We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldberry Suites & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Goldberry Suites & Hotel to your Saves list
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M. L. Quezon National Highway | Pusok, Cebu, Lapu Lapu, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I found Goldberry suites on trip advisor after discovering the original hotel I booked into was a brothel. Goldberry is situated on Lapu Lapu island near the Cebu airport. A taxi into Cebu City will cost P200-P300 and takes 20-40 minutes depending on traffic / distance. They have a complementary airport shuttle.

Goldberry is fantastic - safe, professionally run, efficient, customer service orientated and has fantastic rooms - clean and modern, better than most 4 and 5 star hotels I've stayed in! I think we paid P1500 (excl taxes) for a standard room. The room had a safe, good aircon, tv with loads of good channels, room phone, stocked mini bar, strong wifi connection, lovely clean linen and a modern look and feel. Bathrooms were spotless.

We really loved the hotel and would recommend it to anyone who has a night or two in Cebu city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    53
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
43
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SBMA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed there for one night. Stumbled upon a promo from metrodeals which basically let's you spend the night in their deluxe suite for more than half the price. The room is spacious, restroom is clean, hotel staff is very friendly. Only problem I see there is their bathroom have glass doors; this might become a problem for some people. (Not for me though, I stayed there alone). The hotel is very close to the airport, this might appeal for some, but if you're thinking of going to the city center a lot, getting to and fro the hotel can be a hassle. Overall, excellent hotel, I love the bed with duvet sheets -- very, very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the suite, it's very spacious. I got one with a balcony, I didn't make much use of it b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viti Levu, Fiji
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here one nigth when arrive from Korea. Not good, the place and service poor. The room was not cleaned properly even we check in very early in the morning and bath was smellly. never will stay again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldberrysuites, Manager at Goldberry Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Hotbeachbum,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate every input towards improvement of our service to maintain our policy of excellence in guest comfort and satisfaction.

Upon looking into this incident, we did not receive any complains directly from guests about a smelly bathroom. We ensure that our rooms are properly cleaned on a daily basis and maintained to a very high standard; with comprehensive housekeeping procedures to guarantee clean rooms prior to guest check-in regardless of the check-in time.

As a result of our continued commitment to excellence and confidence in our service and cleanliness we invite and welcome you to contact us anytime for more details about your stay (e.g. dates, check-in times, room number and detailed room condition as stated in the review). You may call us at (63 32) 239 0000 or send us an e-mail through reservation@goldberrysuites.com.

Sincerely,

Goldberry Suites & Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had booked this hotel for 2 nights from their website and this hotel has confirmed the reservation by return email. But, when I went there for check-in they said that all the rooms are full. They have directed to another hotel which was found terrible in terms of service and quality of the rooms. But, I was helpless and finally I accepted the room.

I would like to share this information to all the travellers i know not to choose your stay in this terrible hotel. Looking at most of the comments. Do not agree with most of the comments seen in Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Do not Book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldberrysuites, Manager at Goldberry Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear WorldTraveler19_1,

Greetings!

Thank you for posting a review. Every review helps us to improve our service while maintaining our policy of excellence in guest comfort and satisfaction.

However, based on our records, no guests were denied check-in due to no available rooms for the period of October 1 to October 20, 2012.

As a result of our continued commitment to excellence and guest satisfaction we invite and welcome you to contact us anytime for more details about the incident (e.g. confirmed reservation email, dates, check-in time, and name of other hotel you were directed to as stated in the review). You may contact us anytime through at (63 32) 239 0000 or send us an e-mail at reservation@goldberrysuites.com.

Thanks and Best Regards,

Goldberry Suites & Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at a number of hotels around the Philippines and I know what makes a decent hotel. This is a keeper. Clean, reasonably priced, good service and fairly new. Good beds, large rooms, great bathroom and the cafe next door served a decent breakfast by Philippine standards. Stayed a couple of nights and there was no problem. Close to other restaurants and shopping centres and transport was outside the door. 9/10.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel staff is courteous and helpful. The rooms are modern. Water for shower wasnt as hot as I'd like it. Wifi is great because it's LAN connection in room with cable provided from hotel. Lapu Lapu is close to attractions such as shrine and some resorts which have nice beaches. Gaisano mall is down the street 2 blocks easily gotten to by multi-cab. Be sure to request room on higher floor because street noise can be loud. Takes about 20 minutes to get to SM or Ayala mall in light traffic for food, shopping and entertainment.

Room Tip: Stayed on 6th (top) floor which has less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed here last May, 2012. The hotel looks very small outside and it seems not so attractive, but the moment we enter into our room, i was totally surprised of its hidden beauty. the amenities were just amazing and lavishly designed to its perfection. and it is so affordable, for the amount we pay we are oversatisfied with the services and luxury that we got during our stay. would recommend this to my friends who will visit Cebu. and of course this is my hotel in Cebu from now on.

Room Tip: Penthouse or suite would definitely give you a memorable experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goldberry Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldberry Suites & Hotel

Address: M. L. Quezon National Highway | Pusok, Cebu, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldberry Suites & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldberry Suites & Hotel is a Business Boutique Hotel conveniently located at M.L. Quezon Natl. Highway, Pusok, Lapu-Lapu City 6015, Cebu, Philippines. It is just 5 minutes away from Cebu International Airport, and 5km away from Cebu City. You can reach 2 major malls of Lapu-Lapu City and the Mactan Export Processing Zone in just a few minutes.We offer different room accommodations, all with Cable TV, internet access, a mini Bar, and a Safety Deposit Box. Some of our rooms even have a Private Living Room, Balcony, and Mini Kitchen.Dine in at Vienna Kaffehaus or relax at Thai Boran Spa. You can also visit our Gift Shop and Business Center at the 2nd floor; or book an event or a meeting at our Conference and Function Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Goldberry Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldberry Suites And Hotel
Goldberry Hotel Lapu Lapu
Goldberry Suites & Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldberry Suites & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.