We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed three months with gold berry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldberry Suites & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Goldberry Suites & Hotel to your Saves list
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M. L. Quezon National Highway | Pusok, Cebu, Lapu Lapu, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stayed three months with gold berry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the hotel which i was supposed to stay for about ten months
We agreed to have a special price
And its really amazing
Cleaning
Wake up calls
Arrangement has been done instead of airport to my school
When i came to the hotel first day i got upgraded to deluxe room for two nights then transferred to studio
Staff are cool and friendly
I used to go have a chat when im bored
Stuff are really nice
I pod dock
Comfy bed
And its a luxury place
As i came back to stay in it for two night after 3 months of staying
And i got discount and im famous in this hotel
When i left the hotel
I got gifts and a thanks letter from the manager
I will really come back to it as im in cebu

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor room 306 Was the best for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    57
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
48
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baguio, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've been to this place there's no scenic or natural view to be found in the area except for the vehicles, cars, traffic lights and motorists you see once you go out of the property. Not so good to visit if you want a more relaxing stay. No beach. I don't recommend.. traffic congestion through-out the place since it's just so near from the street. You can hear horns of vehicles every now and then, actually everyday. The food is good though.

Room Tip: room don't have a window ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I got a windowless standard room -- I didn't mind. There's not much of a view around the area anyway, so I liked how my room was perpetually dim. It was relaxing. The wifi connection was fantastic -- the best so far in all of the hotels I've ever stayed in, even the more expensive luxury-business-class ones. If you're in Lapu-lapu for business, and not overly stuffy and elitist, then this is the place for you if you need to be constantly online and connected.

The standard room wasn't that big but the bathroom was spacious and occupied almost half of the room. I really enjoyed that. I hate cramped, tiny bathrooms. Nothing says budget backpacker like a tiny bathroom. So I'm really glad Goldberry invested in proper space management and gave its rooms spacious bathrooms with nice amenities. I still use the free "gold" trimmed plastic toothbrush I got from the hotel. No cheap stuff here. Overall, the place was well worth the price.

Room Tip: don't get rooms near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

As I am just passing through Cebu for a night and flying off to another destination the following morning, I needed to look for a place to stay near the airport. Goldberry suites provided me with exactly these requirements.

Due to continuous urbanization of the Metro Cebu area (composed of the Cities of Cebu, Mactan and Lapu-lapu), the economic development comes with it traffic congestion and such problems. Cebu also continue to be a tourist hub and international travelers frequent the city for both business and pleasure. This means that hotels are going to be pricey.

On this business trip, I chanced upon Goldberry suites. It's relatively new and the amenities it offers are very modern. The rooms are clean and spacious. Getting to the airport for my onward travel was also very easy. If I am given the chance to travel to Cebu in the future, I will definitely consider Goldberry suites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I know I can't expect too much from a tiny/budget hotel, so I booked the best room they have just to be their VIP guest. The hotel's regular rate is about $50 bucks. I got their Penthouse with the regular rate of $240 (Promo rate $170). With that rate you can get a Suite in other bigger hotels with great amenities like in the Waterfront & the Marriot. The only reason I picked this hotel is because it is the nearest hotel from the clinic where I got my surgery done. As I felt so sick after the surgery I didn't mind to pay the most expensive room they have though it wasn't worth it. My main purpose is to be their VIP guest (to have the best service) just like other big hotels would do if you're staying in their higher-rate rooms.

I asked our breakfast to be delivered to our room but the "not pleasing" voice on the other line said that they don't deliver breakfast in the room. Really! Then my private nurse explained about my situation before they agreed to deliver the breakfast. Wow really?

The front desk named "Lady" was so rude and sarcastic as she can be. We asked for an extension for 30 minutes and she automatically said "No" as their hotel's policy. We asked to speak to the manager and she said that there's no manager on Sunday and that we put her job on the line if we really insist. Really Lady? Do these people have any idea what their doing?

Guys, there's a lot of hotels in the area with better service if you're looking for lower rates. This hotel is not even worth your 50 bucks per night. The hotel's location is very noisy too. Next to a highway where big trucks and horns of any other vehicles are blowing anytime of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldberrysuites, Manager at Goldberry Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Ms. June_198030,

Thank you for your review about your stay at Goldberry Suites & Hotel, every review helps us improve our service while we maintain our policy of excellence in guest comfort and satisfaction. A thorough investigation is being conducted regarding your review. Please be assured that should the result of our investigation reflect any failing on our part, it shall be corrected immediately since we are committed to excellence in guest satisfaction.

