We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SotoGrande Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SotoGrande Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
SotoGrande Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dapdap, Lapu Lapu, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quick stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Quick and rushed stay for a friend's wedding. It was clean and there seemed to be no issues with service. Only minus was the lack of wifi in the rooms. One has to sit in the lobby to access wifi, which can be quite annoying. Breakfast was great and fresh. Make sure to get a sea facing room, else there would be no point.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
15
16
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davao City Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

It is an average hotel, It is clean and about 10 mins. away from the Mactan Airport and around 15-20 mins away from SM Cebu. It is hard to get transportation here, so make sure you inform the front desk ahead of time, so that they can call taxi for you. They have nice and clean facility but not too big. Wifi is available at the Lobby and you can us their sofa to relax and have internet. There is also beach and swimming pool, but the beach is not so good especially when it is low tide. But you can enjoy the breeze and relax there.
Taxi Fares: There is additional 50Php since it is far from everywhere.
Mactan Airport - Sotogrande: 150Php +50 Php - around 200Php
Sotogrande - SM Cebu : Est. 180Pho +50 - around 230Php.
Enjoy your time in Cebu.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the SotoGrande because it was conveniently located near the domestic airport, and we only spent a night there.

The negatives are few: the suite needed a bit of a spruce up, with a newer TV, and the bathroom could do with a new refurbishment. The hotel is situated in a gated community, which means you're away from the hustle & bustle, but consequently you're quite far from a night out, or anything for that matter - neither does the hotel have any form of entertainment or a decent bar. But, if you're with kids, or simply want a few quiet days, then this is a nonissue.

That now out if the way, perhaps the most outstanding thing is the service. The staff are exceptionally friendly and courteous, and genuinely seem pleased to help, and rank as some of the friendliest you'll ever come across. They definitely got customer service right. The hotel itself is pleasant and modern, and situated relatively close to the beach, though I can't say how nice it actually was as we didn't visit it.

The suites offer gorgeous views of the ocean and surrounds too. If you've got kids, bring them to the pool for a swim. It's in the neighbouring hotel, which is slightly inconvenient but acceptable due to how nice it was. The food at the downstairs cafe is also quite nice and easy on the salt.

Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

It was my parents post Anniversary Celebration yet i was discouraged to know that they dont have something special for them or for any special something for their guests celebrating special events on their hotel. We stayed on a suite room and i can tell that the room was really spacious. It was clean though some parts of the room were not. The bed has ants and cobwebs on the side. I was really disappointed on their bathroom, when i turned on the faucet to have a nice bath, i was disgusted by the black dirty water. I called up the operator for it and the housekeeping staff just answered me with "It is really like that maam coz it hasnt been used for awhile" and he just laughed though its some kind of a joke. wtf?! The toilet was also clogged up. And they dont have available towels. What kind of hotel who has a large pool who doesnt have enough towels?? Beware of their bath robes coz ive got insect bites because of it!! Maybe it hasnt been used for a long time and havent opt to check it before they hand it out to their guests. Their telephone lines were also dysfunctional at times and their operator couldnt answer your call immediately, you need to dial 4-5x before they could answer. Their wifi was weak and slow, you need to stay on the lobby for faster connection, so not convenient. They dont have a playroom so not suitable for kids. Upon going to their pool, you need to go out from the hotel and walk for 3-5mins so you can reach there.

Though we may experienced a lot of disappointments, i didnt complaint and just go on with it so as not to spoil our trip. And besides, what to do you expected for a non-5star hotel. Anyway, im still gonna come back though but i wont tolerate the same dysfunctions that weve encountered & will file a complaint next time :D

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

At first glance its a nice newish hotel complex of three hotels in a wilderness a few miles from anywhere, but its not quite right. The SotoGrande itself doesn't have a pool, but you can use either of the adjacent hotels ones which is fine, but you have to walk out the back door and40 metres across the staff car-park, which is strange but no real hardship.

The hotel itself is clean and the rooms a good size and comfortable. Service was 'Filipino', its slow everywhere in the counrty so it was no differant here.

