We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little too crowded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan to your Saves list
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seascapes Resort Town | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little too crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

On the positive side, the rooms at the resort are very nice and the way they are located on the property (mostly one level) is also a bonus. I think there are only a couple of two story blocks which is nice compared to ten to twenty story towers. The rooms are well equipped and clean but you should be aware that if you have noisy neighbours, you will hear them.
Breakfast was good and seating available.
Staff overall were pleasant and helpful whether it was in the restaurants or by the pool.
The fitness facility is small but very functional.
Watersport selection appears good.
On the not so positive side, the overall footprint of the resort is not very large meaning if the resort is full or close to full, it feels crowded. Lounge chairs in the shade are then not always available. There are not enough shaded lounge chairs, or other shaded areas on the beach. The beach is very small and snorkeling is not very good.
Consistent service needs some work. First night there we waited for someone to serve us at the beach bar for about 20 minutes then waited another 15 for the drinks. There were few people at any of the table or lounge chairs. Second night there, no problem.
We had dinner at the "Tempo" restaurant and found the portions very small and although there was some entertainment, it was mostly empty and not like a resort at all.
We did observe more than a couple of times, staff trying to please a manager more than provide good service.

Room Tip: If you have the $$, an oceanfront villa is beautiful. If not a deluxe garden room is just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear john00737,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I have noted your comments with regards to feeling crowded in our resort. I also express regret that you were dissatisfied with the service you received during your stay with us. Rest assured that we are constantly training our team members to ensure that the service we render is in line with our standards. Furthermore, since your stay with us we have made some improvements in our beach area.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    283
    100
    28
    22
See reviews for
265
271
36
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I booked 5 nights at Crimson after recommendation from a friend and checking the Crimson web site. Upon arrival I found the to be quite a lot smaller than it appeared on the site, and I was was quite surprised to see how small the (man made) beach was. The guests seemed to be mainly Korean honeymooners at the time I stayed there, which made it a quiet place to stay.

- Rooms were ok but a bit spartan and not very inviting. Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom adequate. Very limited storage.
- Food was average. Breakfast buffet was decent but the availability of food (orange juice, bacon, bread) was uneven depending on when we arrived to eat. Saffron bar made a decent club sandwich but the burger was underwhelming.
- The beach was small and uninspiring, a man made strip of sand about 50 meters wide.
- the Aum Spa was good and not excessively priced. April gave a great signature massage.
- Getting in and out of the resort was an issue as it is quite remote.

This is a borderline 4, but as a beach resort I would have expected more beach. Seems like a good place for honeymooners and people who like to stay within the confines of the resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Krazze,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I have noted your comments regarding the resort’s amenities and facilities. I express regret that you were dissatisfied during your stay with us. However, I am very happy to say that since the time you stayed with us we have made some improvements to our beach area as well as in other areas of the resort.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I hosted a despedida de solterra party at Crimson Resort last month and wanted to say that I had a great experience, mainly due to the wonderful Janine who really pulled out all of the stops and went above and beyond the call of duty to make it a special evening for me and my guests. This was despite the fact that it rained unexpectedly that evening! I've had so many guests comment to say that it was a wonderful party and that the food and drinks were really top notch. Well done Janine, and the rest of the Crimson staff. I'd highly recommend the resort to anybody who might be thinking of hosting an event here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear ClaireandAdamB,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

My team and I are delighted that you had a great experience during your Despedida de Solterra. I have passed on your wonderful comments to Janine who will no doubt be inspired to make sure that all our events are special for all our future guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What we still can’t get over to this day is the TV in the bathroom. And that’s a good thing. Everything about Crimson pleasantly surprised us throughout our brief stay, and the only thing we regret is not having stayed longer.

True, the resort seems to be a long way from civilization, tucked away as it is in a still to be developed section of an exclusive community. Once past the empty lots, however, it only takes that one glance of the sea from the expansive reception area to assure the visitor that all is going to be right in the world.

We began our holiday on a high note as we were informed that we had been given a free room upgrade. The Deluxe Garden room was every bit of gorgeous, with enough space to run around had we still been of the age to run around big rooms. The bathroom was also huge with a generous vanity table, a bathtub with a view of our very own pocket garden, and did we mention the flat screen TV?

It was the beach we wanted to check out as soon as we were settled, and, yes, sadly at low tide it wasn’t easy to swim in. Exposed rocks made it difficult to go in the water barefoot and there was a tremendous amount of vegetation washing up on the shore. At night, though, it was lovely for a little after-dinner stroll and the resort’s bright lights attracted schools of fish close to the shoreline.

Crimson’s infinity pool, however, more than made up for the shortcomings of the beach as it was perfect for a lazy afternoon of floating around and gazing at the sea beyond. While there were quite a number of guests at the time we visited, we didn’t feel at all crowded. There was room enough for everyone.

Poolside service was also pleasant and prompt. Our waiter, Mark, even advised us of extended happy hour rates and offered to reserve us a table for dinner.

Breakfast may have been a tad chaotic with all the guests, but we had no difficulty finding a table. The spread of continental and Asian offerings thrilled us with the possible taste combinations. Danggit with kimchi jeon and congee? By all means, try them all.

