We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SotoGrande Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added SotoGrande Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SotoGrande Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dapdap, Lapu Lapu, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Lapu Lapu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“False advertising”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Pros: none
Cons: poor customer service, hard to get a taxi, very isolated, doesn't have any pool, u have to use the hotels next door, not next to the beach, food is bad and room service delivers cold food, disappointing considering there are no other options near by, our room had bugs in it, which ruined food and I'm certain were biting me, breakfast is bad, and u usually get stuck waiting in the lobby for a table to sit and eat breakfast, there aren't enough seats in reception, u cannot lock let along close the verandah door properly, tap water was often black or brown.

Do not stay here !!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
15
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were indeed breathtaking but they definitely have to work on their customer service.noone met us when we got off our taxi when we first arrived,and the entire time we were there,noone met our eye to greet us or even acknowledge that we were there!!it takes them a long time to answer the front desk phone and any other extension lines for that matter..it sucked!!the pools were pestering with flies and for some reason, the off duty life guards went ahead and got their drink on by the pool while families were splashing around..and the beach!!gaah thw beach!!!it was full of seaweed!!nnggggg!!!!need I say more?!id rather stay in the city hotels like the wellcome hotel..granted the first floor was still under construction but everyone was super nice!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were 4 girls traveling together from Hong Kong to Cebu. We only spend 3 days and 2 nights at Sotogrande Resort, but it was a lovely, utterly relaxing stay, Would love to go back and bring family along next time! Also, extremely affordable! We got MUCH more than our money's worth!

FIRST, ON A GENERAL NOTE - Make sure you DO NOT fly with Zest Air. They are an irresponsible, unaccountable company and will leave a sour taste in your mouth. They delayed our flight for 5 hours, which meant that we slept overnight at the airport on the floor. By "delay," I mean that the tickets they sold us were for a flight that never existed in the first place. Their so-called "cheap prices" do not make up for bad service, dishonest ticketing, and an overall terrible flight experience.

ROOMS - We booked one room with 2 double beds for 4 people. After some initial confusion at check-in (when they wanted to slap on an extra 1000PHP for the 2 "extra" people), the hotel staff waived the fee and we were not required to pay anything extra. To avoid this confusion, make sure you call in a few days to confirm the number of people staying in the room! Facilities were clean and well prepared. We had a balcony view of the ocean which allowed us to view a gorgeous early morning sunrise over the ocean.

LOCATION - Sotogrande Resort is a bit off the beaten path. To get there, the taxi weaves through this little village and through a few security gates before actually reaching the resort. Without a taxi ride out, it would be VERY difficult to leave. There is an additional 50PHP on top of each taxi ride to get to and from the hotel. Even so, fares and attractions are close enough that getting anywhere on Lapu-Lapu would only cost about 200PHP (including additional 50PHP.) There is some GREAT shopping at Mactan Shrine (7 minutes taxi) and tasty eats at Marina Mall (20 minutes taxi).

FACILITIES - Sotogrande Resort is under higher management, which also owns the two neighboring hotels. The 3 hotels are about a 2 minutes walk apart, so it really just feels like a large complex. Within these 3 hotels, there are 3 pools, a cozy private beach, exercise room, sauna and hot tub, and water recreation which you can book. We really enjoyed lounging poolside, especially in the evening when they turn on the underwater spotlights!

FOOD - If you have the chance, definitely leave the resort to enjoy a few meals. There are two main restaurants within the 3 hotels. The selection on the menus is not extensive and the prices are definitely inflated. There are a few good dishes, but you will quickly tire of eating the same thing. The breakfast buffet included with Sotogrande is subpar. If you are having breakfast, it may be better just to order a few dishes from the menu rather than take part in the buffet (the fruit plate and pancakes are actually quite good).

STAFF - The staff at the resort are unbelievably friendly and will go out of their way to meet your needs. Really take the effort to make conversation with them. We spent a memorable evening jamming on drums and guitars with the guards on night shift. You are greeted with warm smiles from every staff member you meet, and they do seem genuinely wanting and willing to help (which is not something I can say of the country's airline help desks.)

