We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for koreans only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Palace Waterpark Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Imperial Palace Waterpark Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Palace Waterpark Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   M.L Quezon Highway | Brgy. Maribago, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in Lapu Lapu
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good for koreans only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we stayed two nights for my wifes birthday overall friendly helpful staff nice, room great views , but the hotel has many restrictions and is very sterile which i feel takes away from that relaxing holiday mode. Breakfast time was a great shock i thought i might have been back to boarding school told to join a long queue not what i will accept or expect from a five star . from my many trips to Cebu over the past 6 year i have found there many more relaxing and better priced resorts . its definitely not on my list of resorts to revisit

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    89
    58
    19
    20
See reviews for
140
33
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orkney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

fantastic hotel to go free use of the water park , great swimming pool , clean rooms food also fantastic , out of this world hotel 10* .... breakfast best in the world you will not get a better selection anywhere, staff very good here ,

Room Tip: great breakfast best on the planet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked online for 2 adults and 2 kids, when we arrived and went up to the room we discovered there was only one queen sized bed and the room was small. We went back down to reception and we were told that we could have a single bed added to the room for 2000 pesos. My wife was not at all happy about this so we just upgraded the room to a suite for an extra 2500 per night. The suite was nice and it was big but I would not pay full price for it (around 17k). We got the promo rate when we booked. I found it hard to enjoy there as everything was strict, like having to wear a wrist band while using the pool and water park, and having to hand over a card to get a towel. Also we were pulled up when we were returning to our room with a towel as you are not allowed to take them to your room. Also the service was not so good a few times, but mostly was ok. The staff were very friendly. When we checked out we were overcharged about 1700 pesos, but this was quickly sorted out. Good for Koreans as they are catered for and many staying there. Resturant at breakfast time is crowded and noisy, almost the same food everyday. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Try Plantation bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

First and foremost, the staff were very welcoming, I can genuinely say a lot of nice things about them. However, my stay at this resort was absolutely the most stressful one I have ever experienced! Being a 5-star hotel, I'm not sure this establishment is up to its standards. For what was meant to be a relaxing and rather expensive holiday, there were things that were almost impossible to deal with.

This resort keeps you from fully enjoying your stay as procedures are put in place in every corner. Some examples are (1) changing a card for a towel (and if you leave it in your room, you will have to run up and get it. And if you lose that card, they will charge you. Just silly things like that) and (2) writing your name plus your age on a sheet of paper to be able to go up on the slides. I'm not sure if you have to give your details each time you go on the slides, I only tried it once, just couldn't be bothered to go a second time. All these procedures I thought were unnecessary for whatever reasons this resort can come up with. This sort of system should be changed, it seems rather intrusive on carefree enjoyment.

Breakfast was absolutely appalling, the MOST stressful one of all! You first give your room number to the receptionist only to find out that you have to wait together with such a massive crowd until a table becomes available. There is no order, room numbers are shouted out randomly for people to be seated. To me, it sounded very low budget remembering that this is meant to be a 5-star resort. Breakfast is in an area with an even bigger crowd, it was so cramped and very noisy! And this does happen on a daily basis, I did confirm that with one of the staff who looked very stressed as well.

This resort is only a few years old but has quickly aged. Although the rooms were not that bad, I overall felt that Imperial Palace is after quantity, NOT quality and this is very wrong. The hotel seems to have been built in a hurry without an eye for detail and design. Hallways, restaurants and overall appearance of the hotel grounds seemed very sterile and bleak rather than homey and welcoming. The lobby shops are also very tacky. A resort with so many facilities and so much potential should have better management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean shores
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

we had great time here over 5 nights. water park was great and my kid enjoyed it. this hotel is catered to mostly koreans and if your a korean youll love this place. food was great too. we stayed in the 2bed sutie.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

1.) Belldesk/Concierge - Our luggages were handled properly. Bellman and bellboys were all polite and professional.

2.) Front Desk - Other than my complicated billing instruction, the check-in and check-out was rather swift and efficient. Receptionist were friendly, polite, neatly groomed and well-versed of the hotel facilities.

3.) Guest Services / Guest Relations - I am quite disappointed with the GR team, they seemed to look always preoccupied and are stuck with their computers at the desk. They did attend to my inquiry but I felt like I was doing a transaction with a bank teller other than with a guest relations officer. However, I would like to commend the telephone operators for doing a great job. All my inquiries and requests were handled swiftly and professionally.

4.) F&B Outlets - We tried Familia Restaurant, Delmar & Aqus. Service was great and staff were attentive and professional. The prices were at median affordability and the food quality was fantastic. Talk about the taste of fresh sea food that they serve.

5.) Recreation/Amusement - The beach was nothing special, full of floating weeds and a bit small comparably. However the waterpark, pools and slides are all world-class. It is the hotel's jewel of the crown. We thoroughly enjoyed it. The recreation staff were all helpful and friendly.

6.) Housekeeping - Some of the amenities were not replenished but our suite room was thoroughly clean nonetheless. They just don't come on a regular or specific time of the day so you have to let them know if you want your room cleaned or ask them to come back later if you are still around.

It is a very clean, with top notched service oriented staff and properly maintained resort. Other than the nearby Shangrila which always lives up to my expectation, this property is arguably the best waterpark and resort destination in Cebu

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We didn't stay here but spent the day swimming and using the facilities.

It is quite expensive for the day, (cost three of us more for the day here than HK Disneyland) but it was worth it, waterslides good fun.

The restaurant is a must and the deserts for lunch were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Palace Waterpark Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Palace Waterpark Resort and Spa

Address: M.L Quezon Highway | Brgy. Maribago, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Palace Waterpark Resort and Spa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Imperial Palace Waterpark Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Palace Waterpark Hotel Lapu Lapu
Imperial Palace Waterpark Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Palace Waterpark Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.