What we continued to appreciate the most though was the warmth and attentiveness of the staff. Each one greeted us with a smile, placing their hand over their heart. During breakfast on our last day, one waiter brought us a plate of Cebu’s famous ripe mangoes even though we hadn’t asked for it. It was a simple gesture that nonetheless made our holiday even more special.

There was a small hitch during checkout as there was a misunderstanding with regard to the application of my mother’s senior citizen discount, but the resort’s management resolved the issue favorably and we were not at all inconvenienced.

We’re hoping we can get the chance to visit Crimson again in the future. It’s an excellent getaway for just holing up and keeping the rest of the world at bay. It certainly felt that way when, one night, as we were lounging on the recliners by the beach, we saw a shooting star.

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe Garden room close to the Saffron Cafe. These would also be the rooms closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Storyseamstress,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I hope that you made a wish and that is to come back to Crimson when you saw that shooting star. Since, my team and I would love to have you and your family back. We are grateful for all your wonderful comments with regards to the gorgeous room you stayed in, poolside service, attentive staff just to repeat a few of the comments you mentioned. Furthermore, I am happy to say that since the last time you were here we have made some improvements to our beach area.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you are looking for the perfect wedding venue with an awesome resort, wonderful people, great food and an amazing beach reception setting then the Crimson Hotel in Cebu should be your choice. We were planning to hold our reception in Plantation Bay, but after being ripped of for a prenup Photoshoot and being insulted by racist and arrogant Plantation Bay Manager Mr. Efrem for asking a gluten free food, we changed over to hold our reception at Crimson and this was just the BEST decision we could make. We stayed at Crimson for 7 days with 8 family members and 8 friends and we had the best time ever. At this point I would like to give our greatest Maraming Salamat Po to Ms. Kema Nikki, the best Event Manager I ever met. Preparing a gluten free buffet was as easily arranged as boat trips and Wakeboarding events. They even rented a bigger boat from another resort to accommodate more of our guests. All in All this is one of the best 5* resorts we ever stayed. The Staff was amazingly friendly, helpful and hearty (not to be compared with the arrogance of the Plantation Bay Staff), the food was excellent and the pool and beach setting was stunning. And all this was topped by the wedding reception at the beach. An unforgettable time in Crimson. At this point I would also give a great thank you to our wedding planner I dos and Debuts (Ms. January, Tita Marielou and Reeza) who is co-operation with Ms. Kema made our time and wedding at Crimson the Best time of our Lifes. Thank you to everyone at Crimson and we will surely come back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guidoborn,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

My team and I always take delight in reading excellent comments from our guests. Your wonderful comments with regards to our great food, pool and beach setting and amazingly friendly staff continue to inspire all of us to work even harder in maintaining our standards.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed in the resort as a birthday treat with my boyfriend. Services and staff were great, always greeting when we walk past. However, the lack of a store that sells basic necessities like mineral water cripples the fact that it is supposed to be a resort. The remote location did little to help as we needed to get to the mall to get the mineral water and sorts. The water sport was a great bonus as we could tailor the timing for just the two of us and there was no need to leave the resort at all.Lastly, the spa was amazing but with a very hefty price tag.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Im_ships,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am delighted that your boyfriend decided to celebrate your birthday in our resort and glad that you thought our services are great. I have noted your comments regarding the resort’s lack of a store that sells mineral water. We do have a Resort Shop that sells basic necessities and mineral water is available in all our restaurant outlets including room service. As for the price of our spa services rest assured that it is still relatively cheaper compared to the services offered in spas of similar quality and category.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

A great, new, hotel with great facilities - four restaurants, gym, spa, kids' club, infinity pool, kids' pool, a couple of bars, perfectly manicured grounds.

First things first - breakfast is amazing!! Masses of quality food from all corners of the world! And in the evenings, a couple of bogof happy hours and a wide choice of food - from pizzas to fine dining.

The beach is manmade and although some have criticised it, it's actually very nice although a little small.

The only downsides are the location -- there's no coral here, which there is further down the coast, so there's no snorkelling to be done off the beach. Also, there's nothing to see or do within walking distance of the hotel. There's a couple of small towns a few dollars away in a taxi though.

As is often the case at hotels, the trips out are pricey. We went into the town and ended up paying less than half the price for a day's island hopping/snorkelling/diving.

We arrived at 5am and were in a room soon after, rather than having to wait until 2pm. We also checked out and stayed in the hotel for several hours. Theresa's no pushiness Over getting us to pay the bill until we finally left. There are lockers in the gym that they're happy to let people who are leaving later in the day use.

We were n the standard rooms, which was very nice indeed. Its huuuuge! Families with small children might want to consider one of the rooms with a private plunge pool though so you can spend the evenings outside while the kids sleep.

Perfect for anyone looking for a hotel resort retreat, lazing around the pool and on the beach, with the odd day island hopping.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Jonathan S,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am pleased that you thought that our breakfast was amazing and said that our beach was nice. It is comments like these that make us work harder to delight all our guests. I have also noted your comments regarding the price of island hopping and lack of activities near our resort. I am working closely with our Sport and Leisure department to come up with lots of fun activities so there would be no need for you to leave the resort during your stay.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan

Address: Seascapes Resort Town | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with luxury and personalized service, Crimson Resort and Spa is the new destination and resort to experience. Nestled in one of the country's most prestigious tourist destinations, this exclusive piece of paradise is just 15 minutes away from the Mactan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.