Sotogrande is an excellent budget resort and I would highly recommend it to families with children! For young professionals, make sure you leave the resort to enjoy the full experience of the city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Sotogrande is a slightly well known brand in Spain, and you'd associate it with reasonably good quality. Stayed only our last night in Cebu there, as it was near to the beach and the airport. As my title suggests though, only the rooms were nice...


Rooms

- The high floor sea facing suites are really worth it. The professional photos don't present the actual (large) size of the suite - it actually has its own living room and dining area, with a separated bedroom. Nice furniture overall. The full length glass windows gave us a very good view of the sea (see picture). As we came as a party of 3, we got the hotel to arrange for an additional bed in the living room area and the night's stay just costed usd100 for 3 persons, which I find really reasonable. The only pity is that the view was blocked by the hotel's recreational clubhouse (see picture).


Beach

- Yes, it does have a very small stretch of private beach but it is really not nice. Our initial plan, upon seeing the private beach on the hotel's checklist, was to just relax on their private beach on our last day in Cebu. But we were rather disappointed to find out that their private beach was only 50 metres long, the sand wasn't nice, and the view was entirely blocked by a full concrete dock built right beside the beach. Nah we decided not to even step on the beach in the end.


Hotel grounds/ overall

- Breakfast was not too bad, it wasn't a wide spread but the food was fresh and the chef at the eggs live station made really delicious eggs
- Service was ok, as they were all warm and friendly, and we can tell they do put in effort to help whenever we had any requests
- We explored the grounds and realised the Sotogrande Hotel was just next to its sister building, a luxury condo under the same management. Now the part we felt cheated was, the large, two-layer pool shown on their professional photos actually belongs to the condo side, and not the hotel side. Sure, hotel guests were allowed to use that pool since it is under the same management, but it was a good 5 min walk from the hotel, and we had to go through the gates / another security to get to that pool. It just wasn't a nice experience should we decide to use that pool. We could still use the much smaller, sea-facing pool though.
- Given how secluded the hotel was, we didn't leave the hotel grounds the whole day, and we decided to stay for dinner. It may be their off-peak season, as there were just 2 tables having dinner there. But I wonder if it is because there were so few guests, they actually didn't turn on the lights of the cafe area, and so we opted to sit al fresco facing the dimly lit pool. We tried ordering a few Filipino favourites but were told they don't have them. And because there were so few customers, and we were sitting alfresco, we became the public enemy of the nearby mosquitoes. Argh, not nice.


Location

- It is actually rather near to Shangri-la Mactan so you can imagine that it really is at a good location.
- However, it is really hard to find - our cab driver had to ask a few villagers, and true enough, the entire establishment was well hidden beyond a large, seemingly abandoned land, so it it pretty secluded
- If you like a really private stay, cheap, with an ok pool and beach, then this is the place for you.


Stay again?

- Probably not, because despite the nice rooms and breakfast, the place is really secluded and doesn't have a nice beach nor nice overall atmosphere that makes you wanna just lie around, read a book and spend the day away.

Room Tip: High floor, sea facing suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice, clean, ocean view , balcony area and spacious room, buffet breakfast was great, service is excellent but the only set back is the location, we always need a taxi to enter and go out of the hotel, you can anytime ask the reception if you need a ride. Overall the place is excellent place to stay, definitely we will come back here next time.

Room Tip: choose 505, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and were received by a very friendly reception desk staff. The rooms were spacious but needing some attention as they showing signs of excess use.

The breakfast was average but dinner was very bad...stay away from the risotto.

The location is far away from anything, we booked a boat trip at the hotel that included 4 island stops... we 1 island and paid 5000 pesos.

The only positive aspect were the friendly and amazing staff, the made a difference otherwise it would have been a disastrous stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a blast on our room. We could just stay the whole day in the room. We stayed 2 nights in a Suite room. Room was really spacious. You have your own dining area, living area, and then a separate matrimonial room with a queen size bed. Facilities are complete. They also have a good service and serves good food everyday. Breakfast meals are buffet meals for the guests every 6am-9am. This was the best hotel/resort room we had of the 3 years we've been traveling. Luxurious yet worth it!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SotoGrande Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SotoGrande Hotel & Resort

Address: Dapdap, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SotoGrande Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your SotoGrande Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotogrande Hotel Lapu Lapu
Sotogrande Hotel And Resort
SotoGrande Hotel & Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SotoGrande Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.