We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you're in Mactan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lapu Lapu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Gate Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Green Gate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
0056 Pajac Abuno, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Lapu Lapu B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you're in Mactan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent 4 nights in Green Gate after Christmas with my husband and two children and we found it a very pleasant experience. Grant, Violet, Catherine and the others were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. We were in the area for a wedding and we booked the Green Gate as part of a larger family group which worked very well. While I wouldn't necessarily recommend spending a lot of time in Mactan, if you have a reason to be in the area and want a welcoming, comfortable place to stay with a much lower price and more character than one of the big resort hotels, I would definitely recommend the Green Gate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
11
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orleans Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have stayed at several places in Mactan on my stopovers from Hong Kong and I can say that Green Gate is my fav. A Manor House in the middle of a non descriptive bumpy street it boasts a well manicured botanical garden (there are so many plants) and complete with bridge overlooking a Japanese fishpond.

The rooms open to an expansive terrace, with enough room for a McDonald family gathering!!!! You have a cute forged iron table & chairs but I missed for a couple loungers there. When the rooms are not rented the patio doors are locked shut so ask the staff to unlock them to enjoy the terrace.

The Pool room has a pole bed with the thickest mattress I’ve seen in Phil, it makes you feel like King Arthur in Camelot. The enclosed full bathroom is a bit dated but squeaky clean and it even has a bathtub. There is a well stocked mini-fridge just outside your door and tons of filtered cold water in the kitchen downstairs. A complete American or Continental breakfast is included so you are certain to leave early in the morning ready for anything.

Down from the terrace there is a pool that is seldom used so you feel like it is your own and is a great place to relax catching a few rays or to finish your paperback.

The hosts Grant & Violet are always handy to help with sightseeing, shopping tips or to arrange transport and the staff is very attentive to your needs frequently asking if there is anything they can get for you, this is 5 star service for very reasonable pension rates.

You will never feel cramped at Green Gate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

* Bedrooms - The room accomodations at Pool View & Garden View are big and comfortable. The two inner rooms have much less space to move around. The A/C is in good working condition, although some outside pollution is being pulled in instead of purely recirculating. One funny thing (or scary, depending on your POV) was I noticed a deadbolt located on the outside of the Garden View door!

* Bathrooms - Seems like in a 2-star hotel, nothing fancy. Not sure why flushing of toilet paper is not allowed, contrary to my habits. Big minus is I find it unnerving that the two inner bedrooms share the same bathroom, especially if another guest occupies the other room. Also, the ceiling inside the toilet room needs to be fixed and fully covered. (don't want something dropping out from there!)

* Dining - For breakfast, you have two choices of meals: American (Toasts, Fried Eggs, Bacon, Coffee) or Filipino (Red rice, Fried Eggs, Pork cutlets or Sausages, Juice). Both are good. For lunch & dinner, an ala carte menu is available, although with prices slightly higher than if you dined outside.

* Amenities - The pool water is set at cold only. At daytime it is nice and enjoyable; at night, it seriously needs more lighting or else it looks scary. I didn't see any fitness center around.

* Service - Most of the ladies there are friendly and attentive. Internet is free, but sometimes unreliable ... not their fault, but just saying. The laundry service, I didn't know it would take about 3 days to complete, which was totally unacceptable as my vacation wardrobe is very limited!

* Surroundings - Not much to look at as it's typical of a rural setting. Going to beaches, malls, or POIs requires outside transportation -- shuttle service is not offered.

Room Tip: If you can, reserve both Standard rooms if uncomfortable sharing the same bathroom with another gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talisay City, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Yesterday the wife and i were on Mactan Island and decided to stop at Green Gate for lunch. For the first time, we decided to try a new addition to their menu, a persian chicken dish that Violet cooked up for us. It was absolutely delicious. Violet served it to us with red rice and we couldn't get enough, I'll definely go back for more of this and maybe try to make some myself, since after begging, Violet kindly shared the recipe with me. Met a very nice couple from Holland that was staying there also. They both had chicken kabobs with red rice and and raved about it. Of course, Grant and Violet were as usual great hosts. Green Gate is a wonderfull place to not only stay, but if you are in the area, it is about the best food you'll get anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My Family & I stayed here for a week. We arrived at night and only noticed narrow streets going to the house. One morning I went out of gate & took photos of the outside property. The house is located in slam neighborhood. There is a garbage landfill right next door. Early in the morning you'll hear the sound of tricycle & other public vehicle that passes by the house & at night you'll hear some basketball & karaoke noise. It is indeed quiet & clean inside the house. Very true that Violet/owner will cater your every need but they forgot to mention that it will cost you nickel & dime :-)

In my opinion this pensionhouse will only suit the following type of people:

1. old or retired people who wouldn't like to get out of the room and like to stay quiet inside the room

2.Couples/lovers who wouldn't like to get out of the room & wants to get busy inside the room

This property is not good with family & kids running around making noise and having fun.
The property has videoke machine with rental fees but the owner said that her husband works at night & sleeps during day. So doing karaoke is a NO while someone is sleeping. The owner & Family lives in thesame house.

The Bathroom is very old and you are only provided with 2small pcs of safeguard soaps. Pls bring your ownpersonal toiletries

The bedroom is clean & has very old AC but the smoke/smell from the neighbors gets inside the AC's vent even if the vent is closed!

The pool doesn't smell chlorine. I'm not sure if it is chlorinated.

If you are planning to stay in property, pls make sure you discuss with the owner all other extra hidden charges/corkage fees.
Make sure you discuss what ameneties are included & which ones are not.

During check out Violet added the water charges & cooked food corkage fees that weren't disclosed to me upon check in so I was shocked when I saw my final bill with all the extra hidden charges that the owner added.
If you plan to borrow their towels & bring it to beach resorts, there is a non refundable charge per towel fee.

I don't appreciate staying in hotels/pension house nickle & dime me for every little thing that I do.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talisay City, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

my wife and i have stayed at green gate several times. it is a beautiful quiet place to relax and enjoy. the owners, grant and violet, are a pleasure to be around and will cater to your every need. if you want anything special they will make every effort to accomodate your desire. the staff are also attentive and the cooking is first class. the pool and landscape is clean and very nice. i recommend staying there if you are in mactan on business or vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My fiance and i wanted to spend three days at Cebu. A friendly woman picked us up at the airport. At first, i was a bit surprised because of the situation....But the house is nice with lot of flowers and trees and a nice swimming pool. It's so different compared with the district......
Our room was comfortable with aircon but unfortunatly the window/door was stucked and we could not go on the terrace..!? And we can not take advantage of the terrace because we had not long chair, as around the swimming pool..., a bit frustrating and no romantic....!!
On the other hand, the owner is funny and always ready to give you an advice....
The food is ok and not expansive.
To summarize it's a good deal at Mactan but not with european comfort standart....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 0056 Pajac Abuno, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely landscaped Bed and Breakfast located in the center of Lapu lapu city. Close to Airport, beaches and the heart of Cebu City. Truly delivers the feeling of an absolute private resort. Privacy and Luxury at an affordable price with friendly people waiting to serve you at the high standard you deserve. A one of a kind property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Gate Bed And Breakfast Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.