the main road. Jeepneys pass every minute and for 10 pcs you can just about go anywhere. Beware of other Resorts that are not close to this main road!!!!! It will cost you money to leave the Hotel.White taxis are also very easy to get. Use their meters.
Staff were very friendly and helpfull. I would stop again if we visited Mactan Island. We won't.
Beware Cebu is NOT white sands and blue seas. Far from it. The beach here is really just a place to avoid.

Room Tip: On arrival at Cebu Airport go to Departures for a White Taxi. Make them use their meter. Gold Mango...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.7 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 39 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.2 mi away
Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EGI Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EGI Resort and Hotel

Address: Maribago Beach, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — EGI Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your EGI Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
EGI Resort And Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EGI Resort and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.