We would like you to know that room service is available and that our managers and supervisors are always willing to talk to our guests as part of our service. We do appologize if there were some misunderstandings. We have talked to the people involved and we are taking actions to make sure our guests experience the comfort they deserve.

We are also currently conducting renovations on our guestrooms to provide a more relaxing stay to all our patrons. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused. Once again kindly be assured that your comments are well accepted and after completion of our investigation, it will be handled accordingly by management.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Should you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact me at your convenience at gm@goldberrysuites.com.


Sincerely,

Goldberry Suites & Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Comfortable and modern boutique hotel that has excellent internet connection. The memory foam beds are also excellent.

Standard rooms are by the road side and are extremely noisy. However, they offer very good views. If you are a budget traveller, go for the studio rooms. Otherwise, go for the deluxe rooms that are facing away from the road.

Room Tip: Stay away from the noisy standard rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked two standard rooms. Our kids were in room 405 which has 2 twin beds and is very spacious. We were in room 405 which came with a Queen Bed, but was only half the size of our kids room and had a smaller refrigerator. It also had curtain Windows on two sides which was nice at night, but allowed so much heart in during the afternoon that the air conditioner had trouble cooling the room even with the heavy curtains closed. Room 405 also doesn't have WIFI reception. The first time I called the front desk, they just said they would reboot their router. When that didn't work, I had to call again and explain that I had reception in the hallway just not in our room. This time they set up a router in our room which worked really well except that they had to unplug the desk lamp to plug it in (there are very few electric outlets in the rooms). Our key card also stopped working in the power slot, and we had to wait about 10 minutes in a hot dark room while they brought up a new one. Had I known it would take so long, I would have gone down to get it myself.

The breakfast that came with the rooms was quite good with about 10 or so pre-set options to choose from (be sure to turn your menu over to see the options on the back).

We had a bit of a scare when we saw the Extra Room Amenities rate sheet. It made it look like there was a charge for using the shampoo, lotion, tea and instant coffee that came with the room. A call to the front desk confirmed that those charges were only if you ordered extra of these items. There was also mini bar with fairly reasonably priced items and 2 complimentary bottles of water with each room.

All in all this is a good place to stay for a night before flying out, but for longer stays you should definitely check out other options as there is not much close to the hotel. Also, for a nice spacious room ask for 406 and definitely avoid 405 if possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldberrysuites, Manager at Goldberry Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Travelingonward,

Thank you for your posted review regarding your stay at Goldberry Suites & Hotel, every review helps us to improve our service while we maintain our policy of excellence in guest comfort and satisfaction.

We respectfully apologize for the inconvenience caused. A run through check was conducted in reference to your review & we were able to correct & will continuously improve everything needed, as this is our commitment to excellence in guest satisfaction.

Once again kindly be assured that your comments are well accepted. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
Should you wish to discuss any matter, please feel free to contact me at your convenience at gm@goldberrysuites.com.

Best Regards,

Goldberry Suites & Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.4 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#4 of 27 in Lapu Lapu
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
0.4 mi away
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
#11 of 27 in Lapu Lapu
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
3.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 39 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldberry Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldberry Suites & Hotel

Address: M. L. Quezon National Highway | Pusok, Cebu, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldberry Suites & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldberry Suites & Hotel is a Business Boutique Hotel conveniently located at M.L. Quezon Natl. Highway, Pusok, Lapu-Lapu City 6015, Cebu, Philippines. It is just 5 minutes away from Cebu International Airport, and 5km away from Cebu City. You can reach 2 major malls of Lapu-Lapu City and the Mactan Export Processing Zone in just a few minutes.We offer different room accommodations, all with Cable TV, internet access, a mini Bar, and a Safety Deposit Box. Some of our rooms even have a Private Living Room, Balcony, and Mini Kitchen.Dine in at Vienna Kaffehaus or relax at Thai Boran Spa. You can also visit our Gift Shop and Business Center at the 2nd floor; or book an event or a meeting at our Conference and Function Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Goldberry Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldberry Hotel Lapu Lapu
Goldberry Suites And Hotel
Goldberry Suites & Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldberry Suites & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.