A frustration we had was the lack of things to do during the day and in the evening, they havent quite managed to make use of the captive audience, anywhere in Europe of the US there would have been a number of entertainments planned in an attempt to get the customers to participate and spend their money, but there was nothing, not even an active pool bar.

When I asked about getting some laundry done I was told I should take it to the village, which was not what I wanted to hear. As with so many things they really need a European or North American manager in order to maximise customer satisfaction and make some money.

The food however in both restaurants we used was excellent, best Buffalo Wings I've had and the local food top notch too.

Would I recommend it ?, yes for a short stay, which is what we did.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have stayed at SotoGrande several times over the past few years and have always found it to be a good hotel.

It is on Lapu-Lapu Island which is not on Cebu Island. You have to cross the bridge past the airport to get to Cebu.

The hotel is in a SAFE and quiet area. Taxi drivers need to present their ID's to the guards to gain entrance and they are monitored. You will be safe here and will have zero concerns about your safety. Once you leave the area and go past the guards, it's a different world out there.

Depending on the room you select, the amenities will differ. The suite is a large 2-room space. It comes with a basic refrigerator and air conditioning in each room. On this trip, I had to change rooms because the AC wasn't working properly and after failed attempts to fix it, I elected to change rooms to a smaller room.

The suite has a dining table and plenty of room to lounge around.

My chief complaint is that there is only 1 television in the suite and it is in the Living Room. For a person that has been on an airplane for 23+ hours, sitting in a chair to watch TV, while fighting jet-lag isn't very appealing. I would rather watch TV from the bed, where I can relax and allow my body to adjust to the time zone changes.

The bathroom was fine. Water pressure is good and everything works.

The staff at the SotoGrande Hotel is one of the friendliest and most caring staff that I've ever met. I travel around the world for my job and have stayed in hundreds of hotels. The staff at SotoGrande are in my top 3 hotel staffs. They are courteous. They are prompt. They really try.

Many of the staff are young and doing internships or working at SotoGrande as their first job. They welcomed my family as if we were long, lost relatives. They talk with you and will tell you what you need to know about the area.

The bellmen and restaurant staff are some of my favorite people. Always smiling and available to help.

The restaurant can be a challenge for some palates because they are expected to cook food that appeals to people from all around the world. In the hotel lobby you will find Koreans, Japanese, Australians, Americans, Europeans and a mix of other people from various backgrounds. The chef can't please every palate so what may be acceptable to me, may not be so acceptable to other people.

The hotel is due for an update so that is why I give it 4-stars instead of 5. They need to change the room decor and spruce up the faucets and other small details.

Do take advantage of the pools for La Mirada and also Soto Grande which is the condominiums next door.

There is a banquet hall that has a great pool and an even better buffet at night. Check it out. There is music and entertainment.

There is a basketball court and the staff will play. The beach is right on the property and very clean and safe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at soto with 2 kids. Rooms are rather basic and minor minus about the aperture between balcony door and frame that allows air to flow to room and bang room door audibly in the night time.

Staff is great, very friendly and they look after your needs well. Breakfast buffet is also good, although pretty much the same from morning to morning. Nice plus was to see staff members singing along morning tv show in lobby (good performances and great singers..). You are really the voice of Philippines, great start for a day, many thanks.

Resort is basically a combination of three hotels (soto, la mirada and casa mar) and pools etc. are available for all guests. Pools are great and beach is kept in very clean condition timely. WiFi is available but it does not work in room, mainly in lobby area - who needs this on vacation anyway :)

In total, everything worked fine. No luxury, but staff friendliness, nice pools and good breakfast speak for themselves.

Room Tip: Go breakfast early to avoid possible big Korean groups. If room door is banging due to air flownfrom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SotoGrande Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SotoGrande Hotel & Resort

Address: Dapdap, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SotoGrande Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SotoGrande Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotogrande Hotel Lapu Lapu
Sotogrande Hotel And Resort
SotoGrande Hotel & Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SotoGrande Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.